We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, Style and Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Morgantown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Manor Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Morgantown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have stayed twice at the Lake Manor B&B and will return whenever we are in the area. One could spend enjoyable time each day (and I have!) just looking at the art work and antique pieces that adorn the walls and halls. Each room is meticulously appointed around a theme, transporting you in mind away from the stress of life and into the peace of the chosen locale. We have been fortunate to stay in the Esquire Suite which has its own outdoor yard complete with BBQ grill and Hot Tub.
The bed is memory foam with high quality sheets and an abundance of pillows. The room is large enough to house a sitting area with flat screen TV, a very large desk, dresser and armoire. Plush terry cloth robes are provided. No sound from anywhere could be heard inside that room.
Kathy is a superb host, encouraging one to feel at home and utilize the facility's sitting areas inside and out. It is her home and she would like you to feel it is your home, too, while you are there. Always ready with suggestions for entertainment or directions to a spot, she obviously loves Morgantown and does her best to make sure that her guest's experiences are positive. A lovely deck overlooking the garden and gazebo is an enjoyable place for a delicious breakfast prepared to order by Chef Mike. While there, allow Mike to prepare dinner for you also. You will not find better food in any restaurant nearby. He even packed us a lunch of wraps for our day out enjoying the wonders of Coopers Rock State Park.
We were pleased to be outside of Morgantown proper but easily within striking distance of all the attractions. Cheat Lake is right down the road, Coopers Rock is 1 exit east and the Botanical Gardens are in town by the college. Frank Lloyd Wright's famous home, Falling Water, is only 45 minutes away. Being just out of town and with a private parking area behind the Inn, one feels very safe.
Book a night or a week, but plan to relax and enjoy all that Lake Manor has to offer in comfort, friendliness and fine dining.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D. M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 40 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were looking for a place close to home to get away and stumbled upon the Lake Manor. I was a little bit worried by a few of the reviews but most have been favorable and the photos looked so interesting that we had to give a try. What a beautiful place. The rooms are nicely decorated and very charming. Every room has it's own bathroom which provides nice privacy. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food is great - they have their own chef! The grounds are very pretty and the deck is relaxing to sit on in the morning. I would recommend this place for anyone looking to get away and relax. There are 2 conference rooms that look like a great place for our Christmas party this year. Can't wait to see how it is decorated during the holidays.

Room Tip: 2 of the rooms have 3 beds, great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WShip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped here for one night when driving from NYC to Kentucky for a Derby weekend. It was an excellent choice for our stopover. The house is gracious and the folks who run it are fabulous. We had the Esquire room which is enormous and very well appointed. Good desk, free wifi, digital cable TV and a very comfortable large bed. We only ate breakfast here,which was very good, and I suspect dinner would be a fun experience. Location is a little out of Morgantown but that actually suited us well. Our stop here really enhanced our trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Probably a better conference center than a B&B. Reminded me of many hotels is Europe - very close to an extremely noisy and busy road (day and night). Individual rooms do not have thermostats and there were no screens on the windows. There were no drinking glasses in the rooms and less than one linen item per person (washcloth, hand towel or towel). The entrance is from the rear and through the kitchen where at evening's end- breakfast dishes, pots & pans remained piled in the sink and dried waffle mix covered the countertop. The proprietors are friendly and courteous. Ample off street parking is available in the rear. Breakfast portions are generous, tasty and well presented. A request for "whole milk" resulted in a trip by the chef to a local convenience store.

Room Tip: "Suite"s on the rear of the property might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIDSDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We joined college friends from all over the country for a football weekend, therefore we had every room rented in this outstanding B & B. The rooms were incredible with impressive décor and ample space. Flat Screens in every room, outside decking and tented "wedding" area. The chef, Mike, has constructed an industrial kitchen and the breakfasts were amazing. He is open to fixing dinner--which he did, but he let one of our party make the sauce and even loaned him his chef jacket. The owner, Kathy, is an incredible host. Customer service out the wazoo and really so genuine and fun. Nearby Cheat Lake and Coopers Rock State Forest provided the amusement and the B & B is very close to the stadium. Can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: For families--choose the jungle room. Three beds and a nice curtain divider. For romance choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourismgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at this B&B with our two kids (15 and 11 years old). My wife and I have not been to a B&B since they were born since we could never be accommodated with 4 people in our party. This place is great since there are two rooms that can sleep 4 people with no problem! We had a queen bed while our kids slept in full beds. I believe that they told us that the place was recently renovated within the past year.
Let's start with the room. The rooms are large and well-appointed. The owner knows a good bit about interior design. The room and bathroom are also very clean. The beds are super comfortable with very nice bed sheets. Free wifi is a plus.
The breakfast was amazing. They treat you like royalty. If you leave here hungry, it's your own fault. They started us off with fresh fruit (watermelon, cantaloupe, strawberries, grapes pineapple and kiwi) served with mint sprigs. This course was followed by a freshly baked zucchini bread served hot in the bread pan. My kids had omelets while my wife and I had two eggs over easy. The breakfast came with a plate full of nicely cooked bacon and home fries cooked truffle oil. It was outstanding! The chef came and sat us toward the end of breakfast and of his passion for food and cooking. He once owned his own restaurant and catering. He was really nice.
Before we left, the owner gave us a tour of the entire inn. She put a lot of thought into everything she did in the place. We also received a tour of the kitchen (which is in the converted garage outside). It was a professional kitchen that was very clean. Lastly, we had a tour of the gardens, gazebo and wedding tent.
Maybe it was because we were the only people staying that weekend, but I think not. These people are genuine and care about what they are doing. They are about you as a guest.
We will be back!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Penn-Virginian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We have stayed at Lake Manor several times and most recently over graduation weekend. We had 7 people with us and stayed in 2 rooms (across the hall from each other). We had plenty of room and it was nice to relax in the room between events. The food is excellent and part of the charm of Lake Manor is the breakfast set-up. All the guests gather around one table. Everyone is talking and laughing. Mimosa's are always on the menu! Mike is a great addition to the staff and sent us off on graduation day with a snack pack. I will miss Kathy and the entire Lake Manor Staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kstratton73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.0 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
124 reviews
7.8 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
7.2 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#13 of 24 in Morgantown
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
7.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
242 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Manor Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Manor Bed & Breakfast

Address: 475 Fairchance Rd, Morgantown, WV 26508-2615
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Morgantown
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing