We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was moderately priced compared to others in the area. The room was newly remodeled, but they were all cosmetic cover-ups. There was mold int he bathroom and on the carpet. The breakfast was also a joke. An hour before breakfast was over on a Sunday morning, they were out of everything except bread and apples. No hot items as listed. When I asked the front desk they said what you see if all that is left and they had no plans to put out anything else. Overall, the hotel was ok, the lack of breakfast just left a bad final impression on our stay. The staff was also not very professional. The room was adequate and did have a nice size mini fridge and even a microwave. We had a king bad and a pull out sofa. The bathroom was extremely small - you could not even open the door all the way because it hit the shower bar and there was no way two people could be in there at the same time. We paid $72 for one night. This was cheaper than some of the other hotels in the area, but certainly not the cheapest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 435 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Morgantown was the halfway point of a very long car trip for us. So we planned to stay overnight in Morgantown. I just looked up some hotels on the computer, and chose the Best Western Mountaineer Inn because a friend of mine is always telling me that she and her husband enjoy Best Western Hotels. However, this one left a little to be desired. There's nothing that much WRONG with it: it just needs a lot of sprucing up. There were a lot of men staying there who appeared to be working some type of construction job: they had mud or dirt all over them. The rooms appeared clean, but smelled musty. There were various smells in other parts of the motel too....not the same as the musty smells in the room, but maybe cleaning fluid or a mixture of dirt and cleaning fluid. I don't know. The pool area looked very nice. it was pretty and clean. We did not use it. Some families staying there were making use of the pool. Breakfast was certainly serviceable, but nothing to write home about. The price was good (with our AAA discount, it came to about $80 per night for a room with 2 double beds). I must say that it was very, VERY quiet and the bed was comfortable. I just don't know if I would stay there again with all the other choices.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room. And it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Good bed, poor breakfast, a hair on the shower wall, and most disturbing, the coffee maker and accoutrement were in the bathroom! To it's credit it was a quiet night's sleep, and the staff were courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Annemirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you were to drive to this place and judge it from the outside, you would pass onto another hotel. the garbage is piled high and there is trash on the sidewalk and close to the entrances. However, when you walk inside you are in another world...clean, modernized and friendly people. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Breakfast is fine with a variety. They provide a newspaper for customers. they just don't see the value of cleaning up outside.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen4719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I came to Morgantown recently to meet up with some friends who are moving to that area. We chose the Best Western due to its Star City location and the price. Neither of us were too sure about the place when we pulled in, but let me say, looks can be deceiving. The front desk clerk was very pleasant and we were checked in quickly. The king room we had was very nice; had a very comfortable bed, was quite spacious and was very quiet. The only complaint we had was the funky smell in the elevator. The hotel may not look like much from the outside, but the courteous and pleasant staff, the comfort of the accommodations really make up for it. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighthousecjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from Myrtle Beach. This is our 2nd stay and we loved it. It is very clean, has professional and accommodating staff, very comfortable beds, and it is VERY QUIET! We have stayed in Hampton Inn Morgantown before - we could not sleep all night it was very loud. In comparison Best Western is in a quiet location, the room doors are solid and we did not hear anything all night! Best sleep ever. We stay in hotels quite often, and this Best Western compares well with the amenities - you get a free local paper, gym, pool, wireless. Also, the breakfast is the same as in Hampton inn! I have read a review about someone complaining about breakfast, but we found it great - scrambled eggs, bacon, waffle maker, fruit, yogurt, cereal, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee and more! We were pleasantly surprised. The location, is quiet, right off the highway (no need to drive 20 minutes to get to the hotel once in Morgantown), across from a nice steak restaurant, also across from Golden Corral (for those who love this buffet). It is a short walk to a river where you can take a nice walk. I honestly think this hotel should charge more for what they offer. The only noticeable thing was that the bathroom was a little small but we spent so little time in the bathroom that it made no difference to us. The room came with microwave and mini-fridge plus a couch - this would cost double in Hampton Inn Morgantown, where we did not get any sleep due to hearing sirens all night long and other guests. If you want to get a good night sleep - I recommend this Best Western Mountaineer Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmichalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you.. We look forward to seing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took a chance even with the mixed reviews and it paid off. While the location isn't as nice as some other hotels in the area, the hotel itself is in good shape, is clean and met our needs. My daughter lives in Morgantown and my husband and I like to get a hotel on some of our visits for all of us to stay. Normally we stay in the Euro Suites which is a great hotel, but the Best Western was cheaper so I figured we'd give it a shot. We stayed there two nights. The room was clean and in good shape, the breakfast was decent enough and while we were planning on using the pool and didn't, it looked like it was also in good shape.

Two things worth mentioning is 1) the awkwardness of the exercise room. It is like a fish bowl, both from the outside and the lobby including the breakfast area. It's very strange. It's the first thing I noticed while pulling up to check in and I wondered why they didn't at least tint the windows from all sides. It was another thing I was planning on using and I probably would have if I had the time, but it was just weird. And 2) we had requested a slightly later check out (at 12pm instead of 11am) which the front desk had approved the night before. At 10:45am that morning the housekeepere started banging on the door. My daughter explained to him that we had a late check out but I guess he didn't understand because about every 15 minutes he would bang on our door as a reminder, although I that point we didn't answer because he'd do it as he was passing. I told the front desk and English was apparently not his first language. They said a DND sign on the door would have helped. Other than that, the front desk staff was nice, the property was in good shape, and for the price, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ColoradoAisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank You... We look forward to seeing you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 24 in Morgantown
139 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
686 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#13 of 24 in Morgantown
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Address: 366 Boyers Ave, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: $73 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing