We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian food in Morgantown”
Review of Mother India

Mother India
Ranked #91 of 289 Restaurants in Morgantown
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in Morgantown”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Aloo matar is outstanding, as is the palak paneer. Tandoori chicken tends to be a bit overcooked, but the tikka is outstanding. Can get a bit claustrophobic around the buffet when it's crowded--would love a bit more space there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank drussellbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Indian bliss”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The lunch buffet is a good value and always consistent. They have the best Malaya Kofta, period. Coworkers from India say it's Americanized, but they still eat there more often than I do... Staff is wonderful and flavors pop.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missinmyjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful service”
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Staff here is GREAT. The menu has plenty of options. I prefer the lunch buffet so you don't have to choose just one option.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A good find on south-side Mo-town.”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Best aspects: genuine Indian cuisine with a wide selection of appetizers.
Worst: Server acted as though we had killed his best friend.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank rugbyref1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Second best Indian meal in America”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This was the second best Indian meal I have had in the US. Some (most?) have been chronic and some have been merely OK. This ran the meal I had in Frederick MD a few years ago a close second. The veggie selection was very good even though I took the owner's recommendation in the end. I would recommend this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jb012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother India also viewed

 

Been to Mother India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing