We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights in August, while moving our daughter to WVU for her new Coaching assignment. (Track and CC) The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was spacious, well decorated, and comfortable. There was a great view of the river.... and the Ice maker was right across the hall!! We ordered room service from the Regatta Grill both nights. Our server, Michael, went out of his way to accomodate us! The only disappointment was--- we couldn't stay a third night because they were booked out!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Barbieore - Thank you for your excellent review in regards to our accommodations, service and staff! I will share your compliments with Michael, and the entire staff, and we hope to see you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Happy Holidays,
Ryan Alexander - Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 624 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed at the Waterfront for a convention. The front desk clerks were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. It would've been nice to have a refrigerator in the room and one morning the hot water was limited in the shower but overall it was a very nice place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Say-Wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Say-Wen – Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with the Waterfront Place Hotel. We sincerely appreciate the polite compliments regarding our front desk staff and hotel accommodations. We share all TripAdvisor reviews with our staff; they will be pleased to read your kind words.

Happy holidays,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Very efficient and welcoming staff at the desk. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and spacious. Generous buffet breakfast for $12.00 with great service. Excellent restaurant on site: Regatta with above average meal and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MishMishOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I will be passing along your comments to our entire staff and the Regatta culinary team. Again, thank you for the superb review!

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed there 2nd week of November. Beautiful lobby, room was spacious and comfortable with a lovely view of the river. Many local pubs and restaurants were within easy walking distance and all were a good value! There was even a well stocked grocery store within a mile. The hotel had a well equipped gym, which I used a few times, and an indoor pool, which I did not get to use. I would definitely recommend this hotel for its convenience and cleanliness!

Room Tip: Either side of the hotel gives either a view of the city or the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbi0216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Barbi0216 – We greatly appreciate the excellent review regarding your recent Waterfront Place Hotel experience. I am happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the fitness facilities. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to use the indoor pool during a future visit! We hope to see you again.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ok, the Waterfront is a nice hotel but it's a total rip off. My boyfriend, all his friends, and I stayed there last weekend for the Texas football game. We reserved two rooms for two nights last year when the football schedule was announced. We were quoted a rate and were happy with it. Well, when we showed up to check-in the rate had DOUBLED! Not cool. For all that money you'd think we'd get some complimentary breakfast or at least there'd be a microfrige in the room...nada! Also, they promised a complimentary shuttle to take us downtown to the bars and restaurants (since it's a ways away from all of that) and we waited and waited...and waited...and finally we just hitched a ride with strangers. However, there was free parking, I'll give them that. All in all, you can definitely find a cheaper hotel that's just as nice with much more amenities in Morgantown. Stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Kate S,

Let me apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our complimentary shuttle. If the shuttle was running behind, an estimated wait time should have been communicated to you. Unfortunately, traffic in Morgantown increases exponentially on WVU football weekends which may cause delays.

We value all guest reviews, both positive and negative, and we use them as a tool to provide the best guest experience possible. We hope you will allow us a second opportunity to provide the services to which our guests are accustomed.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Waterfront Hotel on October 19th after watching the Texas Tech - West Virginia football game and were treated to an extremely classy and terrific stay! The staff was excellent in helping us decide what restaurants to eat at near the hotel and also welcomed us warmly as out of town visiting guests. One of the things that caught our attention was the display of the WVU and Texas Tech flags in the lobby and the Texas Tech flags outside on the circular driveway which was really classy! We agree that this really welcomes any visiting football fans to Morgantown! Outside of the hotel, there is a jogging/bike path that runs along the river which takes you by several restaurants - we really enjoyed the local Mountain Top Brewery while waiting for a seat at the Italian place next door. Finally, we would heartily recommend the buffet breakfast for $10 at this hotel. In summary, I would strongly urge anyone coming to Morgantown to stay at this hotel - the atmosphere, hospitality, location, and friendliness just can't be beat! Thank you for a terrific weekend in Morgantown!

Room Tip: Views of the river are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrinceRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

PrinceRaider – Many thanks for the kind words and compliments regarding your football weekend experience. We share all of our guest responses with our staff; they will be pleased to read your wonderful comments. Hopefully we will see you again the next time Texas Tech visits Morgantown.

All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Great place for a meeting and football weekend. Service was excellent, facilities are first class. Highly recommend! Breakfast Buffet very reasonable and excellent. If you get a chance go to Table 9 for dinner just a short walk from Waterfront Place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Jeff B,
Thank you for your kind review regarding our hotel facilities and services. We look forward to your next visit to Morgantown.
All the best,
Ryan Alexander – Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#9 of 25 in Morgantown
665 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#12 of 25 in Morgantown
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 25 in Morgantown
540 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place

Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: $117 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Morgantown Marriott is conveniently located one mile from West Virginia University and offers an airport shuttle, full-service spa, fitness center, pool, and a full-service Starbucks®. The hotel has nine floors with 207 guest rooms including eight suites, consisting of double-queen and king guest rooms, with river or city views available. Morgantown Marriott also offers concierge-level guest rooms. To ensure a comfortable stay for travelers, all rooms are equipped with complimentary high speed Internet, a desk, a mini refrigerator, a 55” television, and a coffee maker for early risers. Located within the hotel, Morgantown Marriott also houses 18 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space, perfect for business, weddings, parties and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing