We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Facelift”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Severna Park, MD
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Needs a Facelift”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Like another reviewer, stayed here (one night) to get my son checked into WVU. Yikes. Felt like I was in an 80's time-warp...seems the focus here is on weddings and golf. They could focus a bit more on updating the hotel part -- paint the buildings, update the furniture, run a de-humidifier. Claustrophobic low ceiling in my room. If I had been over 6 foot tall, I would not have fit in the shower.... Paid ahead for a breakfast buffet package and was underwhelmed (I should have known better). Bed comfy and I slept well (super quiet but I think that's because nobody else was staying there -- apparently they got the memo!!!). I really wanted to like it but thankfully the Marriott had a room for my second night, closer to town and a "free" breakfast. Lesson learned (to the tune of $190+).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
On behalf of Lakeview management we would like to apologize for your experience, the resort is currently under renovation and would love in the future to host you and your family while visiting Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    124
    110
    89
    68
See reviews for
181
134
16
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights last week as our daughter entered her freshman year at WVU. Our first hotel turned out to be a half built building site! Everywhere was booked up and one receptionist recommend this place. We needed to be there ASAP and they were very helpful. It's a golf course on the river so a very pretty spot. Rooms a good size but decor so old fashioned - not heritage - just dated! I have never stayed anywhere with no cover on the white quilt - who does that?? It's pretty disgusting really and shouldnt be allowed. No bar fridge which I always find annoying. Small basic bathroom. Cleanliness just average - my phone was filthy! Girls very nice in sports bar with better than OK food/ drinks. Breakfast was very ordinary - don't bother. Despite the above we would stay again as it had a nice feeling and Morgantown isn't New York!

Room Tip: All are ok but always prefer upper flora myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltales3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Lakeview is currently under renovation with rooms, public space, meeting space and upgrades to the golf. We understand that the freshmen year of college can be both stressful to the parents as well as your daughter and hope that in the future when you are traveling to Morgantown for a visit you will consider Lakeview for your overnight needs and have a great experience in our renovated rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

After spending a long July weekend at Lakeview I didn't want to go home. I have stayed there multiple times in the past for my job and enjoyed my stays however this time exceeded all others. I was very surprised to walk in and find a newly renovated lobby but even more excited when I got to the room. COMPLETELY RENOVATED! I hadn't had any major complaints in the past but I will admit the rooms were a little outdated. It was the best night of sleep I have experienced in a long time. On my way down to the bar that evening I was confronted by a man in a suit who I assumed worked at the hotel. He went on to ask me how my stay was going and was very attentive to all of my needs when I explained I had mistakenly forgot my toothbrush at the last hotel. He rushed into the back office and came out with all of the necessities (even mouthwash which I didn't ask for!). It wasn't until after dinner that I realized he was the General Manager of the hotel. It was so nice to realize that he cared so much about his guests. He went above and beyond to fulfill my needs and make sure I had a wonderful experience while staying at Lakeview. I wish other hotels had the cordial staff that Lakeview does. I travel 5 times a month and have never been treated so kindly. The service was simply amazing. I can't wait to bring my family back in the fall! Thank you Lakeview!!

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor give you an amazing view of the golf course! I highly recommend them :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KNoellP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lakeview would like to Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are hapy to hear that you had a very relaxing stay and got to enjoy one of our renovated rooms. We look forward to seeing you in the future and experience the great changes the resort is still undergoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my fiance attended the 1998 north marion class reunion at lakeview resort. to be honest, it was completely wonderful. the service was wonderful the food was outstanding. we stayed in the resort and it was very clean and neat. from my understanding they just renovated the rooms and it was very pleasant. we had lunch at legends the next afternoon and the specials were excellent and service was top notch. i highly recommend this establishment for any occasion.

Room Tip: the rooms with the king beds are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lakeview is glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and event while visiting old friends, we had a wonderful time hosting North Marion and all their guests and look forward to doing future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hit the facility for two nights recently in the middle of a long road trip. The staff took care of me like I was a long lost family member and went out of their way to assure that I was comfortable. It started the moment I stepped up to the front desk and mentioned I hoped to be in a quiet area. No issue there since and they made it happen. Loved the laid back feel of the place and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. A big plus for me was that a top notch fitness center is on-site and running on the golf course is fine if it's done at a reasonable time of day. The out back view of Cheat Lake is absolutely Awesome and the food is great!

Room Tip: A large parking area fronts the buildings so if you want a great view and super quiet ask for the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay, Lakeview is happy to hear that your experience was rememberable and you got a chance to relax and enjoy our fitness center. We look forward to hosting your traveling needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deltaraider21
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Attended a golf outing there with several friends. The rooms were just your standard motel room, nothing special. No refrigerator was a minus in my eyes. The light behind the easy chair wasn't plugged in, and there was no where to plug it in. Also behind the chair was a pile of unidentified white shavings. The housekeeping left a lot to be desired, we were there several days. The housekeeping personnel would ask you if you wanted anything, and seemed put out if you wanted your bed made, if you didn't ask it wasn't made.. Getting fresh towels was also a chore. We had to get our room key reactivated four times.

The food left a lot to be desired, our group had a total of five buffets, two breakfast, two dinner, and a luncheon buffet. Cold French Toast, the prime rib was so tough that most people didn't eat it.

The bar was expensive, $7.50 for a mixed drink, but the bar staff was friendly.

The golf course was challenging, the cart paths need a lot of work. All and all the course was very nice.

Our group will be returning there next year, so I'll just have to tough it out again next year.

Room Tip: Try staying in the low 200's, we stayed in the 220 wing, it was a long walk, and we were much cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deltaraider21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Lakeview would like to apologize for your unsatisfactory stay during your golf outing. The resort is currently going through renovation changes in order to improve our guests needs. Our standards are not at all excepted to the level of your experience and we thank you for your review so we are able to take the proper measures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WV
2 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My Wife and I stayed for a wedding in August and absolutely felt right at home. From the greeting at check-in to the casual encounters in the hallways, we felt like we were part of the family dealing with everyone there. Truly some of the friendliest and outgoing staff. Only thing that didn't make it perfect was the WV weather. Not warm for August. I do suggest Lakeview to anyone as well as a great golf course to see the beautiful West Virginia Mountains!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Lakeview is happy to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time while attending a wedding at the resort! Unfortunately it sounds that the weather was not on your side, hopefully you have a chance to travel back to Morgantown and experience the warmth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
6.1 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
253 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#2 of 24 in Morgantown
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
4.9 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
115 reviews
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing