We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“numerous stays!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“numerous stays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Have stayed at the Waterfront Place hotel many times over the last 4.5 years and 9/10 times it has been a perfect experience. The one time which the say was not to par, the front desk quickly remedied the issues.
Rooms are very nice, excellent location for the hotel, easy parking and staff surpasses any other hotel. Front desk is fabulous!

Room Tip: any room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Cathy S.,
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding our hotel accommodations, service and staff. We value your business and we look forward to serving you during your next stay.
Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    184
    82
    32
    18
See reviews for
143
123
35
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ellenboro,WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have stayed at the Waterfront several times and they never seem to have an "off day". The staff on all levels seem to make it their pleasure to assist you. There is a feeling of comfortable classiness with this hotel.

Room Tip: higher rooms have better view. Corner rooms are oversized and some have great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripEllenboro_WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review! We sincerely appreciate your continued patronage, and we look forward to making future visits as enjoyable as previous visits.

Happy Holidays,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in August, while moving our daughter to WVU for her new Coaching assignment. (Track and CC) The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious, well decorated, and comfortable. There was a great view of the river.... and the Ice maker was right across the hall!! We ordered room service from the Regatta Grill both nights. Our server, Michael, went out of his way to accomodate us! The only disappointment was--- we couldn't stay a third night because they were booked out!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Barbieore - Thank you for your excellent review in regards to our accommodations, service and staff! I will share your compliments with Michael, and the entire staff, and we hope to see you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Happy Holidays,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Waterfront for a convention. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. It would've been nice to have a refrigerator in the room and one morning the hot water was limited in the shower but overall it was a very nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Say-Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Say-Wen – Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with the Waterfront Place Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the polite compliments regarding our front desk staff and hotel accommodations. We share all TripAdvisor reviews with our staff; they will be pleased to read your kind words.

Happy holidays,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very efficient and welcoming staff at the desk. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Generous buffet breakfast for $12.00 with great service. Excellent restaurant on site: Regatta with above average meal and reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MishMishOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I will be passing along your comments to our entire staff and the Regatta culinary team. Again, thank you for the superb review!

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed there 2nd week of November. Beautiful lobby, room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the river. Many local pubs and restaurants were within easy walking distance and all were a good value! There was even a well stocked grocery store within a mile. The hotel had a well equipped gym, which I used a few times, and an indoor pool, which I did not get to use. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenience and cleanliness!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel gives either a view of the city or the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbi0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Barbi0216 – We greatly appreciate the excellent review regarding your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the fitness facilities. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to use the indoor pool during a future visit! We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ok, the Waterfront is a nice hotel but it's a total rip off. My boyfriend, all his friends, and I stayed there last weekend for the Texas football game. We reserved two rooms for two nights last year when the football schedule was announced. We were quoted a rate and were happy with it. Well, when we showed up to check-in the rate had DOUBLED! Not cool. For all that money you'd think we'd get some complimentary breakfast or at least there'd be a microfrige in the room...nada! Also, they promised a complimentary shuttle to take us downtown to the bars and restaurants (since it's a ways away from all of that) and we waited and waited...and waited...and finally we just hitched a ride with strangers. However, there was free parking, I'll give them that. All in all, you can definitely find a cheaper hotel that's just as nice with much more amenities in Morgantown. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kate S,

Let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our complimentary shuttle. If the shuttle was running behind, an estimated wait time should have been communicated to you. Unfortunately, traffic in Morgantown increases exponentially on WVU football weekends which may cause delays.

We value all guest reviews, both positive and negative, and we use them as a tool to provide the best guest experience possible. We hope you will allow us a second opportunity to provide the services to which our guests are accustomed.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.3 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing