We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Overall I enjoyed my stay here, however it wasn't anything spectacular. The room itself was clean, however the hotel itself was showing some wear and tear. Probably most off-putting was on our way out of the hotel to check out, the ground floor was wet. It was not just wet near the doors, but well into the corridors. The staff here were very pleasant when we interacted with them, but not being golfers our interactions were limited primarily to checking in and out. Though I've never seen so many housekeeping and maintenance people on the move in a hotel in the evenings as I saw here. I'm not sure if they's a good or bad thing.

The location wasn't great if you're in Morgantown to enjoy Morgantown, but it is excellent if your trip is oriented around golf, water activities on Cheat Lake, or Coopers Rock State Forest. So I would say this comes down to context, we were all over the place and wanted to spend time in Morgantown so the location wasn't ideal for us.

The room was good overall. The bed was very comfortable, however they have a $10 surcharge if you'd like to upgrade to one king bed from two full-sized beds. I've never run into this type of fee before so it was a bit of a surprise. The high speed internet worked wonderfully and I noticed they had a few extra TV channels than several other hotels in Morgantown.

Overall, the place was okay. It didn't suit our needs perfectly, but for another traveler with a different agenda in mind this place could be the perfect gem. And I think we'd still consider staying here again.

It's also worth noting that their pool is so much better than you see at so many other hotels in this price range. If you've got kids who love to swim, I would strongly suggest you look into this place!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eightwednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    120
    107
    84
    67
See reviews for
171
131
16
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We were driving through West Virginia and needed a place to stop for the night. We called and they had rooms available. We weren't sure what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. Got a great deal on the room through a travel book. (about 1/2 the normal price)

We used the free internet and it worked great. The room was nice and clean. We didn't use the pool but did check it out. It was really large and no one was in the pool. Had food and drinks in the bar and the food and service were good.

Free day pass to the gym is included and it was very nice. It is an actual full gym not just a workout room.

No free breakfast but everything else was great. Since it is a golf resort and spa most of the people in the bar and the hotel were golfers. We didn't golf but the course looked nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I stayed at this resort with a friend on a Friday night as we checked out grad schools in the area. The resort itself is a little dated, but the bathrooms are very nice, clean and up-to-date with a generous separate dressing area and mirror. The toiletries are some of the nicest that I've seen at a hotel of this scale. The hotel is secluded and private- although the address says Morgantown, it can take 15-20 minutes to get downtown. If you're looking for something near town, this is not for you (I booked on Priceline and their radius was quite large).

There were some cons during our visit.
The rooms are comfortable, but we did find several hairs and one dead bug (not a bedbug) when we turned back the sheets. On the up side, when our heat did not work, maintenance showed up within 5 minutes to fix it. We were immediately moved to another room where the heat did work.

The walls are very thin. We heard people running up and down the hall one floor above for quite awhile, and the conversations of the people in the room next to us until midnight.

The guest room elevators are at the end of a long hallway past the ballrooms. There was an event the night before and the next morning, so to get to our room, we had to struggle to walk through a crowd and line of people waiting to get dinner or breakfast with our luggage.

It was a Friday night and the Sports Bar was the only dining option for us when we checked in. There was an obnoxious and loud party of golfers doing shots when we arrived, so we stayed for one drink and left. The bar was busy though, with nearly every table full.

There were huge potholes on the road to the resort and one car had bent a tire on the way out of the complex.

I'd stay at this resort again for a night if I got another great deal, but am not sure this would be the place I'd vacation for a long period of time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceAdlerDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We had the best time! From the time we arrived on property, we were welcomed by a friendly and accommodating staff. The condo was clean and comfortable. We were all impressed with the Fitness Center....very relaxing. Would reccommend to anyone traveling for business or liesure; NICE PLACE!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frankierobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

First of all, the people on staff have been really great. That being said, this place SCREAMS for a major renovation. We stayed in one of the condos. Peeled wallpaper, old furniture, terrible bed, and dated and moldy bathrooms. Rotted wood on decks and exterior of units. If you are used to timeshares from Hilton, Starwood, etc. you will be greatly dissapointed. Having traveled for business for several years, I can tell you that this was the worst place I've been to in 4+ years. The main building needs major work as well. It's like the hotel from "The Shining".

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryan716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sports33, General Manager at Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2011
Thank you for providing us with important feedback during your most recent stay with us at our timeshare division of the resort. I do apologize for your displeasure with the age of our timeshare units. Although this portion of our resort is governed by a seperate Board of Directors, we have created an aggressive renovation plan that will fully restore all of the timeshare units to their original beauty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Cumberland, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

We recently stayed at Lakeview over the christmas weekend for the contra dancers annual event. This was the 3rd year in a row. This year was the best yet. Great service throughout and improved meals from last year. Cant wait until next year.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for New Years Eve and had a blast! The NYE event was great; both service and the food. Also, the staff was very helpful when answering our questions. We would definitely stay here again and will be recommending this hotel to our
friends and family!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wvpsycgirl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
6.5 mi away
Waterfront Place Hotel
Waterfront Place Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
The Chestnut Boutique Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
Hilton Garden Inn Morgantown
#1 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
7.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
5.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
SpringHill Suites Morgantown
#8 of 24 in Morgantown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa

Property: Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Lakeview Drive, Morgantown, WV 26508 (Formerly Lakeview Scanticon Resort and Conference Center)
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Virginia’s Top Family Resort. Nestled in the rolling hills of West Virginia and only 10 miles south of the Pennsylvania border, Lakeview Golf Resort & Spa is one of the Mid-Atlantic’s premier golf resort destinations. On 500 pristine acres sits two championship West Virginia golf courses, great accommodations, unforgettable weddings, productive meetings and fun for the whole family. We offer a variety of West Virginia's best stay and play golf packages including golf, accommodations and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Scanticon Hotel Morgantown
Lakeview Scanticon Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing