We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Palm Beach Gardens
1 review
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a great stay at Lakeview. It was a perfect location for a family get away. The staff was really nice and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We already booked another stay for later this year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PBG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Lakeviews staff would like to thank you for your kind words, we take pride in our guests experience. When you visit us on your next stay please ask our guest services agents some great activities you can enjoy around the area! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    120
    107
    84
    67
See reviews for
171
131
16
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Me and my FAM came to WV for a long weekend over the 4th. Had a great time the staff was great and the rooms where nice and clesn. Played golf one day good time;) . Love the out door pool and the workout fosilat is over the top even the kids loved it. The food in the 2 restraints was good and the bar was a nice to just hang out in serves was over the top. We have made plans to go back . P.s the in door pool was nice to.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jt1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Lakeview is happy to hear that you and your family were able to spend your holiday with us, I hope your children got plenty of time in the pool and you played great with your golf. Hopefully we will see you next year over the 4th and you can experience the wonderful fireworks over Cheat Lake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I visited Lakeview Resort last month for a wedding and was thoroughly impressed with the improvements from my last visit. My room was spacious and clean. I was impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff was and the food at the reception was great. I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hnw137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
On behalf of Lakeview, we would like to thank you for your kind words, and we are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay! Hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was there for a wedding. It was fantastic - service was great, staff professional and venue was lovely. We spent the night and our room was clean and pool was a nice perk - I would recommend Lakeview if you were planning a wedding or a family reunion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Lois,
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are happy to hear that you and your family had a memorable experience. We take pride in our weddings, as we received "Best of the Knot" in WV. We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I really want to mark this place terrible, but the staff were nice, so I gave it a poor. The only go thing that I have to say about this place is that checking in was good, but things went down hill from there. The first room that we checked into one of the bed were broken. Not a little broken, I mean one side was on the floor broken. The front desk gave us a new room. In this room, there were no hand towels, the floor mat had a dead fly stuck to it and there were stains on one set of sheets. The place needs a good cleaning and some TLC. Oh and the hotel is pretty much off by itself.

The only reason why I stayed here is because I bidded on Priceline for a 2.5 star place and they "upgraded" me to Lakeview. There is no way that this place is 3 stars, it's not even 2.5. As I said I will not got back to Lakeview.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Lakeview would like to apologize for your unpleasant experience, the hotel is currenlty under renovation in upgrading not only the rooms but also all the public & conference spaces through out the hotel. If at anytime you will be traveling back to Morgantown, please inform our hotel as we would love another opportunity to host you and your family to show you the true experience that we take great pride in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

In reading the other reviews, I'm somewhat perplexed as our experience varies significantly. We thought perhaps we were the exception, but in speaking with others in our group, we found they had experiences similar to ours.

We stayed here recently for two nights to attend a wedding reception, but definitely wouldn't return for a pleasure trip. The staff at check-in and check-out was fantastic, but our accommodations and food at the reception were less than stellar. Room was horribly dusty, with paint peeling from the ceiling - we even wrote "Filthy - dust me" on the TV stand to no avail. Toilet paper roll would fall from the holder every time we attempted to use - finally just left the roll sitting on the vanity; burned out light bulbs in the bathroom and bedroom. Broken floor lamp beside the bed. Used toiletry items were replaced with other used toiletry items - yuck! We found used hair accessories behind the drapes.

Apparently, there are a very limited number of king beds available, no queen beds at all, but lots and lots of full-sized beds!

The food at the wedding reception - a seated, served affair, was horrible - - soggy croutons on a salad which had obviously been plated hours before the meal, the steaks cooked to a nice gray color that not even A-1 Sauce or salad dressing could improve, crab-stuffed flounder horribly fishy and salty, with little or no crab to speak of in the stuffing; tasteless green beans and potatoes. Please note: the young lady serving our table was exceptional in her service - could certainly not hold her responsible for quality of the food.

Here's the shame of it all - - at one time, this place was exceptional and still has great potential. The location just outside Morgantown is fantastic and the views overlooking Cheat Lake are phenomenal, but it's gone horribly down hill. Perhaps had I not stayed here on several different occasions 20+ years ago, I'd feel differently, but certainly the property could be maintained and updated to current standards. Our bill for a two night's stay, room only, was just under $300 - no food, no drink, no extras . . . really?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Lakeview would like to apologize on any inconveniences, that you may have experienced thourghout your stay. It is truely our goal to create a positive experience to every guest that walks through our door. In the future please inform us if you are traveling back to Morgantown, as we would love another chance to show you and your family a positive memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a nice place to stay. We used the indoor pool and enjoyed it. The room was clean but nothing fancy. No fault of the resort, but when they redid the roads, they made it quite a runaround to get to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diam0nd00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie A, Director of Sales at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Lakeview is glad to hear that your experience while staying with us was pleasant, we are in the process of undergoing renovation and next you and your family are traveling through Morgantown we would love to host your visit. Unfortunately the way the roundabout was designed is a bit confusing, but there is a alternative way to get to the resort that is a bit easier next time that we can inform you on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.5 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#6 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing