We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably good wine store with exceptional staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forks of Cheat Winery

Forks of Cheat Winery
Ranked #3 of 34 things to do in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Reasonably good wine store with exceptional staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a small, rural, winery. They do have a reasonably wide variety of wines that are available for tasting. The lady in charge is extremely pleasant and helpful - for the wine, the gift shop and even directions to your next place. This is an exceptionally good place to get fruit wines. Although they do have dessert wines, they do not offer late harvest wines. A good place to visit if you enjoy a variety of wines.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank exauctioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We're so glad you had a good experience here at the winery and hope you'll stop by again soon! Don't forget to 'like' us on Facebook and join our mailing list at the website so we can keep you up to date with all the latest Forks of Cheat Winery news!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    10
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

offered the opportunity to taste several different wines, gentleman was very social. Have been to many different wineries and this rates with the better ones because of the staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank batboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for stopping by! We'll pass along your kind review to Bob! Make sure to visit us again next time you're in the area!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
396 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Many Fruit Wines”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our first visit to the winery. We live in the Northern Virginia wine country and were surprised to see that wineries were opening up in West Virginia. The winery is small with an outdoor seating area. The wine shop has a large variety of food products and other things. We tasted several of the wines, which were just ok. They have many fruit wines, but we aren't into sweet wines. The people there were nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We're proud to be part of a growing West Virginia Wine Industry which is getting bigger all the time. We hope that next time you're through you'll have time to stop again and check out some of our more traditional, grape based wines as well. Make sure you try some of our distilled spirits too!
Have a great day,
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wine and spirits”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We looked up the winery after buying a bottle of their sweet red for a picnic. For a sweet wine lover, it's an excellent place to go. Interestingly, for a small winery in a rural area in the middle of the week in September, it was amazingly busy. While we were there buying a case of the same wine we had for our picnic, there was a couple from California (the state, not the town in PA), a lady from New Mexico and 4 or 5 other customers popping in. I got to try their sweet catawba, called BAD CAT and bought a few bottles of that also. They had sweet white wine, but I prefer the reds and rose's, so I didn't try it. I did try their Chocolate wine. It was actually a combination of dark chocolate with their sweet red. It actually tasted like a tootsie roll dipped in a cherry coke. It would be great as a dessert wine, but a little would go a long way. I didn't try their fruit wines or their distilled liquers, but would have liked to try their apple pie moonshine and their apple jack, but they were bottled in larger jugs and I only wanted to try a smaller one.

For you dry wine lovers, they had 3 that the lady from New Mexico approved of, so a trip here wouldn't be wasted for any wine lover.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank liv4bks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit! One of our goals is to have a little something for everyone. Remember to "like" us on Facebook and join our mailing list at the website to keep up to date with all the latest news.
Hope to see you again soon!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orwell, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stopped in on our way thru. I loved every sample I tried and had a very hard time making my pick to purchase. If you like the sweet fruity wines....this is a must stop for you! and if you live close to Orwell, Ohio...bring me a bottle of the Pear !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pamsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WVaTravels, Guest Relations Manager at Forks of Cheat Winery, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon. Remember, we can ship directly to you in Ohio! Just give us a call and we can make sure you never run out!
Have a great day!
Ivy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forks of Cheat Winery also viewed

 

Been to Forks of Cheat Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing