We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A romantic getaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A romantic getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at the Chestnut Boutique for only one night for a mini-getaway and date-night. The hotel is spectacular. The decor is splendid, and though very modern, is warm and welcoming. This is true both in the common spaces (lobby, hallways, etc.) and the rooms. The beds were beckoningly comfortable with the softest sheets and blankets and pillows that, unlike most hotels, were fluffy and comforting, not broken down. The place was immaculately clean (and, as a former hotel housekeeper at a swanky chain hotel, my standards are impeccably high) and well-stocked. What's more, having the Big Whiskey restaurant, bar, and dance hall practically attached to the hotel made our evening out really fun. The Rock Top bar and grill on the roof was unfortunately closed during our stay, but we're planning another quick trip in the summer so we can experience that as well.

We've stayed in a lot of hotels in the Morgantown area, and this is far and away our all-time choice from now on. You won't be disappointed with this!

Room Tip: We choose the Deluxe queen with the Jacuzzi tub, and it was totally worth the extra money. The view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesamiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Mesamiller - thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We share each review with our team, and it is always exciting to know we have exceeded the expectations of someone who knows the "ins and outs" of hospitality. We look forward to having you stay with us again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    50
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
66
64
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for making it special. Very Nice clean well staffed inn. Me and my husband had a great stay. The restaurant next door was amazing. The food and service was off the chart! Thank you again for a great evening..:)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Anna P - Thanks so much for choosing The Chestnut Hotel for your 20th Anniversary. We look forward to the opportunity to host you and your husband again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent traveler to Morgantown, I've stayed in every hotel in town. This is a great new and different addition. It's location is key, the closest hotel and easy walk to the downtown campus. The rooms are spacious and a lot of effort was devoted to the warm and inviting decor. You can walk to many restaurants and shops, and the hotel has a fun rooftop bar. If you prefer boutique to chain, this is the way to go.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tropicalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thanks for the review, tropicalfan! We are proud to be Morgantown's brand-new boutique hotel. It's exciting when our guests can experience not just the hotel, but also all that the local area has to offer. We forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Covered parking available. Beautiful rooms. The ability to walk to campus, High Street, and the PRT is the best feature!
We will be back to enjoy the rooftop and lobby bar(it was not completed for our visit).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RCarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to add a review of our new hotel for fellow travelers. You couldn't have said it better about the convenience of our location in the heart of downtown Morgantown - so close to much of Morgantown and WVU. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Chestnut Hotel, to enjoy the open air rooftop area and the lobby bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a one night stay at the Chestnut while visiting our daughter at WVU. Megan at the front desk was incredibly helpful and made us feel extra special. The rooms are nice and large and the bathrooms very well appointed. Felt like we were a guest in someone's house. Welcomed and pampered. Breakfast was simple, tea from the Tea Shoppe was a nice surprise. Excellent location in the middle of downtown. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
WendyD - we thank you for your feedback on your Chestnut Hotel experience. In each of our uniquely appointed guestrooms, the ultimate goal is to truly appeal to the senses. We do share each review with our team, so we can continue to exceed guest expectations each time they stay with us. Thank you for choosing our brand-new boutique hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I frequent Morgantown West Virginia for business about 3 to 4 times a year. Finding a hotel that provides the perfect balance between great location and upscale accommodations and amenities has been a struggle. Look no further than the Chestnut Hotel. One big plus is its proximity to downtown. It is also owned by the same owners of Big Whiskeys and Rock Top so you have direct access to some pretty good nightlife venues to unwind.

The rooms are well appointed and beds are super comfy. Chestnut has mini bar options and toiletries that are expected for a boutique hotel.

Overall a great experience!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
NickG - thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We are excited to be open in the downtown Morgantown area, and to offer not only unique hotel accommodations but also dining and nightlife options as well. We look forward to having your stay again when business brings you back to the Morgantown area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

The staff at The Chestnut makes you feel that you are the only guest there! With 40 rooms, we received personalized service and felt part of their family. Our hotel room was beautifully decorated and we were told each room is unique. We ate at the Rocktop Bar & Grill on the roof and the food was exceptional. It is a great location as well. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend The Chestnut Boutique Hotel!.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
We are so pleased that you felt like a part of our family during your stay at The Chestnut Hotel. Our team truly takes pride in making sure that each guest has an exceptional stay at the new venue. We look forward to welcoming your family again on a future trip to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Property: The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
Address: 345 Chestnut St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5509
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: J.W. Thirsty's and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing