We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Shepherdstown
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent the night here while visiting WVU. It was a nice, pet friendly hotel. It was a bit of a drive to campus but it was convenient to Interstate 79. The breakfast was OK and the room was comfortable. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Say-Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    264
    129
    38
    26
See reviews for
321
182
56
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gallipolis, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

A friend and I stayed here July 11-12 2012 and it was clean upon arriving. The entrance is very homey with a tv and couches. The breakfast area was small but we walked over to Bob Evans across the street the next morning (there is a Burger King across the street as well) wanting a big breakfast anyway. The room (Standard Queen Bed) was nice and smelled very clean. I always check the beds for bugs or stains and found neither. It was small and not a room I would recommend for more than a few nights but I believe they do offer suites. Our room being for only one night was just what we needed. There is a mall right up the road which was a plus for me. Overall you get what you pay for and it was a nice and clean stay.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator if you can because the "DING" woke me up a few times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemaeross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a very nice place to lay down your head. Very clean rooms. We had a room with 2 queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, and air. Very quite even though you are in the middle of interstate and mall. Had no problems contecting to free wifi. Staff was friendly! Breakfast area is small and more on the continental side. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziqinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

The hotel's location is perfect for visitng WVU, not near the hustle and noise of downtown Morgantown. Our room had two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, adequate storage, was clean, and the air conditioning worked just fine. For the business traveler the free wifi worked great. Breakfast had many choices and was served from 6:30 a.m.until 9 a.m. on Monday. Honestly, this will be the hotel of choice in the area,which we will visit frequently due to the WVU.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the same side of the corridor as the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelnutt2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

On a return car journey from Georgia my Mom and I were caught in a terrible rain storm~we
pulled in the Microtel (having heard very lukewarm reviews of Microtel in general!) From the
start to the finish we were surprised and delighted with this property and all the people in it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJandPammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

I make it a point to read reviews of hotels before I book a room, it has become a helpful habit. I had to be in the Fairmont, WV area overnight on a business trip so after reading reviews and rates I decided to try Microtel in Morgantown, WV, I was not dissappointed. Queen bed, really clean, large bathroom, lots of tv channels to choose from and one of the best rates in the area. There is also a continental breakfast with alot of choices in the am. I will stay here again if I'm in the area.
Jeremy was the front desk clerk when I checked in and was most helpful when I inquired about "good" local eateries. He recommended Charlie's Grill (5 minutes from the hotel). Great food, I had lobster stuffed chicken breast and sausage stuffed bannana peppers.
Great one nighter in Morgantown.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

I enjoyed my 3 day stay at this Microtel Inn. I booked a Queen room but ended up with a double Queen room. Handily placed off I-79, it's at the bottom off the hill that leads to Morgantown Mall, so no noise from either the Freeway or the Mall.

It took less than 15 minutes to drive into downtown Morgantown.

The room was well appointed, the bed was comfy and there was no noise from any other rooms, even though the place seemed fairly busy. The wifi worked well enough.

As with other reviews, I agree about the small breakfast area. As to its contents, it was fine for what it was.

I was happy with my stay and would stay there again on a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.5 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Address: 15 Lawless Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Morgantown
Microtel Inn & Suites Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing