We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience at Waterfront Place Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visit Morgantown regularly and have stayed at WPH frequently.
The hotel offers all one needs away from home. Good and friendly service, an excellent Gym and Indoor Swimming Pool, easy to all areas in and around Morgantown and excellent Business and Convention facilities.
We recently had a family function and had a group of guests stay at the hotel.The service personnel in particular were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjgpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your kind comments about our friendly service, excellent gym and indoor swimming pool. Again, I appreciate your polite words and we hope to see you during future visits to Morgantown.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 641 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Waterfront is my home away from home! It is a blessed place...the river, the sky..it is a holy place. The employees are over and above... God Bless and Michael is an amazing manager and Host. GOD BLESS AMERICA!!

Room Tip: Riverfront room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your kind words about our staff. Michael is an excellent asset to our hotel and we are happy to have him on our team. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Second time here and still happy. Both times we have stayed here we have had dinner and both times it was an enjoyable time. Your not going to get a free breakfast and your going to pay to park, but the staff is friendly, rooms clean, big flat screen tv, nice workout room, pool, hot tub and view of the river.

Room Tip: Have dinner outside in the summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your polite remarks concerning our restaurant, staff and accommodations. I am glad to hear you had a nice dinner experience during both of your stays. We have an excellent culinary team in the Regatta Bar & Grille and are proud of the product they consistently provide. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here many times while visiting family in Morgantown. The staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and modern and the restaurants have a nice atmosphere. The small indoor pool is a nice feature for those who travel with kids.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your outstanding review and continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again in the future at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This is a very amazing hotel I stayed there about 2 weeks ago and honestly it was one of the best hotels I stayed at. The bellman brad and Vaugn catered to my every need. Tony at the front desk seemed like she Genuinely cared if I had a good stay or not and Overall I'd Recommend this hotel to anyone. And make sure you look for those people. They made my day! Great hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James5261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your polite review regarding your recent stay. Brad, Vaughn and Toni are valuable parts of our staff and we are fortunate to have them on our team. We hope to see you again at the Waterfront Place Hotel.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stayed here during the Miss West Virginia event this week. The 3 days I stayed here were very busy but I was able to relax in between all the activities because of some very nice features at this hotel. First off, the room was very comfy. I was able to regulate the temperature of the room, the beds were heavenly, the TV had lots of stations if I decided to watch. The fitness center was a particularly nice surprise, since so many hotels seem to add these as an after thought. This one had at least 8 late-model cardio machines (treadmills, bikes, eliiptical trainers). There was also a nice variety of weight machines, including my favorite ab cruncher! Some of the cardio machines face out the window with a nice view of the river. I had late lunches each day at the Regatta. The bar was fairly well stocked with a nice selection of wines, including by the glass, and I was not disappointed by the food. Whatever I ordered, salad, salmon, fries, burger, whatever; it was fresh and cooked just right. There is nothing more depressing than salmon cooked to hockey puck consistency, but I didn have that experience here, it was perfectly cooked. The hotel is within walking distance of the downtown area, where there are some nice boutiques, an excellent wine store, and even a toy store. Back in the room, the wireless Internet was fast and reliable. The staff was mostly friendly, but not overly helpful. I was obviously struggling with a heavy cart and the bellboy didn't offer to help me. Also, I guess I'm just used to hotels providing mini-fridges and microwaves these days, but they were not here at this hotel.... No biggie, but it would be nice to not have to depend on the restaurant for all your meals since there really isn't anything within a 20 minute walk. I usually bring my own yogurt or instant oatmeal when I travel, so I wasn't able to do that this time. Also.... Guests have to pay for coffee from the restaurant! And Im sorry, but those coffee pods.... Yuck. It would be nice to provide free coffee for guests. Other than those minor issues, this was a nice place to stay and I would definitely stay here again,

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank wvfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for the candid review regarding your recent stay. I do apologize for the lack of assistance you received with your baggage. This response is not typical of our staff and it will be addressed promptly. Again, thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Waterfront Place Hotel, for the second time. My first visit was absolutely perfect. Unfortunately this time there was discrepancy with my reservation. The manager was very helpful with correcting the problem with little to no resistance, Because of the hospitable treatment, I still highly recommend a stay in this hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan A, Marketing Specialist at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the Waterfront Place Hotel, thank you for your recent review. I apologize for the discrepancy in your reservation; however, I am pleased to hear the manager resolved the issue promptly. Again, thank you for your kind comments.

Sincerely,
Ryan Alexander
Marketing Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
686 reviews
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#14 of 24 in Morgantown
269 reviews
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place

Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range: $104 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Morgantown Marriott is conveniently located one mile from West Virginia University and offers an airport shuttle, full-service spa, fitness center, pool, and a full-service Starbucks®. The hotel has nine floors with 207 guest rooms including eight suites, consisting of double-queen and king guest rooms, with river or city views available. Morgantown Marriott also offers concierge-level guest rooms. To ensure a comfortable stay for travelers, all rooms are equipped with complimentary high speed Internet, a desk, a mini refrigerator, a 55” television, and a coffee maker for early risers. Located within the hotel, Morgantown Marriott also houses 18 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space, perfect for business, weddings, parties and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing