We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not totally happy.”
Review of Super 8 Morgantown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Morgantown
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I found trash in beddiing as if the linen was not changed. Plastic wrap that may have been an
empty drug packet that was deffinately not ours! Also blood on my pillowcase that was not mine. Breaskfast bar could be improved, very cheaply done for the price of our room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank NayaDTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 432 of 462 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

upon check in got lost for lack of street signs the guy was nice an all but never the less when we got to the room smelt very bad ( old sour food smell) the blankets were burnt 15 different places so i called the front desk an told the guy about it he says oh yea i know weused to have smoking ooms but we dont any more.I mean come on did i just hear you correctly that night i go looking for vending mach. couldnt find not a one so i ask the desk clerk he says yea i know theve been emty for a while not to mention the tvha maybe 12 chanells and the guide says around 30,had to plug the shower with a wash rag all this while spending $150.00 are you serious!

Room Tip: none! that i can think of here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimkirb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After reading the reviews, I reluctantly reserved a room here because there wasn't much else available on a game weekend. It was a mixed bag. The room was fine. None of the weird odors others mentioned. Overall, the building was kind of in disrepair. The carpet on the elevator was nasty, but I didn't sleep there, so I didn't really care. The continental breakfast was kind of skimpy, but acceptable. If you want a big breakfast, there is an IHOP nearby. In summary, not the greatest, but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wvtraveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

As a quick overnight stay, I chose to stay at the Super 8 which had charged $109 per night. Though the service was friendly, the hotel didn't have any zeal but had a GREAT location within a plaza with a grocery store, several restaurants and many stores to miscellaneously shop.

Also, though the signs say "NO SMOKING" of which I truly appreciate due to asthma... you can definitely tell that my room was clearly a smoking room at one point in time. The funk still remained in an overly flower scented room that lacked removing the stale smoke from it.

I would choose another hotel first, before I stayed here again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slk1692
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

What a malfunction in service! This is an example of how NOT to run a hotel....though the run was clean, it:

**smelled of urine and some other indescribable oder
**the toilet had someone else 'left overs' in it
**the toilet ran constantly
**Mold in the bathroom
**the internet was broken
**TV didn't work
**the vending machine was empty
**they had no quarters available to purchase for the washer and dryer ($1.50 each)
**something ran all night long that vibrated and rumbled loudly

Additionally, they said they were out of regular rooms, and had to put me in a business suite and charge me more to do so.............it was a regular room.

Unable to work, due to the lack of internet, and no TV, I went to bed only to be awakened at 1 AM by a pounding on the door. IT was the hotel staff wanting to see if the room was occupied. WHAT!!!

I left the next more tired than when I arrived..........they did reduce the price $10 after I complained.

I would not have stayed here, but I was driving cross country and got caught in a bad storm just after dark. Not wanting to drive on strange, winding roads in those conditions, I stopped here. Bad mistake. The "Bates Motel' might have been a better choice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were put in a room that used to be smoking and carpets and draperies smelled heavy of smoke. Carpeting worn, dirty looking. Room was clean, but this place is in need of some new comforters. It seems to have gone downhill in the last few years we have stayed there. Never again. Okay for a cheaper place to rest your head.

Room Tip: Third floor used to be a smoking floor so if you don't want the smell ask for another floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allandra35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I just called the place to ask for specific directions. The person who answered the phone had a very strong Indian accent. Not to say this is bad, but just to identify the person. She was soooo horribly rude, I told her because of her nasty attitude, I would not think of staying there. If the service from the front desk is horrible, trust me, this is an indication of the other service.
I am going to write the corporate office because this person does not need to be in the hotel business and looking at the other extremely negative comments, housekeeping is a major issue.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank jayjay208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
2.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#13 of 24 in Morgantown
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 24 in Morgantown
139 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
434 reviews
5.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Morgantown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Morgantown

Address: 603 Venture Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-7305
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Morgantown 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Morgantown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Super 8 Hotel Morgantown
Morgantown Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing