We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Experience!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently had Golf Tournament and banquet at Lakeview Golf Course and the experience and service we received was excellent in every way. The GM and Golf Pro were involved in all aspects of the planning and made sure to accomodate all of our needs. The course was well maintained, the food we had for the banquet was very good, the venue was clean and very well organized. I would definitely have another event at this establishment, nothing but pleased!!

Visited August 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Lakeview would like to Thank You for the great review and we look forward to hosting your events in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    121
    107
    84
    67
See reviews for
172
131
16
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We ended up in this property through a name-your-price bid on Priceline. We arrived and were greeted by the friendly front desk agent. She got us checked in and my wife asked if we would be in a refurbished room. We were advised that yes, we would be. We went and got our bags and went to the room. As we entered the building, there was a HUGE cobweb that hung in the doorway that went to the resort pool. We went to our room. On first glance, it was newly refurbished. On closer inspection, it really was disgusting. There were food stains (we told ourselves that's what the stains were to feel better) on the duvets, dust on the bathroom counter, a water bottle under the water cooler and toenail clippings on the carpet in front of the nightstand. We walked out for dinner. And in leaving, I had to use a lot of force to get the guest room door closed. If I hadn't stayed behind to make sure it was closed, it wouldn't have closed and anybody could have gone into the room. We went to dinner at Bob Evans and found a Holiday Inn across the street. We got a room there. I went to get the bags by myself while my wife and daughter relaxed in the Holiday Inn. I walked out with the bags and didn't look back. Do. Not. Stay. Here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnackyStacky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
On behalf of Lakeview, the management would like to apologize for your experience. We are in the process of a renovation and ours standards are not excepted as you experienced. We would also like to thank you for taking your time to write a review so that we are able to fix the issues you had internally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Grafton, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

my girl friend and i stayed here back in July for the weekend and we were really impressed at how courteous the employees were here, they were very helpful with our needs and wants. not to mention the rooms really looked great and the bathrooms were actually clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay, Lakeview is happy to hear that you had a memoriable experience and enjoyed the resort. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oil City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed at the Lakeview for a conference/ family gathering. Front desk service was abysmal. Asked repeatedly if our family had checked in. Repeatedly told us no. Found out the next day that they had been at the hotel during the time that I had asked the receptionist. Upon entering our room, we found hair on the ceiling in the bathroom. What appeared to be blood on the wall in the bedroom and on the information folder. Crumbs on the floor. (Yuck). Called the front desk. The receptionist (you remember the ditzy girl who couldn't find my family) repeatedly asked "what do you want me to do." (Are you kidding?) Finally she stated that she could get us another room. Second room was cleaner. There was no offer to assist us with our bags or the move. These were "renovated" rooms. Family described similar experiences with service. I did ask to speak with the manager but the receptionist (remember her?) stated that he was unavailable. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to others. Can I rate the service and cleanliness below terrible?

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieTravels62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Lakeview's staff and management would like to apologize for your recent experience at the resort, we strive to go above an beyond to make your stay positive. We also would like to thank you for your comments so we are able to take the proper measures internally and improve our services. In the future we hope that you are able to visit Lakeview again to create a wonderful memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at Lakeview while attending a wedding. We stayed in the condos so I can only speak to my experience there however we had family stay in the hotel and they were not impressed.

The decor and furniture was outdated and there were some maintenance issues. The front door to the unit had a clearly damaged panel, not a good first impression. The posters on the wall were curling and turning yellow with age. Time for an update! The tv stand looks like it had been modified to fit a new tv but was just hand cut with a jigsaw. Very cheap. The sliding glass door to the deck was secured with a 2x4 piece of wood. The towels are thin and the beds are small.

Clearly management isn't looking at the details.

There were some positives:
-golf course was awesome
-the spa was nice
-room was at least clean

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms, however we called ahead and they still gave us a bad one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam50young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lakeview Management would like to apologize if your stay was not up to your satisfactory in the condo's, we are in the process of renovating not only the resort but the condos as well. Next time you are traveling in Morgantown please let us know so that we are able to show you what a true experience from Lakeview feels like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently held 2 events-reception for 100 and golf tournament for 125. From the GM to the cleaning staff, everyone is so helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant. The food is phenomenal and everyones attention to detail is beyond reproach. This is the 6th year we have been here and it gets better each year.

The rooms have been update and are nice and clean! The golf course and staff are all first class. The sports bar is great to relax in, have a cold beverage and they also have a deck whcih is great.

I dont have enough good things to say about our experiences and if there is even the smallest of issues, they are handled promptly, without any of our guests even noticing.

From golf, to room stay, to event space, to food quality, to service, to price-Lakeview is the place to be!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Lakeview staff is glad to hear that you and your guests had such a great experience, we look forward to hosting your events in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Went to a conference and was very disappointed in my room as well as other areas in the resort. Front desk and staff were friendly and nice. Plan on staying somewhere else for return trips for workshops. Security is an issue since outside doors are not locked at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, Lakeview would like to apologize if your experience wasnt up to your standards. We strive to improve our services and guest experiences on a daily basis. We are currently in the process of renovating our resort and guests rooms and would love another chance to show you what Lakeview has to offer on your next trip to Morgantown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
563 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
240 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
5.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
249 reviews
7.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing