We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok food. Great happy hour.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Boston Beanery

Boston Beanery
Ranked #54 of 286 Restaurants in Morgantown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Ok food. Great happy hour.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stopped in here to watch some baseball games and then we got stuck there because we walked and then it started pouring down rain. We had some chili, boneless wings, and a white pizza. The chili was ok. The boneless wings tasted good but the chicken was the weird lower quality chicken you get at McDonald's. The ranch that came with the wings was awesome. The pizza was ok.

The drinks were cheap!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gomerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    55
    33
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Applebees With Seafood Chowder”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a basic chain restaurant. We went to the location on Patteson Drive. It had a good crowd, which was encouraging. Nothing here is extraordinary. The Boston part of the name must be because of their Seafood Chowder, which is described in the menu as having fish and scallops. I ordered it and it did have a couple chunks of fish, but no scallops. The taste was just okay- not bland but not outstanding. I also had their specialty pizza, Beanery Bltz, which is a pizza with sausage, pepperoni, roasted red peppers, onions, and mushrooms. It was neither good nor bad, but this is obviously not place a pizza place. There is much better pizza in the area. Mary had Blackened Salmon, which she had to send back to the kitchen due to being undercooked. Our friends had salads. The menu is fairly extensive so perhaps we just ordered the wrong selections. Also, the service was really quite good. I think maybe this restaurant is geared toward students from West Virginia University who have lower expectations than I. To sum up, this may be a good stop before or after a WVU game, or to take your college kids.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun trivia, good food, and no smoking!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our second visit to the Beanery for Trivia night with our son was just as good as the first. Tuesdays are Trivia nights and we always have a meal and some drinks before hand. The menu selection is extensive, offering the usual bar fare but also many New England seafood dishes as well. And they make the best mojitos around. With all that in mind, even better than good food and trivia, no smoking. It's why we can stay there and enjoy the evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Upstatelakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Missing the details...”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a two different stops at The Beanery, I encountered two issues. They were out of crabcakes because the prep cook forgot to make them (as reported by the server), and I was served room-temp chili, which is usually one of my favorites. Attention to detail is lacking at what used to be a great dining option.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank StephRad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Enjoyed my meal here. Loved the small pub atmosphere. Nice choice of food on menu. All of us liked our meal.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank goodmom44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Beanery also viewed

 
 

Been to Boston Beanery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing