We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy outdoors but a big, nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Most tourists probably go up the hill where the other hotels and restaurants are but we stayed here ... a bit further into town from I-79, on the left side, just past the first gas station on the left side of the road. The exterior is looking a bit shabby but the lobby is fine.

Our room was huge and very nicely furnished. We got a good price (AAA rate) of $71.

There is a gym and an indoor pool which we did not use. (Stayed one night while driving home from Florida.) Free Internet worked well and was fast.

It looks to us like tourists are not staying here; there were not many cars when we got here at 8pm while other hotels (in the area up on the hill) seemed very busy. But we would stay here again, esp. if the price was very competitive again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_K_B_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your response. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 428 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I like the location next to stores. The rooms were clean and service was just right. I could have stayed anywhere but I chose to stay at this establishment because it is clean and the staff are all nice. I was glad to see that there is a breakfast now. That comes in handy when needing to check out in the morning just grab and go.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shugarsclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I visited Morgantown for a concert this month and stayed at the best western. The rooms were clean and staff was extremely nice. I have been to Morgantown several times before and still can't seem to find my way around the town. The staff at the best western gave me directions to the concert, restaurants and night clubs. Next time I visit Morgantown I know where I'm staying! Thanks again best western staff

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We came down to visit our daughter and step daughter who goes to WVU the hotel was close to the campus and very reasonably priced. We will definitely revisit the next time that we come down. The check in was quick and the stand was very friendly. The continental breakfast was just enough to get our day started. We would definitely suggest to anybody coming to the area to give this location a try

Room Tip: Any room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Ok, so the hotel itself wasn't so bad... no bed bugs.. clean.. other than the dog poop under the desk when I attempted to plug in my laptop.. called the front desk and they came and picked it up and said it was weird that they didn't allow pets.... well, we didn't have any.. you would think that the cleaning staff would have found it when vacuuming... Oh, and the breakfast.. what a laugh.. powdered eggs.. bacon.. stale donuts and cereal... but they were out of milk...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigerox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I had planEd to go to the 2012 University of Oklahoma vs West Virginia football game and made reservations at this hotel several months in advance. A week before our stay, I had to cancel the reservation as we were unable to make the trip due to an illness in the family. Very disappointed as we like to make a one out of state game to a new location each year. I had booked the room thru Expedia and it took three phone calls to Expedia and two to the hotel to get the room cancelled. Then, since I was not cancelling TWO WEEKS in advance, the manager tried to charge me a two night penalty. She first tried to blame the penalty on Expedia, which was not true. Then she said all hotels in Morgantown have the same cancellation policy, which was untrue as I cancelled a second hotel in Morgantown thru Expedia for the same weekend with no penalty. Then she blamed it on a special event (football game) but I did not book with a special event or get a special event price. Three nights stay with all the hotel taxes was going to cost me $427. She charged me $378 for a two night penalty. Luckily, my credit card company is dealing with the hotel on the penalty. Thank you VISA! My husband called the local Chamber of Commerce and was told that the owner of this hotel owns two others in town and gets alot of complaints regarding their lack of customer service. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
4  Thank Deanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a reservation for 11/18 that we had to cancel, but it was past the cancellation deadline. We contacted the hotel and they said it was too late to cancel but we asked them to let us know if someone wanted the room. About 2 hrs later the hotel called and we could cancel the room since they found someone to take it. Very good customer service.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank rstambau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at Best Western Mountaineer Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you!! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 24 in Morgantown
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountaineer Inn

Address: 366 Boyers Ave, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: $75 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing