We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How can this be called a resort?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here for a conference. The last time was just as bad. I thought I would give it a second try with the promised renovations and the fact that I would have to travel here anyway for sessions. Rooms have a bad odor, beds are uncomfortable, bathrooms lack a fan as well as being small. My toilet leaked and upon inspection of the tank, I could see it needed to have the guts replaced a long time ago. More than 20 people had made reservations for this conference and were sent to another motel. People waited for hours before getting room assignments. The decor is not only outdated, but tacky. There is not even an elevator for a 3 story section. The view from the Reflections room is fantastic. Food selections for the conference did not allow for any variety.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcjElkinsWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Lakeview would like to apologize if you feel that your experience was not up to your standards during your recient conference. The resort is currently completing our room renovation, and hope that you keep Lakeview in mind the next time you are traveling to Morgantown, so that you can experience the additional changes that have happened throughout the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 682 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

I thought this place was updated. I asked upon reserving the room if all rooms were updated. I was told yes and if this is updated I will never be back. Very bad smell. No outlets. Spider webs. Just feels disgusting. Leaving tomorrow for another hotel. Smells like smoker have lived here for 10 years. Awful awful smell. Can't wait to get out of here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greatexpectations32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Lakeview would like to apologize for your current stay at the resort and given the wrong information upon making your reservation. The resort is currently going through our room renovation, and it will be completed by the end of the year. Next time you are in Morgantown we hope that you chose to stay at Lakeview and experience the changes that have happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife and I attended a wedding recently at the Lakeview Resort and were blown away by the staff and the resort itself. So much so that I have booked another weekend in October to take advantage of the golf. Thanks the to team at Lakeview for seemingly anticipating all of our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daviddow71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Lakeview is happy to hear that you had a great experience with your stay and wedding attendance, we pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and lasting impressions. We look forward to seeing you in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently took my wife and family to a UVA football game and stayed at Lakeview Resort. Could not have asked for a better time! The Kids loved the food, my wife loved the bar and spa and I got to see my favorite team and play some golf with some old alumni buddies! This property has recently gone thru a nice renovation and I loved the improvements they made; the rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable, very quiet and extremely clean!! The staff was the best and provided not only quick and friendly service but offered great recommendations on the sites and places to see outside the resort!

Will be back soon for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenkeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Lakeview is happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay while here at the resort, as well as enjoying our activities. We look forward to your return in the future and hopefully you will have a chance to play both of our courses.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We reserved a room for 1 king or queen room and was given a room that was old and moldy with 2 twins. There was paint and ceiling failing down in the room. The 80s called and want the phone and TV back. When asked to change rooms due to the odor and rhe atate of the room all I got was a sorry. The real kicker was that our ac unit started to smoke at around midnight and set off the fire alarm. Still no help except keep it off.

Let's just say we will not be back to stay here. I am very disappointed in what was supposed to be a nice establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron-WVU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Lakeview would like to apologize for any disappointment that you had during your stay, the resort is currently under renovation and in the process to get all of the rooms completed. We would love to get a chance to host your lodging needs in the future when you return to Morgantown so you can experience the changes the resort and rooms have gone through.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is makes 2 times we have been the this hotel in the past few months and I have to say that this was great. We when up for the game and because the first time was vary good we went back.we where not disappeared if is heard to work at that level all the time but thou have it going on. The staff was just as good if not better than the last time. We had a condo and that was nice we had more room for the FAM and the pools are great. We will be back in November for a game and I now that it will be great:)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jt1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Lakeview is glad to hear that you have now made our resort your "home away from home" when traveling to Morgantown. We look forward to seeing you and your Family in November.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Lakeview over Labor Day weekend. We have stayed there several times before and have never been disappointed. This time we stayed in a condo. While we went to the football game out children had a blast swimming in the 2 outdoor pools. There is also an indoor pool in the hotel and a pool in the massive fitness center. They also enjoyed the playground. The condos are very well equipped. Dishes, pots, pans, coffee maker, washer and dryer, full size fridge. Everything you need! It was nice having the extra space so once the kids went to bed the adults could stay up and not disturb them. The food was also fantastic. Often on breakfast buffets the bacon is soggy, and the eggs are not fresh. But not at Lakeview. the food was all wonderful. The omelet attendant was also very nice.
If you are traveling to Morgantown Lakeview is the place to state. It's pretty, it's easy to get to, and the service is top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosela1088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Lakeview is glad to hear that you and your family had a great long weekend here at the resort! We would also like to thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience in the condos and enjoyed the amendies. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
5.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
685 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Morgantown / University Town Centre
4.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $80 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing