We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfront Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterfront Place Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My father and I stayed here while visiting a cousin who studies at WVU. Regardless of what people say, this hotel is great for everybody. The beds are comfy, the tvs are functional and the bathrooms are fine. We stayed here for only one night but it was extremely manageable. The food downstairs in the restaurant was beyond perfect. Recommend the lobster Mac and cheese. Great hotel overall.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirPappageorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    176
    81
    31
    17
See reviews for
138
117
32
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed down at the Waterfront Place hotel for work for 3 nights. Having previously stayed at another hotel in the Morgantown area which wasn't a particularly pleasant experience, the Waterfront Place Hotel was an absolute breath of fresh air.

The rooms are incredibly spacious, with one of the biggest TV's (and great choice of channels) that I've come across in a hotel before. You have a great working desk area, a couch, and an incredibly comfortable bed. I was lucky enough to get a room with a river view as well. My only gripe with the room was the pillows, which I didn't find particularly comfortable. Alternatives may very well have been available, but given the short duration of my stay I didn't ask.

Bathroom was spotlessly clean, and again very spacious. Shower pressure was great, and a great choice of toiletries was provided.

Staff at the hotel were very friendly and very amenable to requests. We actually had to check out a day earlier than planned, and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating to this last minute change.

Breakfast wasn't included in our rate, but at $12 for a buffet breakfast, that's not bad value. The breakfast had a good choice, however not the best I've eaten in a hotel. The quality wasn't as good as I was hoping so this is the one element I wouldn't personally recommend at the moment. However, with so many other options within very close distance of the hotel, this shouldn't be a factor to put you off.

All in all this was a great trip, and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kinetix63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have two boys that went to West Virginia University. We always stay at the Waterfront when we can get a room. It's a nice, modern, clean hotel with a great restaurant and bar. Very friendly, helpful staff. There's a parking garage too, which makes it easy to come/go. Access to a great running/walking/biking trail along side the river. I suggest that you make reservations as early as possible - the hotel will be completely booked during WVU game weekends and other events.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the river if you can to take in the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommymacdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGM, General Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for the kind remarks regarding your recent stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future. The Waterfront Place Hotel is a very busy place during football season and with the BIG 12 schedule this year there has been a lot of interest from fans across the country. Should make for a great season! Thank you again.

Daniel Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed at the Waterfront Place Hotel for two nights this weekend. The room had a horrible smell like smoke that hit you as soon as you entered the room.
My friend had the same problem with her room.
The rug was covered with stains.
I was in a room that adjoined another room, with a door that separated the two rooms. I could hear the guests in the other room.
I called down to housekeeping for extra blankets and had to call twice to receive extra blankets.
I would not stay here again.
The room was large and spacious, the bed was comfortable.
The hotel did not offer breakfast as part of our room stay.
Another friend stayed at SpringHill Suites and they were much happier with their location and their rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfrontGM, General Manager at Waterfront Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
The Waterfront Place Hotel sincerely apologizes for the issues you experienced during your stay and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide and we will certainly use your comments to address all areas listed. We can only get better when our guests let us know what they are experiencing and we thank you.

Daniel Watts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest Corner, Connecticut
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Waterfront Place for two nights recently, while visiting relatives in Morgantown. Because the price was not particularly high by the standards of hotels in other parts of the country we opted to upgrade to the concierge level -- floor 11. The room was very spacious and, since we have one at home, that the bed was a Sleep Number was much appreciated. The bathroom was equally large. Both were very well maintained. We had a view of the Monongahela River, though, frankly, given its rather grungy color, I'm not sure it's fair to list the view as an asset. I read an earlier review complaining that the room had no refrigerator. Ours did. Ice was easy to fetch. The lounge had lots of free water and soda (both regular and diet). There wasn't, as another review complained, any free liquor. I don't know. I guess I wonder why anyone would expect it. The free breakfast was limited to cereal, yoghurt,bagels, pastries and various breakfast bars, along with coffee and apples. Not grand, but perfectly sufficient in very pleasant surroundings. The food in the hotel's restaurant was quite good, and the drinks there a more than decent price. The wine list was another good value.

My highest praise, though, has to go to the staff, all of whom were extraordinarily pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Absolutely opt for the concierge level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RevL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
512 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

With the graduation, this is the week-end the hotel reacjes its full capacity. It is a full hous eand service is kind of difficult. The rooms are done quickly in the morning (we were there 3 nights). It does not happen ofet m that you have to call the desk to get soap at $300/night. Maybe having additional poeple to do the cleaning pf the rooms would help during that "buzy" week-end.

Room Tip: We all know it is because of this buzy week-end bu th ehotel must do something next year to improve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxidouNoiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

After reading the reviews was skeptical but after my stay I can say I was pleased with my choice to stay at this hotel. I did have a few small problems but they were taken care of immediately by Dan the manager and Toni the housekeeper. I was impressed with the staff from the valet service when you first arrived, then it just got better the front desk staff was just as nice and accomodating. Ordered room service, within less than 30 minutes it was delivered, the cheese steak egg rolls were definitely five star. A friend of mine parked in the parking garage and when paying for his parking ticket he left a bank envelope of money on top of the machine, I am happy to say that Jim the parking garage attendant returned it back to me. There are still honest hard working people left in the world.The location to downtown High street was perfect for a night out.Overall this hotel has great staff who are dedicated to their guests and I had a pleasant stay. There are a few things that they could improve on but I think that Dan the manager and Toni the housekeeper manager will see to that. I travel alot and stay in all kinds of hotels from 3 star to 5 star and this property is on its way to five start status with only a few minor housekeeping problems, there staff is already 5 star and I am looking forward to staying at this hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 7th floor, room 709 had a great view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.6 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Place Hotel

Property: Waterfront Place Hotel
Address: 2 Waterfront Pl, Morgantown, WV 26501-5954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Morgantown
#4 Family Hotel in Morgantown
#5 Business Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Place Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Waterfront Place Hotel, overlooking the picturesque Monongahela River in Morgantown, West Virginia. This beautiful, full-service Wharf District hotel boasts 205 well-appointed guest rooms and suites with an abundance of amenities, making this premier waterfront hotel perfect for business and leisure travelers alike. Guests enjoy luxurious bedding, free high speed wireless Internet, a beautiful indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, on-site dining, availability of spa services, room service, flat screen televisions, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Waterfront Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Place Morgantown
Hotel Waterfront Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing