We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HORRIBLE HOTEL, HORRIBLE ROOM!”
Review of Morgantown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morgantown Motel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE HOTEL, HORRIBLE ROOM!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The room door never closed properly and a very cold wind was blowing outside, and now, inside also. Husband is handicapped and would have been way to hard to move to a different room. There were NO pillows on the beds; NO towels or washcloths in the bathroom. I called the front desk and someone finally brought them to us. Decided NOT to use the tub or shower as there was mold and mildew everywhere; even all over the shower head! The room was very deteriorated and old with wall socket covers missing and holes in walls and peeling paper all over. IT WAS ALL PRETTY DISGUSTING AND NASTY, but we had to get some sleep. The room heater was set as high as it would go...85 degrees, I think, but the room temp never got over the lower 60s. Also, and this probably goes without saying, the room smelled bad. Horrible hotel, horrible room....PERIOD!.... OH, did I say it was dirty?!

Room Tip: There are none. Wish I could have taken pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeaWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    10
    3
    15
See reviews for
8
3
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were bringing my daughter back to WVU to start her senior year. I have vacationed in WV my whole life and have stayed in many hotels. This is an embarrassment to WV. Morgantown should close this place down. There was no lock on the door, the sheets and towels were not clean and we found underwear under the bed. They were not cleaning or maintaining the rooms. If you are faced with with sleeping in your car or staying here, SLEEP IN YOUR CAR!!!

Room Tip: "You would be safer choosing to sleep in your car"
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny2wvtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Rumson, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2013

An employee walked in our room at 10:00pm, using a master key and not knocking. He didn't speak English. He motioned that he wanted a vacuum cleaner that was left in the room. The bathroom was filthy, with crud build-up along the fixtures, mold on the grout, and missing tiles on the shower wall. The carpets were badly stained. There were flying gnats in the sink. The TV didn't work. The next morning we had to ask for a second room. It was moderately cleaner, but stank of stale cigarettes. No soap, no shampoo, and just one towel---we had to ask for these items. The manager was surly and the front desk staff offered no apologies. There were no other rooms available in other hotels, so we were stuck. For the same price, go to Best Western. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff is friendly. This place is a dump and the health department should look into it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JNR77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ended up stranded in Morgantown late one night, and our tow truck driver dropped us off here. We paid $66 for a non-smoking room for one night, and ended up being awake the majority of the night due to the room being filled with cigarette smoke(we're both asthmatic); there were even cigarette burns on the bed sheets. There were kids running around the rooms well after midnight, with no supervision. There were gaps in the floor, and trash from previous guests left on the counters and in the drawers. The three ladies in the office were very nice when we checked in around midnight, but that was about the extent of enjoying anything during our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockchicren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the Morgantown motel and It was less than pleasurable!
The lovely young couple managing last year are gone and it has been taken over by a non English speaking couple who you DO NOT WANT TO HAVE TO TRY TO SPEAK TO!

-Good luck getting the new foreign managers to answer the doorbell OR speaking any English.
-They were RUDE!
-The rooms had bugs.
-Must be new housekeepers because the rooms were less than clean and the bed had HAIR in it.
-Guests looked like they were all on drugs. (Very scary!)

They need to burn this place to the ground and start over...in a new location.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeitsthebluelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked the Morgantown Hotel based on good reviews. After arriving at 11pm we rang the bell and there wasn't any answer after several tries. We had no choice but to go somewhere else. The next morning my husband went to the motel to make sure we weren't charged and let them know what happened. They said they know that the bell is not working and need to fix it. We would not be charged we were told as we hadn't even stayed. Well our Mastercard bill and you guessed it, we were charged. I called and they were frustrated that the mistake was made and promised we'd be refunded. After 3 months, nothing. So we've spoken in person and on the phone. I'll now try e-mailing them. If you won't be there before 8pm, don't book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was affordable and met our need for a place not far off our route. A decent shelter from the snow. I would have liked a rug or something as it was impossible to keep the floor clean (gross when going to the very basic bathroom -think gas station like, at night). I know it is cheap, and I would recommend it for a brief stay, staying it was the most "Spartan" room I have had for that price and I have traveled a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dailyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
2.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
3.8 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Motel

Property: Morgantown Motel
Address: 2 Smithtown Rd, Morgantown, WV 26508-3982
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Morgantown Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Morgantown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing