We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We needed a place just for a one night stop between D.C. and Cincinnati and found the Chestnut Hotel. What a fantastic place! There is a free parking garage right next door. The room was large and the bathroom was first class. Brendon at the front desk was very helpful. Chinese delivery from the Great Wall Restaurant made the evening complete!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dancer099 - Thank you for taking a moment to tell us about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you were able to experience the new venue and the downtown area. We look forward to welcoming you again on a future visit to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    54
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
72
67
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My hubby and I like to take road trips to places we've never been! Ended up in Morgantown. Booked the room the night before and got in late the following day. The decor was BEAUTIFUL!!!! The room was clean and big! The staff was superior and the best pancakes ever! I LOVE THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We are thrilled that you were able to visit Morgantown on your recent road trip! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at The Chestnut Hotel. It was a pleasure to have you as a guest, and look forward to the opportunity to have you stay again when you are back in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Chestnut Hotel this past weekend during WVU's Fall Family Weekend. Most of the other hotels were already booked several months ago and I accidentally stumbled across The Chestnut while on TA. I am glad I did. I love the decor and location. We were in Room 303 with a view of Chestnut Street (not the greatest view, but we weren't there for a view!). The room was a standard king and had plenty of space. Due to the fact that we were visiting our daughter who lives downtown and doesn't have a car - we were in and out of the parking garage multiple times. I thought the parking garage had some extra wide spaces, but if you have a large SUV it could be a bit tight if the hotel is full like it was when we were there. We took advantage of the weekend breakfast in the rooftop bar. I had scrambled eggs and bacon. Even though we were on the 3rd floor we did hear noise from the rooftop bar at 2 am on Sunday morning. It didn't keep me awake...just woke me briefly, but if you are a light sleeper you might want a lower floor. These young adults in WV like to party all night. My husband said the street cleaner came through at 7 am on Sunday morning...I am sure it was needed, but I didn't hear it. When we went to the rooftop in the morning for breakfast it was obviously a very busy place on Saturday night. The deck was littered with cigarette butts, drink swizzle sticks, etc. I am not interested in the drinking scene, but my college age daughter thought she would bring her friends to the rooftop bar...she thought it was a cool place. They had a good amount of security in the building for Saturday night and carefully monitored who was going into the parking garage. That was appreciated :)

Room Tip: Go to a lower floor if you are a light sleeper so that you don't hear the rooftop bar noise. Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
kendrash - Thank you for this feedback from your stay with us. We truly appreciate hearing about what you enjoyed about the our new venue, as well as ways we can continue to make the hotel even better. Each guest review is shared with our team - the ways we exceeded your expectations, and the areas we fell short. We look forward to an opportunity to have your family stay with us again, when you visit Morgantown in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We were on the road to from Cincinnati to Baltimore and looking for a midway stay spot. Boy did we get lucky.

1. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
2. The rooms are all different, large and quiet.
3. There is a bar and grill on the premises.
4. And last but not least, the owner is on the premises.

This place with be our new stopping place for our trips to that northeast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Ed H - Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are excited that you were able to enjoy our unique guest rooms, as well as the onsite restaurants. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team - so that we can continue to make The Chestnut Hotel experience the best it can be. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip between Baltimore and Cincinnati!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Coming into town, my wife noticed the sign by the road. Needing a place to stay for the night, we checked it out and decided it was too good to be true. But true it was. The rooms are spacious, the decor is new and tasteful, the location is perfect and, to top it all, the hospitality was outstanding. Also included was the handy continental breakfast. Our only regret was we didn't have the time to spend an additional night to enjoy the setting with the rooftop bar and jacuzzis. While a short walk away to other restaurants, we had an excellent dinner at the adjoining restaurant and enjoyed the relaxing live entertainment. After a long day on the road, this was the perfect stop for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrruff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear rrruf1, it was a pleasure to welcome you both to our hotel last week. Thank you for this review, and letting us know that our billboard helped you find us. We appreciate this feedback, and share all comments with our team. Looking forward to seeing you again on a future visit to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Thank God, Morgantown finally has a great new downtown Hotel. The Chestnut is far and away the nicest in town, centrally located and has everything you could want on site. Excellent restaurant, awesome sky bar, great staff and really cool rooms. I've traveled around the glove and have yet to find anywhere where the entire staff was awesome. Every single one of them! Very rare and very real. If you're tired of the same old same old, make the move. They're well worth the money.

Room Tip: I'd stongly recommend one of the suites. They're very roomy and the corner rooms have 3 win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, General Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hi Daniel R - Thank you for the review of your recent stay at The Chestnut Hotel. We truly appreciate that you took the time to let other guests know about our oversized suites, rooftop area and convenient location in downtown Morgantown. We hope to see you again when you visit Morgantown!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Chestnut is a wonderful new hotel hidden in plain sight on Chestnut Street in Morgantown, WV.We'd booked a King Standard room but were upgraded to a King Deluxe which, we were told, is the same room only with a jetted Jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. The room and bathroom were very large and, unlike most hotels, there was counter and shelf space sufficient for our bathroom items.

The King bed was extremely comfortable and the air conditioner unit was quiet. All room supplies were provided in ample quantities.

Out a door from the fourth floor, where our room was located, is a massive, multi-level deck with indoor and outdoor bars, two pools with wide seat-edges. The sign indicated that they can cater up to 550 people there and I believe it to be so.

The staff of the hotel was very friendly but not intrusive. The Hospitality manager, Jon, made sure that we had everything we needed and that our stay was comfortable.

A couple of things that would make this place even better- Our room had a chaise and a desk chair but not a comfortable reading chair with ottoman. The bathroom sink needs a soap dish and, because our door was near the elevator and entrance to the party deck, it needs better soundproofing. Happy, talkative people outside our door sounded as if they were inside our room. We were grateful that we were there mid week and there were very few people coming and going.

We will certainly make this our "regular" hotel when in Morgantown. It's down town, where many of the best restaurants and all of the interesting shops are located and is steps from the PRT station for easy access to the entire West Virginia University campus.

Room Tip: The corner king suites are huge, if you like lots of space but the standard king rooms are larger th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horticulturist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheChestnut, Guest Relations Manager at The Chestnut Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Horticulturist56 - Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay. We value this feedback about your guest room, and will share the suggestions with our team. Thanks for choosing The Chestnut Hotel when you travel to the Morgantown area. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chestnut Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chestnut Boutique Hotel

Property: The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
Address: 345 Chestnut St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5509
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chestnut Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel is located in the heart of downtown Morgantown, West Virginia. The hotel offers complimentary wifi, coffee and fruit stations on each floor and complimentary garage parking. There are also two bars on-site: J.W. Thirsty's and RockTop Lounge - our rooftop cabana bar. The hotel is conveniently located near Morgantown Regional Airport (MGW), local bus routes, the PRT system (public transportation) and both West Virginia University campuses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chestnut Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing