We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful Evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Morgantown
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2006

I didn't want to stay at Lakeview for the wedding, because I live in the area, but it was awesome! The reception was in Reflections Ballroom, which I think used to be a resturant. It overlooked Cheat Lake and the room was decorated so pretty with these great fall center pieces. The wedding was so elegant! the ceremony was on the golf course and it was so romantic. I had a wonderful time! The food was really good, although the twiced baked potatoes were dry. My room was super nice. The bedspread seemed new and the carpets must have just been put in. The staff was really helpful. I just had a wonderful time. I want to have my wedding there!

  • Liked — I felt really safe and it seemed like a lot of stuff was new.
  • Disliked — The elevators were a ittle rough.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you see the library and Reflections they are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    116
    105
    83
    65
See reviews for
167
123
16
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

I recently held a meeting at this property and would recommend it for your next meeting. The staff was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We had our dinner in their newly renovated ballroom and it was great. It has a beautiful view of the lake. We were coming from Pittsburgh so a lot of our guests stayed overnight as well. Everyone seemed pleased with their accommodations. We have this meeting on a annual basis and will be looking at Lakeview for next years event as well.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2006

Had the opportunity of staying at this property during a conference and wasn't really looking forward to it because of a past experience several years ago.

What a nice surprise! Our room had been renovated since my last visit and a wonderful new restaurant had been added as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful, the hotel very clean and the golf course a delight to play. (It helped that our weather was great!)

The property had gone through several other up-dates to our meeting areas and definitely showed an improved attention to detail. We'll be back.

  • Liked — resort feel near a city
  • Disliked — distance from front desk to last rooms on property
  • Tips/Secrets — request one of the newly renovated rooms ... all rooms to be completed by 4/07
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hacker320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

We stayed here for a wedding. Our "non-smoking room" smelled of butts and had an ashtray on the table; when we questioned this we were told that guests are permitted to smoke if they wish in non-smoking rooms, and would we like the room "ionized again"? Except for the main lobby, most of the resort is downright shabby. The wedding party prepared for the ceremony in a dank locker room that was also serving as a restroom for the golf clubhouse. Food was decent and service was friendly enough, but there is no attention to detail here and the whole place is in need of a month-long shutdown and reno.

  • Liked — Food was decent.
  • Disliked — Resort was in general state of disrepair.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay at Waterfront of Clarion instead and just go to Lakeview for golf.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choc0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2006

I got a good rate via priceline $53.00 and stayed July 25th and 26th. The room did not smell of mildew as many have stated previously. We stayed in room #233. The rooms were well appointed and wireless internet access was FREE. I stayed here 2 nights. The indoor pool was a bit cold but the whirlpool was just right., The outdoor pool was a bit cloudy but plenty of towels and lifeguards. .Renovation must be complete but the bathrooms still need work....see picture. I would stay here again. Staff was fine. Never ate at any of the restaurants but this resort also has a golf course with a 19th hole which seemed reasonablly priced. Resort is close to mall. This place is *** rated and it is a true rating. I stayed here and rated this hotel May 12th also.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yankee-peddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomeryville, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2006

We have a group of 24 golfers who have for 15+ years gone to another golf resort in Virginia. When the group leader made the reservations at Lakeview I was worried because of the poor reviews on this board. Well forget them, we loved it here!!

The golf here is great!! Many of the golfers preferred the Mountainview course over the Lakeview course due to its wonderful back nine. On blind shots you may want to drive ahead and look due to some green placements that we found to be a surprise. The only negative thing I can say is that they should put yardage markers on the sprinkler heads and add yardage poles for the 100 and 200 yard markers.

While the restaurant was a little short on variety the quality of the food was average to above average. The evening buffet was very good and offered a large varity of options. Every night we had a choice of chicken, fish, pasta, and beef. The waffles and omelette bar in the morning are excellent. The sports lounge was filled with good offerings of freshly cooked food and snacks. My favorite was the buffalo chicken wrap. Nothing here was pre-cooked. I found the drink prices to be a good value.

The hotel was above average. I found the rooms to be neat and clean. The beds were comfortable and the size of the room was average with other hotels. The inside rooms are always a nice feature. I found no odors or smells. An elevator at the ends of the halls would have been nice after a long day of 36 holes on the golf course.

The best for last was the people. They have a great staff of people and they truly make a difference in the stay. The bag guys were awesome(Patrick was the best). The cart girls and the 10th hole hot dog girls were out of this world. Friendly, happy and cheerful people. The hotel, restaurant staff and sports lounge waitresses were always filled with a smile and a greeting. I know that they make their living this way but they went above the norm.

I think that Lakeview will become our new golf resort for at least the next 15 years.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank pauls_579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.6 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn : Morgantown - University Area
8.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing