We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Did a golf weekend package. No complaints whatsoever. Golf course was great, food was good and service was excellent. Will do it again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjzPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

597 - 603 of 673 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2010

Overall, not a bad hotel especially for the price (~$50). If I paid full price, I would have not been happy. Obviously one is paying for the location to be right at a nice golf course and not for the room (and that is okay if you are planning to golf - I wasn't there to play golf). To me the room was akin to a Holiday Inn Express - not a 3.5 star hotel! No frig and the TV was on the small side - again no big deal if there to play golf! One complaint was a basic/simple house keeeping 101 issue - there was no hand soap, shampoo,etc,, in the room when I arrived; however the they did promptlly bring me up some (after I already attempted to take a shower!). The breakfast buffet was pretty good but no fresh cut up fruit, just whole apples, oranges and bananas.

If you planning to go to Cooper's State Forest, it is only 5 minutes away. If going to WVU, it is an easy 15-ish minute drive (non-game day!). There is limited restaurants close by that I saw.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

I spent a golf weekend at Lakeview with 3 of my friends. Both golf courses were in awesome condition and we had a blast at night on the tiki deck in Legends. After breakfast on Sunday we relaxed at the outdoor pool before heading home. It was an excellent guys weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubvalum87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drummer4, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2010

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us. We are proud of our award winning service. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

My two children and I visited on the way home from Charlotte. The outdoor pool was great for the kids and they were able to rock climb in your fitness center. The food was great as well. We ate in Legends and the kids menu was just right for them. We had an awesome time and would definitely return for a scheduled visit next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandalynn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

supposedly this "resort" was 3.5 stars according to William Shatner's favorite web site. We booked it for a trip on our way to the midwest. won a bid for $50. Not worth a dime more. Old property, indifferent staff, and plenty of stairs to lug your luggage when you arrive late in the evening. Breakfast was not free, and not cheap, so we went to an IHOP located at the next exit.
This property is basically a one star property that has golf as its attraction. My only lake view came by returning to the main building and looking from one of the ballrooms. If you are not a golfer, just make sure you are interested in that nice 1950's styling that predominates this "resort". At least in the 1950's, they believed in service but this staff was not able to understand the word "service".

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ndalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My recent visit to Morgantown was enhanced by the hospitality I received at the Lakeview resort. I travel at least twenty weeks a year on business and appreciated the kind and sincere reception I received at Lakeview. The golf course was in great shape, the staff at the fitness center were friendly, and the overall atmosphere was positive. I am impressed that such a resort exists in West Virginia.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsradman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drummer4, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2010

Thank you for your kind review. We take pride in our award winning staff and service and are glad we could make your stay rewarding. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Thank you again for making the Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa your destination.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

I recently stayed at Lakeview with my husband for a friends wedding and golf. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean. Food at the wedding was excellent, and the ballroom where the wedding was held had a beautiful view of nearby Cheat Lake. After the wedding much of our group moved to Ledgends, one of the hotels restaurants, and we were able to spend time outside on the deck over looking the golf course. I was pleased with the menu and beverage selection. The next day, we played a round of golf. The course is beautiful, and very well maintained. As and avid exerciser, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that they offer a full gym as their fitness center (Nautilus equipment, free weights, classes, the works). I would definately stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdubya_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#5 of 25 in Morgantown
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 25 in Morgantown
263 reviews
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
4.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#6 of 25 in Morgantown
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $90 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing