We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a time warp”

The Blue Moose Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“In a time warp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Funny, but the reviews here and on Yelp reflect the same issues this place had a generation ago when it was more or less getting going(early- mid 90's I think) - could be cleaner, should be cleaner, staff hanging around, strange staff vibes. I always felt unwelcome there with the clique-ish energy going on- too bad, it's a good location and the town could use a better place than this. Maybe a Starbucks will move in!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hederoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level Contributor
110 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for university students”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

They need to redecorate the place and replace the rickety tables and chairs that are really annoying when you sit. Otherwise its a nice place to sit on sunny days, good value for students.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mur_Js
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Food was great, but they need a new space, its very run down and looks kinda dirty. Would love to go back if they change locations.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GAMorgantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food is ok, place looks/feels dirty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have only been once and really liked the omelet I got but I never have gone back because I felt like it was dirty inside, floor wasn't swept/mopped, and things kind of seemed falling apart.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Eclectic space with a nice selection of breakfast choices (and maybe others but we were focused on breakfast!) Food was slow coming but we were in no hurry. Plenty of vegetarian options and big portions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank pedalmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Moose Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing