We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Recently spent a few nights at this place. In the beginning, there were no attendants to take my luggage nor did anyone offer. After being placed on a higher floor, which to get to I had to go outside to another building and walk up the stairs, I went back to the front desk and asked to be placed close to an elevator if there was one. When entering the room, I was astonished! The bed spread was very old, the carpet was filthy, room dusty, a spider web was attached to a lamp, curtains were very stained, the potty didn't work, which I had to fix myself each time I flushed. Only warm water...gnats everywhere!!! Couldn't get rid of them. Stained ceiling. Horrible musty smell. TV channels were limited and very fuzzy. During our break for refreshments, a toaster was provided for bagels that was RUSTED!!! Yes, rusted. It was disgusting! I would be embarassed to put something like that out for a group of people to use. The main dining restaurant was closed during the week. One of my room service meals was not cooked and was raw.No attendant to help with my bags when I left. GOOD THINGS: Staff at front desk were very nice and helpful! No gift shop to purchase anything needed. One of my room service meals was very delicious. Meals provided for our breaks were very good. I would not recommend this place nor will I ever stay here again. Pro Shop was very nice but pricey!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We truely apologize for the experience during your recent stay with us. This is not the level of service we are use to providing. We have recently embarked on a major renovation that will restore our resort to its original charm. We hope you will give us another oppotunity to provide the true Lakeview experience. This property, once an Historic site, will be worth coming back to see following our renovation. Please visit our website to view the details.

Best Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 685 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

they are great! awesome! i love the front desk staff! especially Bre, Audrianna, Marcedess and Anne. They go above and beyond for us. We come to Lakeview monthly for the big WVU games and get treated like VIP guests. We feel at home and welcomed. We are looking forward to many more visits and for the up comming renovation in the Spring!!! Lakeview is a class act and we consider them like family!!!! Keep up the great work!!!! Food was awesome too!!! Also...a BIG thanks to Steve & Justin, always a pleasure!!!! Thanks Lakeview and see you again VERY soon!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Horrible experience. There was a god awful buzzing that kept going off every minute on the hour for 5 second intrevals. it was so quiet and peaceful then this god awful buzz every freakin minute. Also the shower had a slow drain and you found yourself standing in a bath while taking a shower. Sorry if you had to shower second. Could have been a nice place to stay if i could have slept. Was up all night after driving 5 hours and rafting another 4 hours. Was looking forward to a sauna or steam after rafting only to find out the fitness center closed at 7pm. Was a long day and no sleep. Will be a long drive home with no sleep. Would not recommend this place without ear plugs. Could even hear the water running in adjacent rooms. For $100 a night I expect to get some sleep. Horrible experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

We apologize for the experience during your recent stay. We do close our fitness center at 5pm on Sunday's due to a lower demand. We have recently embarked on a major renovation that will restore our resort to its original splender. I hope you will give us another oppotunity to provide the true Lakeview experience.

Best Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were in town for a wedding and stayed at the Lakeview especially because of it's convenient location. Because of that convenience and the fact that we had a bed to sleep in and a place to use as our home base for the weekend...it simply served it's purpose, otherwise...it was not up to our standards of quality that we look for in a hotel. In a couple words, I would describe it as outdated and dirty. First of all we had been talking with the hotel daily for the week prior to verify our reservations and the fact that we would be checking in late, so they only had "one room left" ehrn we finally checked in and the roll away bed hadn't even been delivered yet. Upon entering the room, there was an empty yoplait yoghurt container on the desk. The tv's were small and the old boxy style, not flat cressn and the channels were very limited. We were looking for the remote and when checking under the beds, you could clearly see that the vacuum stopped at the edge of the bedcovers...there was food and wrappers...ughhh..the lights over the bed did not work in our room...there was a ledge up into the bathroom and we all kept tripping over it and finally a parent's worst nightmare, our 6 year old tripped and almost went head first into the toilet porcelain..thankfully he missed it by a hair...on that note..there were hairs all over the bathroom...our toilet kept running at night so we had to keep taking the back off to jiggle the toilet guts and outside of our room at the ned of the hallway was a very loud air conditioner...with a high pitched rattling sound all of the time..thankfully we didn't spend much time here...just ti sleep at night. I will say that when we got to the room and there was no roll away bed, we called and it was delivered within 10 minutes..and we were given extra towels...and then on our last day there we called and they were kind enough to give us an extra hour to check out. Also, Spa Roma associated with the Resort was amazing and so therapeutic and professional...worth checking out...So, service was good, cleanliness and quality could definitely improve.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenrosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at Lakeview this past weekend for a wedding. Had a great time. I dont usually write reviews and dont believe in them either way but had to thank them for a great weekend. the wedding was alot of fun and the food was great for a hotel. we went to the bar afterwards andthe deck bartender was a hoot, she made sure we all had fun. I understand that the hotel is going to be rennovated after overhearing a clerk at the front desk tell an upset guest because the size of his TV was too small. honestly, my room seemed clean to me. Overall we all hareat time. we will be back, actually made a reservation in October to play golf.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandler w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

On a one night trip to Morgantown we pricelined a 3-star room for a decent price and got Lakeview. What a mistake! The hotel rooms are very worn, very dirty, the TV was a 12" size with very few channels. There was hardly any water pressure in the shower and there was visible dust on the carpet in spots that signified that those spots hadn't seen a vacuum in a long time. Very disappointing and not at all a 3 star place! Avoid this place if you can!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ItalianStallion76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would have to agree with some of the other posts regarding the resort being a little bit outdated. With that being said, it is to my understanding that the entire place will be remolded by next year. However, when I go to a resort the most important thing is not how BEAUTIFUL the rooms are, but how the establishment is all around. The staff, including management, went above and beyond. They over delivered, not over promised. The food was tely amazing. The porions were genuorous, yet not overpriced for the quailty of food. This is really hard to find no days. I am giving then an excellent grading simply because of how wonderful the staff was with our family. I have been to several other resorts where the rooms were fabuous, but the service was horrible. Thanks to the Lakeview staff for making our stay so enjoyable!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.7 mi away
Morgantown Marriott at Waterfront Place
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#15 of 24 in Morgantown
702 reviews
5.9 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Morgantown / University Town Centre
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
8.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Lakeview Dr, Morgantown, WV 26508-8061 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $97 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing