We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TERRIBLY RUDE SERVICE. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Maxwells - CLOSED

Maxwells
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLY RUDE SERVICE. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have been to Maxwells before and the food is decent. I walked in and was YELLED at by the girl cooking, "Someone is going to seat you, wait!" Five minutes later, was brought over to a smaller table because the server/manager thought it was only going to be two of us because she rushed to the table (honest mistake). I said, "There are actually going to be five of us." She snapped at me in front of 30 people, "Why would you say two people when there are going to be five of you!?" Trying to make it easier, I told her we can just pull a few chairs over and her response was NASTY. She was implying I was a complete idiot. I am a manager of a local restaurant, and if I ever behaved that way in front of a guest, I would not expect to have a job the next day. I told her that everyone has been rude to us and we will just leave. She put her hands in the air, and said "That's fine." No apology or concern. TERRIBLE TERRIBLE. Do not waste your time at this place. Try "Golden Finch" on High Street. They have better food (including brunch), prices, atmosphere and extremely friendly and competent service.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    3
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown
2 reviews
“MAXWELLS IS THE BEST IN MORGANTOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

As stated in my title Maxwells is the best in Morgantown. This place has been here forever and nothing has changed thank the gods!!!!! So many chain restaurants have moved into this town and I can't understand what people in this town consider GOOD food. If you want the BEST of the BEST this is the place to eat. The atmoshpere is so comfortable and the staff and owner are the greatest. You get treated like you are the only one there and your not. You can talk to the EXCELLENT chef and watch your food being prepared made to order and you get that nowhere else. I have lived in big cities and we call my husband the man of all meals and if he is wanting to go to this restaurant once a week believe me it is a 5 star place. To heck with those chains go and enjoy the best of the best and eat real food at Maxwells.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorgantownNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2010

We were visiting our daughter at WVU and wanted to take her to Maxwell's. Many years ago when we lived in Morgantown Maxwell's was our favorite. My how things have changed! The staff was very unfriendly, the food was horrible, not at all what it once was. I would not and will not go back!
Charlotte NC

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude wait staff..told us to leave because we questioned the bill”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Visited with friend early June 2010. This was an old college hangout of ours and we wanted to see how it changed over the years. The waitress, possibly the owner from what others told me, was upset when we asked about freshness of food items. We ignored her and ordered. Food arrived promptly and was good. When I received the bill, I could not read due to the sloppy handwriting. I asked that each item be explained and began adding up the sum on the side which she fumed at, particularly when I found she overcharged me. She told me to give her my credit card, which I refused, and then she said that she had been doing this for 25 years and was apparently bothered at my request for information. She then said to pay any amount and to leave. I payed cash. RUDE and short tempered. I am easy to get along with but this was over the top.

    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank libertycall8107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Brunch or Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2009

Maxwells is my favorite place for lunch in town. Very unique menu, with something for everyone. Sunday Brunch there is fantastic as well. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RS_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwells also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing