We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't go back” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgantown Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morgantown Motel
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ended up stranded in Morgantown late one night, and our tow truck driver dropped us off here. We paid $66 for a non-smoking room for one night, and ended up being awake the majority of the night due to the room being filled with cigarette smoke(we're both asthmatic); there were even cigarette burns on the bed sheets. There were kids running around the rooms well after midnight, with no supervision. There were gaps in the floor, and trash from previous guests left on the counters and in the drawers. The three ladies in the office were very nice when we checked in around midnight, but that was about the extent of enjoying anything during our stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockchicren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    9
    3
    14
See reviews for
8
3
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the Morgantown motel and It was less than pleasurable!
The lovely young couple managing last year are gone and it has been taken over by a non English speaking couple who you DO NOT WANT TO HAVE TO TRY TO SPEAK TO!

-Good luck getting the new foreign managers to answer the doorbell OR speaking any English.
-They were RUDE!
-The rooms had bugs.
-Must be new housekeepers because the rooms were less than clean and the bed had HAIR in it.
-Guests looked like they were all on drugs. (Very scary!)

They need to burn this place to the ground and start over...in a new location.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maybeitsthebluelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked the Morgantown Hotel based on good reviews. After arriving at 11pm we rang the bell and there wasn't any answer after several tries. We had no choice but to go somewhere else. The next morning my husband went to the motel to make sure we weren't charged and let them know what happened. They said they know that the bell is not working and need to fix it. We would not be charged we were told as we hadn't even stayed. Well our Mastercard bill and you guessed it, we were charged. I called and they were frustrated that the mistake was made and promised we'd be refunded. After 3 months, nothing. So we've spoken in person and on the phone. I'll now try e-mailing them. If you won't be there before 8pm, don't book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fabywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plainfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was affordable and met our need for a place not far off our route. A decent shelter from the snow. I would have liked a rug or something as it was impossible to keep the floor clean (gross when going to the very basic bathroom -think gas station like, at night). I know it is cheap, and I would recommend it for a brief stay, staying it was the most "Spartan" room I have had for that price and I have traveled a bit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dailyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We stopped overnight on our way to Florida. We were looking for a clean room that was moderately priced. This fit the bill. The room had been renovated, except the bathroom floor sloped. The front desk was extremely friendly and helpful, even late at night. The only drawback for us was it is located in town, not near the interstate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MargaritaR220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here looking for a quiet nights rest without getting taken to the bank. If you can get past the appearence the rooms are quite comfortable. Mine had a king size bed,microwave,fridge and cable. This is truley the best value in morgantown at 54.88 w/tax. Front desk had great customer service and was very pleasant to deal with. Rooms are currently getting facelifts.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B00GY101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed her one night when our car broke down near by while passing through. This place has great customer service and it was very clean!! The staff was super sweet and kind!Thank you for such a wonderful experiance!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#4 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
3.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#14 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Motel

Property: Morgantown Motel
Address: 2 Smithtown Road, Morgantown, WV 26508
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Morgantown Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Morgantown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing