We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“wedding party” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“wedding party”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

This was a wedding we attended. I booked two rooms on the phone, for three weekend nights. To summarize up front, I give it a barely average. The rooms weren't big, at 15x27, including bath and closet. The furnishing and beds were just average. Good news: there was a room safe, the bathroom fittings were above average, and the fitness center was big, free, staffed and very good. Bad news, the housekeeping staff was not up to servicing a full hotel. One example, the rooms were partly serviced at 10am but no clean towels appeared until we complained at 6pm. This is a mid-level golfers resort, and they, the golfers, dominate the lobby, mostly. I wouldn't recommend it for couples or family. OK for golf trips with buddies. Nice food and ambiance at the wedding reception, though.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    110
    97
    80
    61
See reviews for
155
117
16
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2006

My Family and I recently visited this local resort in WV and were totally WOW'D by the hospitality they had.
Upon contacting the resort I learned of the new renovations that had taken place and upon arrival I was very impressed by them. The newwly renovated restaurant Fusion is a must to every guest. They offer both breakfast and dinner and the food and service were, well remarkable. From check in to departure the experience was a very memorable one for the entire family. It was a visit we will chersih and hope to make a yearly event.

  • Liked — Everything was just remakable
  • Disliked — Nothing had a great time
  • Tips/Secrets — It is a must see
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

I didn't want to stay at Lakeview for the wedding, because I live in the area, but it was awesome! The reception was in Reflections Ballroom, which I think used to be a resturant. It overlooked Cheat Lake and the room was decorated so pretty with these great fall center pieces. The wedding was so elegant! the ceremony was on the golf course and it was so romantic. I had a wonderful time! The food was really good, although the twiced baked potatoes were dry. My room was super nice. The bedspread seemed new and the carpets must have just been put in. The staff was really helpful. I just had a wonderful time. I want to have my wedding there!

  • Liked — I felt really safe and it seemed like a lot of stuff was new.
  • Disliked — The elevators were a ittle rough.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you see the library and Reflections they are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

I recently held a meeting at this property and would recommend it for your next meeting. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had our dinner in their newly renovated ballroom and it was great. It has a beautiful view of the lake. We were coming from Pittsburgh so a lot of our guests stayed overnight as well. Everyone seemed pleased with their accommodations. We have this meeting on a annual basis and will be looking at Lakeview for next years event as well.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

Had the opportunity of staying at this property during a conference and wasn't really looking forward to it because of a past experience several years ago.

What a nice surprise! Our room had been renovated since my last visit and a wonderful new restaurant had been added as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the hotel very clean and the golf course a delight to play. (It helped that our weather was great!)

The property had gone through several other up-dates to our meeting areas and definitely showed an improved attention to detail. We'll be back.

  • Liked — resort feel near a city
  • Disliked — distance from front desk to last rooms on property
  • Tips/Secrets — request one of the newly renovated rooms ... all rooms to be completed by 4/07
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hacker320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed here for a wedding. Our "non-smoking room" smelled of butts and had an ashtray on the table; when we questioned this we were told that guests are permitted to smoke if they wish in non-smoking rooms, and would we like the room "ionized again"? Except for the main lobby, most of the resort is downright shabby. The wedding party prepared for the ceremony in a dank locker room that was also serving as a restroom for the golf clubhouse. Food was decent and service was friendly enough, but there is no attention to detail here and the whole place is in need of a month-long shutdown and reno.

  • Liked — Food was decent.
  • Disliked — Resort was in general state of disrepair.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at Waterfront of Clarion instead and just go to Lakeview for golf.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choc0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2006

I got a good rate via priceline $53.00 and stayed July 25th and 26th. The room did not smell of mildew as many have stated previously. We stayed in room #233. The rooms were well appointed and wireless internet access was FREE. I stayed here 2 nights. The indoor pool was a bit cold but the whirlpool was just right., The outdoor pool was a bit cloudy but plenty of towels and lifeguards. .Renovation must be complete but the bathrooms still need work....see picture. I would stay here again. Staff was fine. Never ate at any of the restaurants but this resort also has a golf course with a 19th hole which seemed reasonablly priced. Resort is close to mall. This place is *** rated and it is a true rating. I stayed here and rated this hotel May 12th also.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 540 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#5 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing