We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money, plus friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Rising Sun, Maryland
Level Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Great value for the money, plus friendly staff.”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Went to this hotel to spend a total of 6 weeks excluding weekends, for contract work. This hotel is popular for other contractors as well, as it is clean, reasonably priced for long term stays. The staff is friendly, and the food is good, and fairly priced.

The breakfast is part of the room price, its hot, good tasting, and all you care to eat. The waitstaff is friendly and personable.
It's a great place to stay if you aren't expecting a brand new hotel, but instead expecting consistantly good clean rooms, friendly staff, and quet surroundings.
The pool, fitness center, and common areas were clean. For the age of the building, it is well cared for.

During the course of my stay, I made a number of special requests from the desk manager, and each of them was cheerfully fulfilled. Yes, would definately stay there again.

Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KSWilson24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    153
    155
    136
    86
See reviews for
250
112
43
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Felt like we were taking a step back in time to 50 years ago, which isn't the worst thing in the world considering that the hotel was clean and elegant looking. The only thing near the hotel is a wal-mart with a subway (sandwiches) in it a few minutes away otherwise you have to drive miles. So we ate at the hotel for both dinner and the complimentary breakfast. Dinner was fantastic - elegant feel, and great food and service. Room needed to be stripped of outdated and very old fashioned wall paper and bed was pretty hard

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryans_Mommy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Ok so we had to stay here on our trip back from Orlando to Toronto… all the other surrounding hotels in nearby towns were fully booked due to an Oil and Gas convention?

Anyways, I’ll keep this review as short and thorough as possible.

The hotel looked good, if you squinted a little and ignored the musty smell.

It had a really nice grand looking lobby, but the hotel is very outdated and could use some renovations.

The staff is not very friendly. I don’t want to say rude… so I’ll just say ‘not very friendly’.

At check in, it took the girl at reception about 15 min typing away at her computer to check us in? Not sure why but that doesn’t affect my review.. my review is mostly based on the actual hotel.

The carpet in the rooms were stained and so were the comforters. I did not feel like it was the cleanest hotel due to the musty, dingy smell. Did I mention that this hotel is in serious need of renovations? I think that it was probably a 5 star back in the 70s (was this hotel around in the 70s? If not, the wallpaper and décor sure was!)

And someone tell me, why are the countertops in the bathroom a bright yellow? And why are there heat lamps in the bathrooms? Oh yeah, probably because this hotel was built way back when and no renos have been made.

The bathroom smelled like urine. The same smell from those stairwells at underground parking lots… yes the exact same smell. So that is why I did not feel ‘clean’ in the hotel room or the bathroom. Ew.

However, the view outside is beautiful! And the breakfast the next morning was really good… bacon, eggs, biscuits, sausages.. coffee.. a pretty hearty breakfast compared to other breakfasts offered at other hotels.

This was not the worst hotel stay, but it certainly was not the best. The hotel has potential, honestly just some renos and perhaps some customer service training and I think this hotel could turn into a 3 or 3 ½ star easily.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NStriplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

west virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Thought the room was OK but a little run down. The bathrooms are small. Considering some of the other hotels in Morgantown, it was nice for a WVU football weekend. Staff was friendly and i liked its location. I didn't care for the comedy show they have at the bar in the hotel. The comedians were ok but thats not what was wrong. They were heavily under staffed and the place is too small. We wated almost an hour for a drink and the guy runnung the show seemed to be confused when he tried to seat us. Either seat everyone or no one at all. It was not organized at all. I've been to the shows at the Charelston Ramada and they are nothing alike. You can actually enjoy the show in Charelston. Plus there was too much smoke in the room. I don't mind smoking but put in an exaust fan. Again, nice place to stay just stay away from the hillbilly comedy show(this coming from a west virginian who lives in rural wv).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeproc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed at the Ramada Inn for my niece's graduation from WVU. My sister picked the hotel and had stayed there before. I was skeptical based on the photos and reviews here and saw other hotels in the area that were more appealing, but I was over-ruled.

I'm not accustomed to staying in old, shabby hotels. It was clean, quiet and no one bothered us, but I prefer something a little more upscale. Also, there was no valet to park the car, no one to take my luggage to my room, etc. These are things I expect for $150/night in WV.

We had dinner in the restaurant and although the food was good, nothing was hot. The free breakfast was just ok. Also, room service is only available when the restaurant is open...why bother??

If cleanliness is your only concern, I would definitely recommend the Ramada. But if you want something a little more upscale or updated, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Posada20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

We stayed here during Christmas week for a couple nights. This seemed to be about the best hotel in the area, and the price couldn't be beat. We came in with low expectations, given the fact that it's Morgantown. We were delightfully surprised. The staff was really friendly, and welcomed my dog upon our arrival. We got a room on the second floor. The room was pretty big, and clean. The bathroom was dated (amusingly so), but still nice and clean. No mold or mildew. Service at the restaurant--free breakfast!--was great, the server was very nice to us on Christmas morning. She talked with us about her family, and what they were planning for the afternoon--very personable.

About the only complaint I would have about this hotel is the pillows. They feel like sleeping on bags of flour. It was pretty uncomfortable, but we dealt with it.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — It's in Morgantown
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Adequate, nothing more. Peeling wallpaper in room, scratchy bedding with some holes, dark, etc. Hidden charge for pets (they take away any room discounts, even though those discounts are nationally advertised and recognized.). Not the greatest place to stay. Good breakfast though, with very friendly efficient restaurant staff.

  • Liked — food service
  • Disliked — room pricing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sugarhill4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
46 reviews
2.5 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#3 of 24 in Morgantown
115 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
255 reviews
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 20 Scott Ave, Morgantown, WV 26508-8853
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wyndham, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Morgantown Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Hotel Morgantown
Ramada Inn Morgantown
Ramada Morgantown
Morgantown Ramada
Ramada Inn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing