We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent value excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent value excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Stood at the hotel for a one night stop over in Morgantown. The location is on the river and a short distance from downtown and the university. The room was excellent as well as a very large bathroom. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpann2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    172
    78
    31
    16
See reviews for
132
114
31
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Stopped here for a quick night, on our way to Washington DC. Booked through Priceline in advance. The room was clean, and typically appointed, but much larger than your average hotel room--even the bathroom. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool/hot tub. On the water, in a (somewhat deserted) warehouse district, we walked to dinner at Oliverio's for perfectly decent italian food.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, West Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

I stay here on buisness one week a year and have for the last 4 or 5 years.
Its a very pleasurable place to be. Clean, comfortable and quiet hotel with an excellent staff.
Not a bargin but its worth the xtra bucks. I even bumped up to the conceirge room for an xtra 25 bucks.
That got me a room on the concierge floor which took your room key to even get access to the floor. And at the end of the hall on that floor was a special little lounge for "just us" on that floor..
It had sodas, coffee tea and little snacks all included in the cost of the room.
Donuts, bagles,cereal in the mornings, little snack orderves of an evening.
I dont think I consumed 25 bucks worth of snacks a day, but having them there was very handy and eliminated hunting fror change for a vending machine.
You also got a sleep by number bed in your room.....I ended up not being much of a fan of the SBN bed but its there.
The hotel is within easy driving distance of anything you could ever need and a few things in walking distance and the old railroad thats a walking track is right behind the hotel.
Food at the hotel is good but overpriced.
But all in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblinPapaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I spent 3 nights here as part of a mid-sized, business conference. Most prices for the off-season were around $165/night. I'm sure there are cheaper alternatives in the area, but this hotel seems to be geared toward amenity-seekers, mid-to-high-end visitors, and business. In regards to the conference they did very well. Rooms were well equipped with chairs, pens/paper, tables, projector screens, audio system, etc... There were at least a dozen rooms that meetings could be held in. Drinks, breakfast food, snacks, water pitchers...were all kept filled. They even had home-made cookies one afternoon. Kudos for that. Front desk staff was very nice and accommodating.

Room was mid-sized, clean, and average for a hotel of this caliber. I had a view out a full-wall window toward the parking garage. Other rooms had views of the road, the construction next door, and the actual waterfront. I'm sure you'll pay extra for the latter, and the other 3 aren't that impressive. From the 5th floor, I could hear some faint construction noises from the renovation next door, but it wasn't horrible. Ice machine was either broken or thoroughly drained - no ice came out after a couple minutes. I had to go up to the next floor to use theirs. There was a desk in one corner with hookups for internet and power. A rather detailed booklet providing menu, rates, hotel services, details on the site, and things in the area, was a very nice plus for a visitor. My room came with two pillow-top, queen beds that felt comfortable. Bathroom was very spacious. Mini-soap bottles, towels, coffee maker, tea, cups, and a small water bottle were replenished on a daily basis. There was a closet with wooden hangers, an iron w/board, and a suitcase stand. TV was in an enclosed cabinet with dresser shelves below. Nothing fancy - basic ~23" tube TV with access to 30 or so channels. There's an on-screen hotel guide that giving access to on-demand movies/TV-shows, games, and "adult" content (there are parental controls). Most of the lighting was CFL bulbs with a slow warmup time. Nicely avoids the light shock when you turn them on in the morning, but it starts out a bit dim when coming from the bright lights in the hallway. Very impressed with the maintenance staff's cleanup.

Unfortunately, I have to echo the lack of value expressed by other visitors. Many of the "standard" offerings at other cheaper locations are nickel & dimed here:
* I didn't visit the Ratpack bar, but I did go to the Regatto grill in the lobby. They had a $10 lunch buffet special that day, and the front desk even gave me a 20% off coupon. There were interesting/different items like stuffed brussel sprouts, thin-crust garlic pizza, etc...that was a good value. But I felt the regular, non-special prices were exorbitant. Room service is a $1 delivery charge, plus 20% service charge. There's no breakfast included (not even continental), and an egg omelette without drink at ~$10/person is ridiculously expensive. Lunch and dinner are even more. True some of the food is more unique than traditional offerings, but I don't see a point in spending $30 for the same steak I can get for $15 a few miles down the road at Longhorn. Even the drinks in the soda machine are $1.50!
* Parking is charged $6 - something which I would think would be complimentary. No one is going to walk into a hotel car-less! Charge for valet parking ($8)? Sure. Self-parking? No. But at least you could go in and out all you wanted - the day charge is put on your room bill by using your hotel key card.
* When I saw on the web site "Nintendo-included", I was looking forward to giving it a try in my downtime. But not at $7/hr as I abruptly saw upon turning on the TV (not even a flat-screen TV). Pay-for movies are offered and I can understand the charge for. But a few older games? Having something for parents to amuse the kids with for free, would go a long way in my book.
* If you're looking for often-forgotten travel items (other than the provided soap), there's a small shop in the lobby you can buy them from.
* No free local telephone calls. I had my Sprint cell phone with me, so it wasn't a big deal (had very good coverage).

Fortunately, there were other things included. They had a hot tub and indoor pool on the bottom floor. Pool-side towels & locker room provided. The second floor has a spa and fitness center. There was a good selection of workout machines (18 or so) with TVs on the wall. Wifi access was unsecured and free. One of my co-workers was able to access it easily from the conference room on the main floor. The "business center" consists of basically a large closet with two computers/printers facing opposite directions against a wall. Good in a pinch, but I wouldn't trust the security - one of the screens was showing a virus scan results page with found infections.

Within walking distance is a public trail that snakes along-side the river and through town, and past several shops and restaurants. The downtown area is a decent walk, but not excessive. There's also a personal transport rail for 50 cents (free for students). Basically it's a mini-shuttle that runs on an overhead rail to several points in Morgantown. The hotel will give you a free ride to the nearby Morgantown airport, though the airport is not that impressive. Basically just provides puddle-jumper access to Pittsburgh and DC. I rented a car in Pittsburgh and drove down. It's cheaper and faster at only a 1.5hr drive.

In summary, I enjoyed my stay and the hotel service + amenities are very good in quality. But if my company was not footing the bill, I would go elsewhere for a much better value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheG33kman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I spent one night here on business and thought it was quite nice. The room was very large and it was clean. The desk staff was quite friendly and helpful. They have a indoor pool downstairs with a hot tub attached which I enjoyed quite well. Also have lockers and showers at the pool. The location was nice too- right on the river and near a walking path that goes right into downtown/campus. Was an easy walk, probably no more than a mile. Also have free high-speed internet in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc2632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

We had a lovely overnight stay at the 17-story Waterfront Place Hotel. Everything is spotlessly clean, quiet, the beds are comfortable, and the river view is memorable. The dining room food and service was excellent. We look forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — lovely room with river view
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArmyLadyWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere in America
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

Nice rooms, great view overlooking the river. Nice bar with good food.
Has direct access to the riverfront walking trail.
I'd heard it could be noisy, but I had a corner room and heard nothing.
WiFi coverage in the room was atrocious though. They had a wired connection at a desk but the wireless coverage didn't reach there. The only way I could make a connection was standing in the entrance hall next to the bathroom. Not real convenient.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Surly-Hillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#3 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
2.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing