We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Nearby Hotels
Clarion Hotel Morgan(Morgantown)(Great Value!)
$134
$129
ClarionHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$115
$103
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel(Morgantown)(Great Value!)
$89
SuburbanHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$124
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Euro-Suites Hotel(Morgantown)
$109
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Morgantown(Morgantown)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (664)
Filter reviews
665 results
Traveler rating
315
208
90
33
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
208
90
33
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsregatta barself parkingriver viewthe concierge loungevery nice hotelcorner roomvalet servicebreakfast buffetconference centerroom was spacioushot tubfront desk staffwest virginia universitywvu campushigh streetup to datedefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
365 - 370 of 665 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Absolutely loved this hotel from it's location overlooking the frozen river to their rooms and staff. The hotel restaurant for dinner was fabulous with a creative chef as well as very attentive and knowledgable servers. However, we were very disappointed with the breakfast service - it's amazing what a difference a shift change makes. The chef wasn't able to cook over-medium eggs (three times) and the waiter had the audacity to argue that what we ordered was incorrect. Overall, I would recommend this venue ... just go elsewhere for breakfast!

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the lake ... just beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsJayMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel and staff. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback, as it is guest comments that allow us to address areas of need.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the drastic change in service you received in the restaurant. While I am happy to hear your dinner experience was fabulous, the service you received during breakfast was below our standards. We hope you will choose the Waterfront Place Hotel the next time you visit Morgantown.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

During my stay this hotel was hosting two large group meetings AND fans in town for a sold-out WVU vs. Kansas basketball game. Despite the crowds, the hotel and restaurant employees were friendly and attentive, with impressive service. As a speaker for one of the groups, I found their meetings and events staff to be helpful and efficient with last-minute requests. Business travelers will wish that every city this size had a hotel this good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lightbreadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you for the excellent comments regarding your recent stay at the Waterfront Place Hotel. Your compliments to the hotel and event staff are sincerely appreciated, and I will be sure to share your review with our entire team. Please let us know when you will be staying again so we may thank you personally.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We drove three hours to attend an event at WVU and selected Waterfront Plaza for our overnight. The only rooms in the hotel with king beds were 2 room suites with a lovely living room area complete with a table, 6 chairs, mini-fridge, etc. This was fine for our purposes on this trip as we knew we might be entertaining a few guests after the show, though would have been overkill for our usual travel and we would have selected a room with a king bed at another hotel. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the furnishings clean and new-enough. The lobby and check-in staff were as I would expect from what should have been one of the premiere hotels in town, and the elevators were spacious and swift delivering us to our 10th floor king suite. The view of the river and the lock were delightful from our large picture windows.

Here began the ragged events of the rest of our stay. The room on the south side of the building at 4:30pm on a March afternoon was hot. HOT - I mean seriously HOT. - Probably between 80 and 90 degrees Fahrenheit HOT. We naturally looked to turn on the Air Conditioning to bring the temperature of the room to within something resembling normal limits .... this seemed to prove impossible. After a call to the front desk (yes we had followed her instructions correctly as to how to make the room colder) and then a trip to the front desk, and a visit to the room by both the hotel engineer and the hotel manager, the room only began to cool off when the sun was low enough to stop pounding through the unopenable windows. We were assured that there had been a problem with the breakers on the hot water/ cold water system and that in just 15-20 minutes it would begin cooling now that the breakers were re-set. We were also offered a smaller room on the other side of the building none of which had king beds nor the space we needed for entertaining later.

An hour later, still over-heated and unhappy, we struggled into evening clothes and descended to the lobby to seek out dinner at the in-house restaurant, Regatta Bar and Grille. We ate early in order to make curtain for our show and aside from a little mix-up in the cocktail order, the food was wonderful, the service attentive but not intrusive, and the ambiance pleasant and appropriate for all modes of attire. A thoroughly enjoyable evening meal.

Returning to our room after our show (and it turns out we did not end up entertaining) we found that the cooling system still had not kicked on, but with the sun down and the temperatures outside in the 30s, the huge bank of windows provided enough cooling that we could sleep comfortably with just a sheet on. We hoped the morning would bring a cloudy day so as not to return the room to the state of a sauna before we could check out.

We had left the door tag out for breakfast to be delivered in the morning and it arrive within in the specified time with the hot foods hot and the cold foods cold. Having the table and chairs in the suite made for a lovely morning dining experience. Except - we had ordered breakfast for 3 including specifying coffee for 3 - they only sent up 2 cups and saucers; we had ordered a small pineapple juice (apple had not been an option) and they had omitted that without comment or explanation and when asked explained they were "out". We established they did, in fact, have apple juice available in spite of it not having been on the menu and a large glass was forthcoming. Sadly, there were a variety of other minor but annoying issues with the breakfast selections: the oatmeal was cooked without the necessary pinch of salt and the brown sugar provided for it was scant, the waffle was unbuttered and butter was not provided on the tray, the cream for the coffee was meager making us glad not all of us take cream in our coffee, the real sugar (not sweetener) likewise.

And then there is the parking..... a very cold walk across a parking lot to another building into a deck with a lousy exit strategy to the street. This system may encourage people to use the valet parking offered at a very reasonable rate, but it certainly did not make for a very easy or convenient self-park situation.

All in all the experience of this hotel was that it did not live up to expectations for what could be a 5-star downtown success. For the price and the location, I expected more attention to the details of what make a stay move from the average category to the very good, or even, excellent one. Had the temperature of the room not been such a HUGE issue, I would probably have bumped my rating from Average to a Very Good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etoile_of_NE_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. We truly value your thorough comments regarding your stay.

On behalf of the Waterfront, please accept my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you encountered with room temperature and in-room dining. Your comments provide the hotel an opportunity to continually improve our guest experience, and we will promptly investigate each of the issues you describe. When you next visit WVU, we are hopeful you will allow us another chance to win back your confidence.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I've heard so many great things about this hotel. It is very luxurious looking and in a perfect location. But, for the cost of the room, many other hotels in the area would be a much better deal. The room was clean, the lobby was very impressive, and the staff was friendly.

The parking situation is ridiculous. If, by chance you need to leave the parking garage between 4:30pm and 6:00pm...leave early. We waited for 20 minutes to just drive out of the garage. Not to mention the walk to the garage from the hotel in very frigid temperatures. Yes, we could have valet parked, but our plans included a lot of in and out trips and is wasn't a good option for us.

If you are a lady who likes to apply a little makeup before you go out, bring your own mirror, with a light. The mirrors and lighting in the rooms are impossible to know what your makeup looks like.

The walls are paper thin. There was a child in the room next to me who was very active very early in the morning.

I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you for your polite comments regarding our guestrooms, lobby, and staff. We value our guests’ comments as they provide important details that help the hotel constantly improve.

Please accept our apologies for being adversely affected by the parking garage. Unfortunately, traffic departing the parking garage increases between the hours you mention as most of the offices, located in the building adjacent to the hotel, close around that time. We are hopeful you will allow us another opportunity to serve you at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I think this is a great hotel. The staff is always very friendly and they go out of their way to help you. Michael at the front desk is wonderful. The onsite restaurant is convenient and the spa is luxurious. I also appreciate the hotel's proximity to downtown and the WVU campus. That being said, I think there is room for improvement.

The gym and pool areas of the hotel seem to be completely overlooked. It wouldn't take a lot of effort to really improve these areas. The pads on the weight machines are ripped, the treadmills and other machinery need replaced and the floor of the locker room and gym area need to be cleaned. Every time I have stayed there, signs on the treadmills indicate they are being repaired- it must be time for these to be replaced. I can not understand why this area of the hotel property receives such minimal attention when the rest of the property shines.

With regards to the pool area, the paint on the bottom of the pool is peeling off and there is sand/debris lining the floor of the pool. Again, for such a great property, this area could definitely use some attention. I think a small amount of attention to these areas would go a long way.

Great hotel, on its way to being an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WVU_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Waterfront Place Hotel. Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to correct areas of need as we strive towards constantly improving our customer experience. Thank you again for the great comments.

Best Regards,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews