We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WP Has to Be Morgantown's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I had never stayed at this property before (which I found out was previously affiliated with Radisson). I was impressed with the friendliness of the staff and the spaciousness of the rooms. The room decor is somewhat bland and could use some updates, but is otherwise very comfortable and certainly accommodating.

The hotel's Rat Pack Lounge was closed when I was there, but I was very pleased with the Regatta Grille and Bar--a true cut above an average in-house hotel restaurant. The free shuttle service to nearby downtown Morgantown was also an extra added perk. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for your polite remarks regarding our hotel, staff, and the Regatta. We truly value and appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, as it is guest’s comments that give us an opportunity to continually improve the property. We hope you will stay with us again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I've been staying at the Waterfront Place Hotel for years and I have to admit the recent changes have come with minimal consideration of hotel guests. However, these changes include the recent closure of the Rat Pack Lounge and the changes made with parking accommodations. I will start with the parking changes. Instead of being met with friendly bell service, you are being met with angry guests waiting on cars, carts, bell service assistance, etc. First of all, let’s be clear, the bell service staff is exceptional. John B. and his team do a great job to assist guest needs. However, these guys are running much farther than they used to be. Most of their time is spent running rather than assisting guests with needs such as luggage, luggage carts, etc. I use this hotel for travel quit often. They recently closed the Rat Pack Lounge which was an exceptional place to watch sporting events or meet with a group in a low key environment in the evenings. Let's be clear, Mary Ann and Melissa were exceptional employees and they provided great customer service for years, which kept guests coming back. This was a very poor decision, not only did we lose two exceptional employees that guest like to see, the guests lost a fun and friendly environment to meet in the late evenings. It's my understanding their putting in a Starbucks in place of the Rat Pack Lounge. This would be a good addition to the overpriced limited menu selection that currently exists.

In addition, the hotel is not business friendly. If you would like to meet with your group and discuss business, be ready to pay a hefty price for a conference / meeting room. The business center is extremely small and does not offer the guests options for printing. In order to conduct business you are forced to set in the lobby or use the restaurant to meet with your group.

I’ve watched the cleanliness of the rooms deteriorate over time as well. For example, simple things are overlooked such as shower curtains, various stains on walls in bathroom and guest rooms, floors, ironing boards covers, etc.

It’s disappointing to leave such a review on trip advisor about a hotel that used to be second to none in customer service, accommodations and facilities. However, I’ve stayed here long enough to learn that these folks pay more attention to Trip Advisor Reviews rather than focusing on guest surveys sent out in email. Maybe it’s because the world sees Trip Advisor! I would hope that the management team reevaluates their direction and include input from the front line teams that keep guests returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank West Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay at Waterfront Place Hotel. We understand you have a choice of hotels in Morgantown and we are pleased you chose us.

On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies for the problems you experienced during your most recent stay. I am happy to inform you that the guestroom issues you refer to are being addressed. In addition, guests who use the business center have the ability to print documents to the front desk. We are hopeful you will allow us another opportunity to provide you the level of service with which our guests are accustomed.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

The rooms were mediocre, but tolerable. My biggest gripe is the changes made to an already unconventional parking situation. I have stayed at the Waterfront numerous times on the past and have recently learned that guests no longer have access to the closest parking garage on the property and are forced to walk a significantly greater distance now due to cost cutting by management. I will not be staying at the Waterfront when doing business in Morgantown.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Steacitydude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with the Waterfront Place Hotel. We truly value and appreciate your patronage, and we are sorry to hear you will no longer opt for the Waterfront when traveling on business.

Though slightly longer, the hotel feels that this parking option is best for our guests. The use of this garage allows our guests to avoid poor weather when accessing their automobiles. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope you will consider the Waterfront in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel from it's location overlooking the frozen river to their rooms and staff. The hotel restaurant for dinner was fabulous with a creative chef as well as very attentive and knowledgable servers. However, we were very disappointed with the breakfast service - it's amazing what a difference a shift change makes. The chef wasn't able to cook over-medium eggs (three times) and the waiter had the audacity to argue that what we ordered was incorrect. Overall, I would recommend this venue ... just go elsewhere for breakfast!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the lake ... just beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJayMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel and staff. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, as it is guest comments that allow us to address areas of need.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the drastic change in service you received in the restaurant. While I am happy to hear your dinner experience was fabulous, the service you received during breakfast was below our standards. We hope you will choose the Waterfront Place Hotel the next time you visit Morgantown.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

During my stay this hotel was hosting two large group meetings AND fans in town for a sold-out WVU vs. Kansas basketball game. Despite the crowds, the hotel and restaurant employees were friendly and attentive, with impressive service. As a speaker for one of the groups, I found their meetings and events staff to be helpful and efficient with last-minute requests. Business travelers will wish that every city this size had a hotel this good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightbreadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for the excellent comments regarding your recent stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. Your compliments to the hotel and event staff are sincerely appreciated, and I will be sure to share your review with our entire team. Please let us know when you will be staying again so we may thank you personally.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We drove three hours to attend an event at WVU and selected Waterfront Plaza for our overnight. The only rooms in the hotel with king beds were 2 room suites with a lovely living room area complete with a table, 6 chairs, mini-fridge, etc. This was fine for our purposes on this trip as we knew we might be entertaining a few guests after the show, though would have been overkill for our usual travel and we would have selected a room with a king bed at another hotel. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the furnishings clean and new-enough. The lobby and check-in staff were as I would expect from what should have been one of the premiere hotels in town, and the elevators were spacious and swift delivering us to our 10th floor king suite. The view of the river and the lock were delightful from our large picture windows.

Here began the ragged events of the rest of our stay. The room on the south side of the building at 4:30pm on a March afternoon was hot. HOT - I mean seriously HOT. - Probably between 80 and 90 degrees Fahrenheit HOT. We naturally looked to turn on the Air Conditioning to bring the temperature of the room to within something resembling normal limits .... this seemed to prove impossible. After a call to the front desk (yes we had followed her instructions correctly as to how to make the room colder) and then a trip to the front desk, and a visit to the room by both the hotel engineer and the hotel manager, the room only began to cool off when the sun was low enough to stop pounding through the unopenable windows. We were assured that there had been a problem with the breakers on the hot water/ cold water system and that in just 15-20 minutes it would begin cooling now that the breakers were re-set. We were also offered a smaller room on the other side of the building none of which had king beds nor the space we needed for entertaining later.

An hour later, still over-heated and unhappy, we struggled into evening clothes and descended to the lobby to seek out dinner at the in-house restaurant, Regatta Bar and Grille. We ate early in order to make curtain for our show and aside from a little mix-up in the cocktail order, the food was wonderful, the service attentive but not intrusive, and the ambiance pleasant and appropriate for all modes of attire. A thoroughly enjoyable evening meal.

Returning to our room after our show (and it turns out we did not end up entertaining) we found that the cooling system still had not kicked on, but with the sun down and the temperatures outside in the 30s, the huge bank of windows provided enough cooling that we could sleep comfortably with just a sheet on. We hoped the morning would bring a cloudy day so as not to return the room to the state of a sauna before we could check out.

We had left the door tag out for breakfast to be delivered in the morning and it arrive within in the specified time with the hot foods hot and the cold foods cold. Having the table and chairs in the suite made for a lovely morning dining experience. Except - we had ordered breakfast for 3 including specifying coffee for 3 - they only sent up 2 cups and saucers; we had ordered a small pineapple juice (apple had not been an option) and they had omitted that without comment or explanation and when asked explained they were "out". We established they did, in fact, have apple juice available in spite of it not having been on the menu and a large glass was forthcoming. Sadly, there were a variety of other minor but annoying issues with the breakfast selections: the oatmeal was cooked without the necessary pinch of salt and the brown sugar provided for it was scant, the waffle was unbuttered and butter was not provided on the tray, the cream for the coffee was meager making us glad not all of us take cream in our coffee, the real sugar (not sweetener) likewise.

And then there is the parking..... a very cold walk across a parking lot to another building into a deck with a lousy exit strategy to the street. This system may encourage people to use the valet parking offered at a very reasonable rate, but it certainly did not make for a very easy or convenient self-park situation.

All in all the experience of this hotel was that it did not live up to expectations for what could be a 5-star downtown success. For the price and the location, I expected more attention to the details of what make a stay move from the average category to the very good, or even, excellent one. Had the temperature of the room not been such a HUGE issue, I would probably have bumped my rating from Average to a Very Good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. We truly value your thorough comments regarding your stay.

On behalf of the Waterfront, please accept my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you encountered with room temperature and in-room dining. Your comments provide the hotel an opportunity to continually improve our guest experience, and we will promptly investigate each of the issues you describe. When you next visit WVU, we are hopeful you will allow us another chance to win back your confidence.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've heard so many great things about this hotel. It is very luxurious looking and in a perfect location. But, for the cost of the room, many other hotels in the area would be a much better deal. The room was clean, the lobby was very impressive, and the staff was friendly.

The parking situation is ridiculous. If, by chance you need to leave the parking garage between 4:30pm and 6:00pm...leave early. We waited for 20 minutes to just drive out of the garage. Not to mention the walk to the garage from the hotel in very frigid temperatures. Yes, we could have valet parked, but our plans included a lot of in and out trips and is wasn't a good option for us.

If you are a lady who likes to apply a little makeup before you go out, bring your own mirror, with a light. The mirrors and lighting in the rooms are impossible to know what your makeup looks like.

The walls are paper thin. There was a child in the room next to me who was very active very early in the morning.

I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your polite comments regarding our guestrooms, lobby, and staff. We value our guests’ comments as they provide important details that help the hotel constantly improve.

Please accept our apologies for being adversely affected by the parking garage. Unfortunately, traffic departing the parking garage increases between the hours you mention as most of the offices, located in the building adjacent to the hotel, close around that time. We are hopeful you will allow us another opportunity to serve you at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
562 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Morgantown / University Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place

Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: $113 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Morgantown Marriott is conveniently located one mile from West Virginia University and offers an airport shuttle, full-service spa, fitness center, pool, and a full-service Starbucks®. The hotel has nine floors with 207 guest rooms including eight suites, consisting of double-queen and king guest rooms, with river or city views available. Morgantown Marriott also offers concierge-level guest rooms. To ensure a comfortable stay for travelers, all rooms are equipped with complimentary high speed Internet, a desk, a mini refrigerator, a 55” television, and a coffee maker for early risers. Located within the hotel, Morgantown Marriott also houses 18 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space, perfect for business, weddings, parties and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing