We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great luncheon spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sargasso

Sargasso
Reserve with OpenTable
Sargasso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 285 Restaurants in Morgantown
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Healthy, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Morgantown
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great luncheon spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Recently had lunch with a long-time business colleague. We will seated and served almost immediately. I had the crab cake sandwich on a house made bun and accompanying salad. Crab was very generous with little filler and was pan sauteed, rather than deep fried like most places. Salad was mixed greens garnished with Parmesan cheese and was quite generous. Colleague had a cup Venetian fish soup and found it to be excellent. We were not rushed with our meal, unlike many Morgantown restaurants during lunch. It appears to be a great business lunch spot.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OKCowboy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    24
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
559 reviews
430 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Sargasso's is probably the best restaurant in Morgantown. The wait staff is usually helpful and friendly and the food is usually superb. Not tonight.

My friend and I had early reservations giving us plenty of time to attend a sporting activity. We were greeted and ushered to our table. As we ordered, we mentioned that we needed to leave quickly to get to the game. Our orders were taken, bread arrived and we waited, and waited.

After 45 minutes passed, there was still no food. We only ordered an entree with no soup or salad, and there were only about 15 people at the early seating. We reminded the waitress that we were in a hurry, and after one hour our food appeared. I ordered a new item on the menu, a Caribbean chicken with rice and plantains. It arrived on a cold plate. The chicken and accompanying sauce had little flavor, the food was barely warm.

We finally finished after an hour and a half. The waitress offered a dessert for us to take home to make amends for the meal. We politely declined and left for our game that had already started.

It pains me to write this evaluation of a usually wonderful restaurant, but this was probably the worst experience I have ever had at Sargasso's.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Solid Choice, Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I ate here with two business associates based on the recommendation of a local businessman, and I was not dissappointed by this upscale restaurant located out of town and away from campus. The atmosphere and service were very good, actually better than I expected. Two of us had the salmon, and the other had the chicken breast. We were all pleased, and my salmon was nicely plated and cooked to perfection. I also enjoyed the risotto served with it.

I intend to go back at my next opportunity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
Level Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have come here for our anniversary for the past few years. We are never disappointed. The special salmon was so awesome. they said it was a new way of cooking it. Oh My Gosh. It melted in your mouth. The atmosphere is always quiet and cozy. The waitstaff is always super attentive but not going over the edge. Would recommend for any occassion.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here each year for the past couple of years and have never been disappointed. Our latest lunch included a seafood crepe that was rich and flavorful, with every bite containing either shrimp, scallops, or lobster. Truly delicious. The chicken tortilla soup was a spicy hearty stew full of shredded chicken and vegetables. Will continue to return here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sargasso also viewed

 
Morgantown, WV
 

Been to Sargasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing