We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No problems”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I took a chance even with the mixed reviews and it paid off. While the location isn't as nice as some other hotels in the area, the hotel itself is in good shape, is clean and met our needs. My daughter lives in Morgantown and my husband and I like to get a hotel on some of our visits for all of us to stay. Normally we stay in the Euro Suites which is a great hotel, but the Best Western was cheaper so I figured we'd give it a shot. We stayed there two nights. The room was clean and in good shape, the breakfast was decent enough and while we were planning on using the pool and didn't, it looked like it was also in good shape.

Two things worth mentioning is 1) the awkwardness of the exercise room. It is like a fish bowl, both from the outside and the lobby including the breakfast area. It's very strange. It's the first thing I noticed while pulling up to check in and I wondered why they didn't at least tint the windows from all sides. It was another thing I was planning on using and I probably would have if I had the time, but it was just weird. And 2) we had requested a slightly later check out (at 12pm instead of 11am) which the front desk had approved the night before. At 10:45am that morning the housekeepere started banging on the door. My daughter explained to him that we had a late check out but I guess he didn't understand because about every 15 minutes he would bang on our door as a reminder, although I that point we didn't answer because he'd do it as he was passing. I told the front desk and English was apparently not his first language. They said a DND sign on the door would have helped. Other than that, the front desk staff was nice, the property was in good shape, and for the price, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoAisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank You... We look forward to seeing you again..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    118
    59
    42
    57
See reviews for
165
95
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Used a discount coupon from a flyer at a rest stop. $69 is not too much to pay. Room was clean,wifi,TV, Bacon and eggs for breakfast. The staff was very kind and most helpful. We would stay here again while on our travels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
466 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Most tourists probably go up the hill where the other hotels and restaurants are but we stayed here ... a bit further into town from I-79, on the left side, just past the first gas station on the left side of the road. The exterior is looking a bit shabby but the lobby is fine.

Our room was huge and very nicely furnished. We got a good price (AAA rate) of $71.

There is a gym and an indoor pool which we did not use. (Stayed one night while driving home from Florida.) Free Internet worked well and was fast.

It looks to us like tourists are not staying here; there were not many cars when we got here at 8pm while other hotels (in the area up on the hill) seemed very busy. But we would stay here again, esp. if the price was very competitive again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your response. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I like the location next to stores. The rooms were clean and service was just right. I could have stayed anywhere but I chose to stay at this establishment because it is clean and the staff are all nice. I was glad to see that there is a breakfast now. That comes in handy when needing to check out in the morning just grab and go.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shugarsclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I visited Morgantown for a concert this month and stayed at the best western. The rooms were clean and staff was extremely nice. I have been to Morgantown several times before and still can't seem to find my way around the town. The staff at the best western gave me directions to the concert, restaurants and night clubs. Next time I visit Morgantown I know where I'm staying! Thanks again best western staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
3.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
115 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#16 of 24 in Morgantown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Property: Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Address: 366 Boyers Ave, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing