We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"False Advertisement"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Morgantown
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"False Advertisement"”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We went to WVU for a baseball showcase and decided we would stay here at the Residence Inn, not only because of its convenient location, but because it was a suite and had the ammentities we as a family would look for when traveling (ie. pool, whirlpool, breakfast, large room, wifi, etc). Upon our arrival we noticed the hotel was undergoing renovations, which made the pool area look like a storage room and as for the whirlpool they showed a photo of on their website, it no longer existed as it was cemented in and as for the pool itself it was not up and running until I complained and they called a serviceman. As for breakfast, they were ill prepared for the sellout crowd they had, as all four hot food bins were empty and took 35 minutes to refill, along with the juice machine being out of both apple and orange. As for the renovations, I would hope you would tell your customers what they are walking into, because the smell of wallpaper glue gets to you after a while. As for the customer service, there is none from the front desk to the district manager.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    49
    13
    4
    11
See reviews for
82
29
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hubby and I went to see the fall foliage in late Oct. and to check out Morgantown, WVA just because we live in Morganton, NC. Hotel was across the street from the stadium at UWVA. However there was no game going on as we were there mid-week. It was quiet and lovely as all Residence Inn's are. The only thing we heard was a helicopter from time to time landing at the hospital on the other side of the stadium. The staff was very friendly and professional. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Kitchen nice and clean. This Inn stood out from the rest because not only doe they serve free breakfast, each night they had a full buffet meal from 5-7 p.m. and even complimentary wine and beer. The food was so delicious that we never even ate at a restaurant the whole 3 days of our visit except for the day we hit town and had lunch at Garfield's. There was a fire pit on the patio but we never used it because it was unseasonably warm when we were there. This Residence Inn is not within walking distance of the historic part of town or the river walk but not a far drive and no parking problems. All in all a wonderful visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckeyedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while attending an Open House at WVU. WVU was great. This hotel was OK at best. The good was that it was easy to find off of Route 68 and the GPS brought us easily into the parking lot. Directly across from the Stadium, We WISHED there was a football game as there could not have been a more convenient location.Place was packed but we found a parking spot in the back lot and it was a very short walk. all seemed safe.

Checked in late and it was a good experience. Very much a remodel in place which I did not mind but they should have said something either during booking or at checkin. Nothing...

Fair size studio with a king bed and pullout couch and it was a good first night sleep. Directions to the Mountainlair were hastily given and not that helpful.While it is only a mile to the downtown WVU campus,I would stay closer to the downtown campus next time.

Breakfast was OK but a very crowded little serving area and both days they were hustling to fill the different needs so we grabbed a bit of food but did not want to wait.

The problems came up in the second night, they light an outdoor gas fireplace and the second night they had people out there at 3am, just talking but it could not have been any louder in our room which was on the 4th floor.I went to try the phone to call the lobby to have them speak to them but the phone was dead. I walked down to the lobby at 3am and the front desk guy seemed very reluctant to even say anything ... basically saying the hotel policy was a free access whenever guest wanted to be there. ceratinly did not want to argue at 3 in the morn but he must have said something as the noise quieted down.

Again, an underwhelming breakfast so not such a good finish to the visit.

Room Tip: stay away from the fire pit area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Moving stuff around...Mixing up checkout/In days.Rude Staff....I was eating Ice cream In my room and Noticed 2 bug's...These would be cockroach's!!!!It Is way to expensive to find such thing's!!!Also they remodle the rooms but they left the old mattress!!!remodel at this place mean's new wall paper&that's It...Breakfast Is good:)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inktr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Ok - usually I give a long review but since everything was perfect- I will highlight the things which standout
1 rooms with kitchenette but no stove as I remember- full fridge- dishwasher
2. Bed- I guess comfortable bit not my cup of tea- no real feather pillows
3. Food- evening with complimentary snack with beer and decent breakfast but not killer- eggs, waffles, potatoes, bagels , oj, and coffee and tea- they did have some kind of ham and another warm dish
4. Indoor pool
5. Next to hospital and football stadium- walking distance
6 rooms with spacey family room with ? Convertible couch? Didn't check but guess it is
Not bad overall for choices in area-
Need closer to other things then the new complex has a hotel with walking to dameons- sonic- McDonald's- and Kroger all walking distance

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iwillnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

You can look across the rather large parking lots across the street and see the WVU football stadium and the hospital(s).

Our room (125) was a "studio" type and was clean and welcoming. Most Residence Inns seem built from one set of blueprints--and this studio room was no exception.

The hotel does have a very nice indoor pool and a comfortable lobby. A fire-pit in the central open, courtyard seemed popular in the chilly fall weather.

The guest laundry is complimentary--something that surprised me. I went to the front desk to get my usual hand-full of quarters and was told I didn't need them. Nice! (You have to supply or purchase your own detergent.)

Breakfast was good--something I think Residence Inns generally do well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was nice. Only problem is it is right across the street from a trauma center. There were helicopters taking and landing almost hourly and flying directly over the hotel. I don't have a problem with this type of service, but if you are looking for a quiet place to stay, this isn't it. Otherwise it was a nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for one not on the side that faces the hospital landing zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 24 in Morgantown
622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
301 reviews
2.2 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Morgantown

Property: Residence Inn Morgantown
Address: 1046 Willowdale Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Morgantown 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers looking for spacious and relaxing Downtown Morgantown, WV hotels choose Residence Inn by Marriott Morgantown. Our hotel offers extended-stay and suite accommodations near West Virginia University and Ruby Memorial Hospital. We are also close to Morgantown Municipal Airport. Each morning, our guests start their day with a free breakfast in our breakfast area. Our pet-friendly hotel also provides a complimentary Residence Inn Mix social time periodically during the week. Our accommodations are ideal for life on the road, whether you are traveling for business or leisure. We are an all-suite hotel featuring large guest accommodations that have free Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas and well-appointed kitchens with coffee makers, dishwashers and refrigerators. On our property, you will find an indoor pool and fitness center. If you need to host a meeting in Morgantown, contact us to reserve our 192-square-foot boardroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing