We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would rather sleep in my car than stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here because it was the only we could find that still had rooms. It was seriously outdated and in need of an overhaul. Rooms were small and dirty. End table was actually sticky and dirty. Bedspreads were old as was furniture. It didn't get better the second day either- housekeeping was nonexistent. Did not change sheets, did not vacuum,etc. I would not stay here again - they need to spend some money and rehab this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wvpresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We do truely apologize for the eperience during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves in our ability to provide a lasting positive memory. We have recently embarked in a major renovation that will restore this historic landmark to its original charm. Once completed by the spring of 2013, it would be worth your investmentto visit us again to show you the true Lakeview experience. Please visit our website to view the changes.

Best Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 682 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Along the shores of Cheat Lake near Morgantown, West Virginia lies a beautiful setting of hills surrounding a lake formed by a dam on Cheat Lake. The Condos have two upstairs bedrooms each with their own bathroom. Downstairs the full kitchen looks over a spacious dining/living area. All around the resort is a substantial golf course and a large hotel with restaurants and an indoor pool. Anyone choosing to come here must be very careful about researching the directions as first timers are going to get lost. If you are driving west on I-68 past Morgantown you drive over the Cheat Lake bridge and take exit 10 immediately after the lake. At the end of the exit ramp go to the left heading under the interstate although it appears that you are driving away from the resort. You find yourself surprisingly on route 43 heading toward Uniontown so immediately take the next exit (number 1) which is identified as to Cheat Lake! At the end of the ramp turn left following another Cheat Lake sign. You then come to a "T" intersection at route 857 and turn right following the Cheat Lake signs. Now you are almost back at the starting point of this adventure. Moving forward you will see up ahead the huge sign for Lakeview Resort which directs you to a left turn now going over I-68. Wind your way to the main hotel. Check-in is inside the main entrance to the hotel. Condos are located further past the hotel and then at the end of an overflow parking lot turn right to drive across the golf course(!). The condos are well numbered but there is only one numbered parking spot for each condo, any other cars in your group must stay back at the overflow lot. Despite this challenge there is much to do here including hiking in the Coopers Rock State Forest and the Research Forest for West Virginia University. Morgantown, as a university town, offers many great venues for eating and entertainment.

Room Tip: Condos numbered in the sixties are located close to the recreation building which offers an arcade a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

These comments are based on attendance at a banquet in the main building. No overnight stay occurred.

1. Hard to find! Please take seriously the comments about the difficulty of finding this place. I cannot imagine looking for it in the dark or in a downpour. Maybe you will go right to it, or perhaps you will give up--like I did--and stop and ask someone where it is.

2. The food at my banquet was served buffet style and was entirely acceptable. I have no complaints about the tastiness, freshness, and quality of the meal. What struck me as odd was the wait-staff which seemed unable to anticipate the needs of the guests. I'm accustomed to seeing a waiter circle the table asking each guest what they want to drink and other service type questions. On the contrary, we had to "flag down" a waiter any time someone wanted coffee or more water or any other need. The young men--five of them, I believe--were good, friendly guys, so I'm thinking perhaps they just did not have good training or instructions on how to handle a banquet efficiently.

3. As I have pointed out, I did not stay, and never plan to. Somehow this property gives off a bad vibe in my opinion, and that's part of a personal review. If you choose to stay here and enjoy it, then good for you. I will go elsewhere.

Room Tip: I did not stay; banquet only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Donald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently spent a few nights at this place. In the beginning, there were no attendants to take my luggage nor did anyone offer. After being placed on a higher floor, which to get to I had to go outside to another building and walk up the stairs, I went back to the front desk and asked to be placed close to an elevator if there was one. When entering the room, I was astonished! The bed spread was very old, the carpet was filthy, room dusty, a spider web was attached to a lamp, curtains were very stained, the potty didn't work, which I had to fix myself each time I flushed. Only warm water...gnats everywhere!!! Couldn't get rid of them. Stained ceiling. Horrible musty smell. TV channels were limited and very fuzzy. During our break for refreshments, a toaster was provided for bagels that was RUSTED!!! Yes, rusted. It was disgusting! I would be embarassed to put something like that out for a group of people to use. The main dining restaurant was closed during the week. One of my room service meals was not cooked and was raw.No attendant to help with my bags when I left. GOOD THINGS: Staff at front desk were very nice and helpful! No gift shop to purchase anything needed. One of my room service meals was very delicious. Meals provided for our breaks were very good. I would not recommend this place nor will I ever stay here again. Pro Shop was very nice but pricey!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We truely apologize for the experience during your recent stay with us. This is not the level of service we are use to providing. We have recently embarked on a major renovation that will restore our resort to its original charm. We hope you will give us another oppotunity to provide the true Lakeview experience. This property, once an Historic site, will be worth coming back to see following our renovation. Please visit our website to view the details.

Best Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

they are great! awesome! i love the front desk staff! especially Bre, Audrianna, Marcedess and Anne. They go above and beyond for us. We come to Lakeview monthly for the big WVU games and get treated like VIP guests. We feel at home and welcomed. We are looking forward to many more visits and for the up comming renovation in the Spring!!! Lakeview is a class act and we consider them like family!!!! Keep up the great work!!!! Food was awesome too!!! Also...a BIG thanks to Steve & Justin, always a pleasure!!!! Thanks Lakeview and see you again VERY soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Horrible experience. There was a god awful buzzing that kept going off every minute on the hour for 5 second intrevals. it was so quiet and peaceful then this god awful buzz every freakin minute. Also the shower had a slow drain and you found yourself standing in a bath while taking a shower. Sorry if you had to shower second. Could have been a nice place to stay if i could have slept. Was up all night after driving 5 hours and rafting another 4 hours. Was looking forward to a sauna or steam after rafting only to find out the fitness center closed at 7pm. Was a long day and no sleep. Will be a long drive home with no sleep. Would not recommend this place without ear plugs. Could even hear the water running in adjacent rooms. For $100 a night I expect to get some sleep. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We apologize for the experience during your recent stay. We do close our fitness center at 5pm on Sunday's due to a lower demand. We have recently embarked on a major renovation that will restore our resort to its original splender. I hope you will give us another oppotunity to provide the true Lakeview experience.

Best Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at the Lakeview especially because of it's convenient location. Because of that convenience and the fact that we had a bed to sleep in and a place to use as our home base for the weekend...it simply served it's purpose, otherwise...it was not up to our standards of quality that we look for in a hotel. In a couple words, I would describe it as outdated and dirty. First of all we had been talking with the hotel daily for the week prior to verify our reservations and the fact that we would be checking in late, so they only had "one room left" ehrn we finally checked in and the roll away bed hadn't even been delivered yet. Upon entering the room, there was an empty yoplait yoghurt container on the desk. The tv's were small and the old boxy style, not flat cressn and the channels were very limited. We were looking for the remote and when checking under the beds, you could clearly see that the vacuum stopped at the edge of the bedcovers...there was food and wrappers...ughhh..the lights over the bed did not work in our room...there was a ledge up into the bathroom and we all kept tripping over it and finally a parent's worst nightmare, our 6 year old tripped and almost went head first into the toilet porcelain..thankfully he missed it by a hair...on that note..there were hairs all over the bathroom...our toilet kept running at night so we had to keep taking the back off to jiggle the toilet guts and outside of our room at the ned of the hallway was a very loud air conditioner...with a high pitched rattling sound all of the time..thankfully we didn't spend much time here...just ti sleep at night. I will say that when we got to the room and there was no roll away bed, we called and it was delivered within 10 minutes..and we were given extra towels...and then on our last day there we called and they were kind enough to give us an extra hour to check out. Also, Spa Roma associated with the Resort was amazing and so therapeutic and professional...worth checking out...So, service was good, cleanliness and quality could definitely improve.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
7.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
5.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#12 of 24 in Morgantown
686 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Morgantown / University Town Centre
4.8 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $80 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing