We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the blue collar worker”
Review of Morgantown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Morgantown Motel
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here looking for a quiet nights rest without getting taken to the bank. If you can get past the appearence the rooms are quite comfortable. Mine had a king size bed,microwave,fridge and cable. This is truley the best value in morgantown at 54.88 w/tax. Front desk had great customer service and was very pleasant to deal with. Rooms are currently getting facelifts.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank B00GY101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 43 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed her one night when our car broke down near by while passing through. This place has great customer service and it was very clean!! The staff was super sweet and kind!Thank you for such a wonderful experiance!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for over 9 months during the Longview project ( 2010 - 2011 ). It cost $200 a week.

At the time, the owners didn't seem to care too much about the property.
The room I was in, was alright, though the toilet didn't flush correctly.

- Bad Things about the place -
During the winter time, the parking lot was never plowed / shoveled, and I ended up getting stuck a LOT.
I had to buy a space heater, due to the in room heater not working very well.
The room was showing it's age.
Located at a very dangerous intersection.

- Good things about the place -
Very close to everything in Morgantown.
Kept clean.
Always hot water.
The older lady who worked the front was very friendly .
Good view of the river from the back.

Over all it wasn't a bad place to stay, and it was cheap for the area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap & clean place to stay, Morgantown Motel is it. I stayed here due to the extremely low weekly rate. The customer service was OUTSTANDING. The young couple managing the desk were very cheerful and offered great directions to the local resturants and bars. The entire property is slowly being rennovated and has come a long from from my last stay a few years ago. The housekeepers are very detailed and thorough. Very quiet property and has a very "safe" feeling.

Room Tip: Rooms on the backside are somewhat quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed here last year and it was a complete dump, but low on funds I decided to give it another shot. I was completely amazed. Under new management and newly renovated rooms it was a very pleasant stay! The rooms have new marble bathroom tiling, and new hardwood floors in the room. The bed frames could use some work but they are comfortable brand new mattresses. The new managers are VERY customer service oriented and great to deal with! I plan on returning upon my next visit to Morgantown.

Room Tip: Most rooms have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maybeitsthebluelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Surprise this real old fashioned motel was just the place we needed to sleep. Located right off the highway we found it being remolded and had friendly staff and clean room.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank padingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We just stayed at the Morgantown Motel on Sept 23 & 24th, 2011 for the WVU/LSU game. Was expecting the worst but was very suprised when we got our room. The room had been recently renovated and had laminate floor and was clean. The owner was very nice with helping us ladies plan our day trip down to High Street for the pre game party. The morning coffee was decent and much needed. For the price folks come on you cant beat it and location is great for local cabs and bus to down town. I will return again for our next WVU Game.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 24 in Morgantown
138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
55 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#16 of 24 in Morgantown
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgantown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgantown Motel

Address: 2 Smithtown Rd, Morgantown, WV 26508-3982
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $54 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Morgantown Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Morgantown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgantown Hotel Morgantown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing