We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Avon, CT
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A delightful stay”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you love history and ambience, this is the hotel for you. The lobby is reminiscent of the grand hotels of the 1920's with a beautiful crystal chandelier and warm wood paneling. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The hotel is well situated for easy walking to the numerous local restaurants and shops in the area. There is an audio walking tour of the historic downtown available from the hotel which we most unfortunately had no time for on this visit. Breakfast is included in a small dining room on the second floor - not fancy but adequate. We would definitely make this our hotel of choice on future visits.

Room Tip: Stay on the 5th to higher floors for great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    48
    25
    7
See reviews for
68
55
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DuBois, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of places in and around Morgantown, and this will definitely be where I plan to stay from now on. The price is about the same as the hotels out in the moonscape strip malls on the edge of town, but the Hotel Morgan is a short walk from everything in the downtown area, has nice rooms, and the amenities of a downtown hotel i.e. a nice bar and a coffee shop. Also had a restaurant on the upper floors (with an outdoor area!) but I did not eat there. It smelled good though.

There were some negatives: 1) the parking lot is a little bit of a walk, but not far enough that I thought it was a big deal 2) it is a 'choice hotel' so the soap is the same as their other places (i.e. like showering with a bar of lye) 3) the decor of the continental breakfast room was like eating in a Walgreens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabulodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is an excellent hotel located right downtown in Morgantown. I am partial to the historic ambiance of the place. They have a good steak house restaurant on the top floor and a nice lounge in the lobby. The staff are lovely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Well, we had no idea the Hotel Morgan was going to be as nice as it ended up being. We have stayed in other hotels in Morgantown, but none as nice, or as professionally run as the Hotel Morgan. The staff and hotel were outstanding, and reminded us of a mini version of the The Excelsior in Rome. The charm and old world elegance, just blew us away. Yet all the modern conveniences we needed were present, Free Wi-Fi, Workout Room, Continental Breakfast, etc. Great location, great service, again, very elegant, we will definately book again. Thank you Hotel Morgan...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here. I rarely get days off due to my career, and my boyfriend wanted to treat me. what a great treat! the hotel was aesthetically beautiful! the front desk staff, so welcoming the entire stay! Our room was big and nice and taken care of. it was the perfect calming, romantic days off. the restaurant_how delicious! the easier was so , and food delicious! I felt completely spoiled, thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was a repeat customer; the total money spent for the time I've stayed in the last six months is pretty close to two grand and the last time was during labor day weekend for a total of $592 for the stay. The front desk service was terrible and I was so angry for being treated as insignificant, I will NEVER stay with this hotel again.

Management made it clear that the hotel's priorities lie with the new patrons coming in. I had to wait for room service (toilet paper and towels) until 4:30pm. When you can't shower or use the toilet until the evening, your entire day is wasted. Nothing was offered as a compromise. Management promised to personally deliver the items to the room. She did not, nor did the correct amount of towels I asked for ever make it to the room. I had to flag down housekeeping to change the sheets at 5pm. The housekeeper was very polite and helpful. I wish management and the front desk had been. Even so, I was unable to shower until 5:30. Instead of offering us a free late check-out, we were told we'd be charged an extra half-day for anything past noon. Considering that we'd lost half a day waiting around on them, you'd think they'd be more understanding.

Don't waste your money here. If you want to stay down town, go to the Waterfront instead where they clean the rooms twice a day and the front desk doesn't give you ridiculous excuses for why your stay isn't important to them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick,Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

While visiting WVU, we thought we'd try the Hotel Morgan because it was situated downtown. What a nice surprise!

It is a classy older hotel, but our room was really nice and the bathroom was very modern and clean. Even the shower had great water pressure.

There was a wedding party going on while we stayed, but our room was very quiet.

With the rates being better than most other hotels in Morgantown, I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Morgantown.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RRSAMIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Morgantown
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
1.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 25 in Morgantown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 25 in Morgantown
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
645 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Morgan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Morgan

Property: Clarion Hotel Morgan
Address: 127 High St, Morgantown, WV 26505-5412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Morgan 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Morgan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Morgantown
Clarion Morgantown
Morgantown Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing