We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very functional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Morgantown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Prairie, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Very functional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Made a 2-night stay in Morgantown for business related to WVU. From the outside, the hotel looks at least 30 year old. On the inside, it has gone through obvious recent renovations in the lobby and breakfast lounge areas. Room was clean and comfortable. My standard room had a mini fridge and microwave, though I had no use for either. The desk/work area was about as practical I've seen in some time - a large comfortable space with electrical outlets above the desk and within easy reach, plus overhead lighting, all part of an adjoining closet/hutch. My request for a king bed but two queens was all that was available, and the size of the queen sufficed for myself, I was traveling alone.
I was impressed by the breakfast layout - all "free", or included in the price of the room. I had it two mornings and the second morning did not provide the exact same offerings as the day before. I think one morning the hot dish was an omlette and link sausage, the next it was scrambled eggs and sausage patties. Yes - powdered eggs, the standard fare, but the effort at variety was appreciated.
Directly next door to the Hampton is an Applebee's, which came in handy one night for a few late-night adult beverages, then again the next night for a late-night snack. Nice that it's an easy walk across the parking lot.
It's not 5-star by any means, but a friendly staff, a clean place, and I'd be happy to come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. At the Hampton Inn Morgantown we try very hard to make every guest feel welcome and provide a clean comfortable room and facility. If you come see us again please make sure I get a chance to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    144
    64
    33
    19
See reviews for
180
95
40
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We recently stopped at Hampton Inn in Morgantown, and used our Hilton Honors points for a free night. The room was clean, the front desk girl friendly and the bed was comfy. We had traveled 12 hours, so were in bed at 9:30, but jarred awake at 11:30 by a slamming door. At 3:30 a.m. we were awakened again by very loud talking and laughing in the hallway.
We had another long day of traveling ahead of us, so we arrived for breakfast at the stated time of 6:00 a.m. only to be told the breakfast hostess hadn't arrived, and there would be no breakfast available for another 1/2 hour. Not a really good start to our day - too bad we wasted our Honors points at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nannyOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about your experience at our Hampton Inn. I try hard to meet as many of our guests as possible and feel bad I was not able to speak with you during your stay. As you know at Hampton Inn we stand by our product and service by guaranteeing your satisfaction. Please feel free to contact me to discuss how we can better satisfy you during your next visit to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were hoping for a clean, hospitable site and were let down. Rug not vacuumed. toothpaste spit on bathroom door and mirror. small rooms that were overpriced. Heavy room doors that slam very loudly. alarm clock did not work. Continental breakfast promised but not provided. Hot room and loud rattly air conditioner. Rude staff. Far from highway - not worth extra drive!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KCgroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
I wish to apologize for your recent experience at my hotel. I am sorry that I did not hear from you during your stay. As you know at Hampton Inn your Satisfaction is 100% Guaranteed and if you are not satisfied we do not expect you to pay. If you wish to contact me I would be very happy to see that you are 100% Satisfied with how, we at Hampton take care of all of our valued guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

An older, somewhat run down property on the edge of the WVU campus. Rooms are small and only moderately clean. Would not stay there again. Not what i expected of a HI.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beefdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hampton Inn. We truly appreciate all the feedback we get from our guests. I feel bad you did not get our cookies, the staff here enjoys making cookies so much they make them almost any time day or night. Please come see us again and we will be sure to have warm cookies delivered to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

I came to this hotel due its close vicinity to WVU Evansdale campus. The cab driver from the airport did not know where it was, and he has to call later to find out the exact location. The room is quite small, but kept clean and neat. The complimentary breakfast was good and sufficient. I have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone who wants a clean and convenient hotel close to WVU Evansdale campus. It takes about 15 mins to walk to the campus.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiantraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our Hampton Inn. We enjoy reading comments from someone visiting Morgantown and WVU for the first time. I hope when you return to Morgantown you will stop and introduce yourself, I always enjoy meeting our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

We recently stayed, for one night, at the Morgantown, WV, Hampton Inn. This was a decent hotel. Clean, recently updated, and a good "free" breakfast selection.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goingbeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Morgantown. We strive to make sure every room is clean and comfortable and that you have a memorable experience. Thank you for letting us share that experience with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I came to this hotel on business, as what 80% of my hotel stays are. Hotel is located right in the heart of WVU, which is great for those traveling for reasons to deal with the university. This hotel was slightly difficult to find, but it is by no means hidden. Upon check-in, I was a little disappointed that I did not receive the usual treatments I do for being a diamond Hilton Honors member. Check in clerk was rather pushy, and I did feel rushed. Both hotel elevators make some pretty disturbing clunking sounds, and make you slightly nervous. My room was the typical updated Hampton decor, however the 3 dead stink bugs on the floor made me raise an eyebrow. Walls are slightly damage and cracking, and some parts of the room look like it had a few too many college parties. There was at least a 1 inch gap under the bottom of the door, anyone who wanted to get on their hands and knees to look in, clearly could. There was an awful squeaking noise coming from the ceiling and being that I was on the top floor I’m assuming it was a piece of roof equipment. However if you are the type who is a light sleeper, it can easily keep you awake at night. One of the mornings, my newspaper that is supposed to be on the door was nowhere to be found.

Breakfast is par for the course with every other Hampton, and was well stocked.

I am a frequent visitor to Hampton Hotels all over the country, and this is the first time I felt compelled to make a review about one. It just isn’t what you expect for the money you pay, and the Hampton name.

Slightly different management approaches and some housekeeping quality control may make a world of difference.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harliqu1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G, General Manager at Hampton Inn Morgantown, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
I just want to take a moment and apologize for your recent experience at the Hampton Inn Morgantown. I would like to let you know how sorry I am that I was not aware of your concerns sooner. Please feel free to contact me on your next trip to Morgantown so that I and my staff can show you that your experience was the exception and not the rule. As you are aware at Hampton your Satisfaction is 100% Guaranteed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
2.0 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
2.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
0.4 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Morgantown

Property: Hampton Inn Morgantown
Address: 1053 Van Voorhis Road, Morgantown, WV 26505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Morgantown
#7 Family Hotel in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Morgantown is conveniently located next to the Evansdale Campus of WVU. We are just minutes away from sporting events, major medical facilities and entertainment venues. All 107 of our guest rooms are newly renovated and feature Cloud 9 Bedding, 32' inch flat screen televisions, workstations with roll around desks, ergonomic desk chairs and lap desks for your comfort. Our additional amenities include free wireless, high-speed internet access, complimentary breakfast daily 6:00AM-10:00AM, 24 hour business center, and a brand new fitness facility! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing