We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Dirty, Poorly Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed May 11, 2014

OK, not my choice to spend my weekend, but I had to attend the WVU graduation this May. First off, $240 a night with AAA is a bit steep, but it is a college town and it was graduation weekend. Well this hotel isn't worth the $40 of that room rate. Generally the hotel is run down. In need of a complete overhaul. We had a two queen bed room on the 2nd floor. The room appeared to be clean, but had a musty smell to it. Finally got the A/C to work and the freshened up the place a bit. The elevator needs work. It is old, slow and a disaster waiting to happen. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel just because I was running late. My wife and kid did and said it was typical HIE. Now the beds... THAT WAS THE WORST BED I have ever had in a hotel. It was worn out 10 years ago when it was installed.

-- Benefits -- A bunch of outdoor 120V outlets for charging your Electric Vehicle or plugging in a block heater in the winter. Close to shopping, restaurants, etc... Friendly front desk staff. Alexis was VERY HELPFUL.

-- Drawbacks -- Dirty, Poor Furnishings, needs paint work, pool work, elevator work and probably a change in corporate flags will be in order soon. OVER PRICED TOO... They suck you in cuz it is in a college town and they know they gotcha...

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Paul_da_Bulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Paul_da_Bulldog,

Thank you for your review and being so detailed in the good, and the opportunities to work on. I am happy to know that you were pleased with our staff and amenities.

You have identified issues in regard to the room and overall condition of the hotel. With that, I apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. As our valued guest, we thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to serving you again in your future travels.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 132 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was the worst hotel experience I've ever had. My room was right behind the front desk so it was especially noisy. Every time someone in the next room or the room above me used water, it sounded like someone was beating my door with a leather strap. The laundry room was right across the hall so there was activity all night long with the door open. I had warm but no hot water. And I had to turn the AC down to 60 to get the room comfortable enough to even keep from sweating. It was so miserable and loud the whole night. I told the front desk and they said they would look into it but offered no compassion. I was there for business and have stayed there before with no problem, but I probably will not stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Lecia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Lecia A,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take comments like this very seriously and we would like to follow up with you. I sent you a private message regarding your experience.

I look forward to your response and be of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

During my checkin on 4/9/14, I learned that no clean rooms were ready. But the young black lady (don't remember name) deeply apologized, allowed me use of the business center to take care of some computer work, provided me with an internet access number and promised to expedite the cleaning of a room. Once the room was ready, she walked the keys over to me and with a smile apologized again. It gets better...
Later that evening, I had to send an important 23-page fax out; it had to be received that night in order to close a real estate contract. Alexis (correct name?) offered to send it out but there was a problem...it didn't initially connect. Because it kept giving her an error, she promised to keep trying until it went through and then drop the original off at my door. She did get it to go through while I was again in the lobby, but wasn't that so nice and professional of her to make all the extra attempts and to offer to drop off the original. I travel a great deal, stay in lots of hotels, but this experience was the nicest I can rember happening to me for many months. Those two ladies make up a strong team and I will always return to that hotel when I'm in the area as a result. Jack Hopwood

Room Tip: Many first floor rooms have accomodations for the handicapped so are roomier.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwhopwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

To start I am disabled and must walk with a cane, my wife and I had reservations for 2 nights( friday and saturday ) - on returning to our room sat. afternoon could not enter our room as the keycard did not work. Went to front desk were they fixed the cards with no apology. Sat. returned to at 12:00 am to find out of order taped to elevator, my room was on 2nd floor and stairs are very hard for me. The young man behind the counter worked on the elevator for one hour but could not get it to work so he said they would pay for a room at another hotel if one was available, the time now is 1:00 am. I turned it down and had to have his help to climb the 2 sets of stairs to get to my room with the king size bed in the shape of a fish bowl. When we checked out the next day not a word was said in apology for the night before. Very poor way to run a business. I will not stay at holiday in again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Greg W,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Morgantown. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Travelling across the whole of America staying in different hotels every night and this was one of my favourites. Lovely staff and the manager was incredibly helpful. Well recommended! Pool and gym were clean, as were the rooms and only a short walk to variety of restaurants.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank DanielMount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel!! Room was great and continental breakfast is more like a buffet!! James, the manager at checkout was very nice and helpful, even faxing for me! Hot tub and pool was a nice bonus!! You won't be disappointed here!!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank nhiwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Pros - Breakfast, Indoor pool,bed was awesome!! - memory foam lovers rejoice, free internet and premium cable.

Cons - a little noisy as we were by the elevator. Smoky smell on our non-smoking floor hallway. Did not bother me but may bother others.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
5.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
4.0 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Morgantown
Hampton Inn Morgantown
#4 of 25 in Morgantown
530 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
656 reviews
2.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#8 of 25 in Morgantown
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Morgantown

Address: 605 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-7305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $105 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Morgantown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Morgantown. We are a 68 room hotel that features many amenities such as a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, indoor pool, spa and exercise facility along with meeting space for 40 classroom style or 60 theatre style. All rooms are accessed through interior corridors and feature a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, two-line speakerphone with data port, hair dryer, iron and ironing board and free high speed wireless Internet access. An elevator is available for access on upper floors. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel is conveniently located on I-68, exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport) or from I-79, Exit 148 (I-68 East/Cumberland), exit 7 (Peirpont Rd/Airport). Stay with us and our friendly staff will make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown Hotel Morgantown
Holiday Inn Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing