We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent Hotel for the discounted price...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Decent Hotel for the discounted price...”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Impressive when we pulled up as it is right on the waterfront. But I did get a deal on priceline...with taxes about $85...so they stuck us in a room that overlooked the parking lot and road, not the water, so I guess it did not really matter where it was located. The hotel itself is a wee-bit 90's dated, but we thought the bed was comfortable and the bathroom...which is pretty darn big, btw...was very clean. Staff was super friendly and for a first-time visit to Morgantown, it was nice that one of the kids who worked in valet suggested a few restaurants. Without his suggestions, I don't think we would have ever found these places. Overall, I would trust staying here again, but would not go out of my way to do so.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a waterfront view, but don't be surprised if they are 'booked' if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle55407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    189
    84
    32
    18
See reviews for
149
129
36
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is modern and well-situated on the river front, which is great if you are into taking on one of the trails. The hotel was buzzing with the excitement of a big local football game taking place and there were plenty of families who were partaking in this. The food in the restaurant is good quality and service is good. The hotel not only welcomed us in advance of our arrival but emailed immediately afterwards to thank us for coming - thank you and your staff for providing us with such a pleasant stay in this very interesting town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cag65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This place is really not good. While it is new(ish) it is already showing substantial signs of age and disrepair. There are virtually NO amenities in this hotel. The coup de gras was this AM going downstairs to grab a cup of coffee. For years they provided coffee service in the ridiculous room rate. Now low-quality coffee will cost you $2 apiece. When you are paying $300 a night for "C+" quality you should at least get the coffee comped.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WV1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnam K, Manager at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are reviewing your comments with our management staff. We do however, feel that your comment about having no amenities may be a bit misleading. We offer complimentary coffee in all of our guestrooms and have many services for our guests to enjoy. We have a large 24 hour fitness center and pool and Jacuzzi with an outdoor sundeck. We offer many concierge services including valet/bellhop services, same day dry-cleaning and a complimentary luxury shuttle. We also have a 24 hour business center, 24 hour sundries shop, a martini bar as well as a full service restaurant. These are among a few of the many amenities that we offer to all of our guests.

We apologize that you were not fully satisfied and hope to see you again in the future so that you can take advantage of the many amenities listed above. If you have any questions or need assistance, please feel free to contact myself or any member of our management staff.

Sunnam Kalwar
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazy, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Waterfront Place many times in the past few years and have always had good experiences. When we had to return to Morgantown on business, we were excited to have the opportunity to stay there again. We booked a king room on the concierge floor, as usual. Upon arrival, we went into the concierge lounge to get water and a Diet Coke, only to find the lounge empty and nothing in the refrigerator. It seems the lounge no longer provides these amenities, so why do you have a concierge lounge and why do you charge extra to stay on the concierge floor? They do provide coupons for the breakfast buffet, but it does you no good when you have to leave for work before it opens at 7:00am. Our room was too hot, even with the AC on high. When we reported this, the maintenance man made an excuse and did nothing to fix it. They are obviously trying to save money on laundry, too, because we only got two towels and two wash cloths each day. The bed was made with a bottom sheet that did not fit, so when you rolled over the sheet came off. On a good note, the food in the Regatta Grille was excellent, as was the service. Our next trip to Morgantown, though, will find us staying at the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnam K, Manager at Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

The staff and management at the Waterfront Place Hotel thank you for your valuable feedback. We have made some changes to our Executive Level due to guest comments and requests. It seemed that most guests preferred a hot breakfast over a continental breakfast. The hours that breakfast is served has not changed throughout the week, so guests can go to the restaurant easily and quickly eat off of the buffet beginning at 6:30am. In the lounge we do offer coffee and fruit for guests wanting to just grab something and go and complimentary drink and snack vouchers. We understand that not all returning guests will favor the changes but we have received so many raving reviews, that we decided that this was the right decision.

Our Executive Level rooms all come with refrigerators, DVD players, sleep number beds, iHome clock radios, robes and upgraded toiletries-which our other rooms do not offer, so we feel that the additional cost is well worth it considering the additional amenities offered.

We apologize for the issues that you encountered in your room and are currently looking into them. We are hopeful that despite your comments that you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Sunnam Kalwar
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Bed and pillows were NOT comfortable. Staff was friendly, room was nice. Pool was great...but, really, how do you rate a hotel better than average when your bed is as hard as granite and the pillows were all foam?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel! The bar/lounge made great drinks to taste and the food was delicious. Rooms were very nicely appointed and very clean. The staff was exceptional, professional, and very friendly. We loved spending the night here and will certainly stay again when in the area. It made for a very relaxing night while on a long motorcycle vacation!

Room Tip: I cannot believe there are any "bad" rooms in this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If not for priceline and paying $65 a night plus $6 a night for parking, I would have been upset. The rooms were outdated and dingy, the bathroom was not the cleanest. I let my 15 month old run around the room without socks, big mistake. Within ten minutes the soles of her feet were, black, I mean black. The carpets looked a little dingy but did not realize they were that dirty. I was not very impressed nor slightly impressed with the place. Had I paid full price for the room I would have been upset.

On the plus side the rooms were large.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
253 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 24 in Morgantown
622 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
2.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Morgantown
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#16 of 24 in Morgantown
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place

Property: Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly transformed Morgantown Marriott is conveniently located one mile from West Virginia University and offers an airport shuttle, full-service spa, fitness center, pool, and a full-service Starbucks®. The hotel has nine floors with 207 guest rooms including eight suites, consisting of double-queen and king guest rooms, with river or city views available. Morgantown Marriott also offers concierge-level guest rooms. To ensure a comfortable stay for travelers, all rooms are equipped with complimentary high speed Internet, a desk, a mini refrigerator, a 55” television, and a coffee maker for early risers. Located within the hotel, Morgantown Marriott also houses 18 meeting rooms with more than 50,000 square feet of meeting and event space, perfect for business, weddings, parties and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing