We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Worst”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the Worst”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Don't stay here!

This is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. Look up dirty in the dictionary and this hotel's picture should be there. We pulled back the covers on the bed to find a huge urine stain on the bottom sheet. The hallway could not have been vacuumed for days. The entire place smelled.

All in all, a real dump.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel, and I would like to speak to you further about it, if you could contact me at 304-599-5399 and ask for Kari.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    114
    57
    41
    54
See reviews for
158
93
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Best Western Hotel In Morgantown was okay, it was nothing special. We paid $90.00 which included our AAA savings, On line they advertised $60.00, but said no rate was $89.99 less the discount. The help is nice but not very welcoming. An ice machine was not working and the breaksfast food was okay. The scrambled eggs could of used more milk and the bacon was un eatable to my tastes, but my husband said it was okay. It was a quiet night in hotel room, the room was very clean but it is showing its age.So the the age of the room the price should be $69.99 a night with breakfast! We would stay again but will try another hotel when we are back in Morgantown in the late Fall. Thanks and happy, safe travels.

Room Tip: Make sure when you request they hear you as we requested first floor, but gave us second floor. We h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your response... We will take your advice into consideration on improving our hotel!!! Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The pool. Filthy,dirty piles of soft soil in the bottom , when I told the desk clerk Nicolas he just smillled and said "really" no apology , no I get some one to clean just smiled, bathrooms are way too small. Room smelled of something I am not sure. There were some nice men who worked all nite and came in the morning..they were fracking ,so these guys were really dirty, which is no fault of there own. They used all entrances, in the am upon the return of working,unfortunately left clods of dirt everywhere in the enteries, and halls.elevators,everywhere not one of those hotel workers made an effort to sweep or vacuum the mess up. At 2 pm that mess was still there, nice thing to walk into upon check in. We were here for montainfest and because it's a holiday week in Morgantown, they charged my card 2 day into a 5 day stay not at checkout... I was told this hotel policy,....I wanted to pay cash. At check out like every other hotel stay I have had.this is the worst hotel in the chain and these places are individually owned, the owner should be ashamed ..

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 143suep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel, however I am the person who helped you and I am also the manager. The only problem that I was told about was the credit card charge, had I known about your whole experience I would have addressed all of your concerns. Please feel free to contact me at any time so we can discuss your concerns with our property. My phoone number is 3045995399. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice typical BW. Clean comfortable with freindly helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terryconnors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kari j, Manager at BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your comment on our property! hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I was booked into this hotel when a conference I attended needed to move some overflow. When I checked in, I took my luggage to the third floor (via stairs and a VERY, VERY long corridor). When I got to my room, my key didn't work and the number for the front desk was not on the key. I googled the number on my phone and called the front desk. She did bring me a new key and it did work. When I entered the room, the bed clothes were DIRTY. There were shoe prints on the covers and pillows on one of the two double beds in the room. The room, listed as non-smoking, REEKED of cigarette smoke and the college age guy in the room next door was shouting obscenities at his lady friend. I took a cold shower in the morning because my shower didn't have any hot water, the security door to the parking lot didn't lock, and there were strange men wandering the parking lot all night; I didn't even feel safe to go out and retrieve something from my own car! I will NEVER stay here, or any other Best Western, again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Checked in. Fine. Bathroom, very small, no biggie. Went down to the pool. Damn slippery tile!! Slipped once on the deck. Then was holding the handrail to walk into the shallow end, slipped on the top step and swan dive into shallow end. Sprained ankle and 2 broken toes and my 8 day road trip was shortened to 3 and had to return home. There should be a roughend surface on areas that are potentially slippy like deck and pool stairs.

Make matters worse, get home and check credit card charges, they charged me twice for 1 night's stay. You must formally check-out at the desk. I've stayed in many many hotels over the years and always just leave my room cards in the room and leave. Guess I wont do that. When I called, they said they had no idea when I left and charged me another night. Manager is on medical leave and there is no one else to rectify the situation.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelP-MIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Must say the same thing others have said....I wish I had read reviews here before booking. Our room was dirty and the second room we were offered wasn't any better. Obviously cleanliness is not a priority here. There are plenty of other hotels in the area....BOOK ONE OF THOSE INSTEAD!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
3.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn
Address: 366 Boyers Avenue, Morgantown, WV 26505-3046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring newly renovated rooms, this Morgantown hotel is an ideal lodging choice for West Virginia University visitors. Ideally located near West Virginia University, the Best Western Mountaineer Inn provides comfortable accommodations for business and leisure travelers to the area. This West Virginia University hotel is located 1 mile east of Interstate 79 at Exit 155 just .05 mile from the West Virginia University Coliseum and one mile from the main campus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mountaineer Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountaineer Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Best Western
Best Western Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing