We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, Convenient, and Comfortable”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple, Convenient, and Comfortable”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stopped here for a night on my way up to Pittsburgh and was pleasantly surprised after reading all the negative comments. The motel is clean, the rooms are very nice, and they offer a continental breakfast (cereal, muffins, juice and coffee). When I checked in, I had a traveler's coupon from one of those books you can pick up at any rest area. It said the rate would be $59 and the lady at the desk kindly gave me the rate as advertised. When I checked out, the man at the desk was very friendly, although he did call my room to see if I was going to be checking out soon, which I didn't fully understand. Check-out time is 12:00 noon. The Morgantown Mall is only 1/2 mile up the road, which makes Econo Lodge very convenient. WVU is also only about 5 miles up the interstate. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick up a travel book from any rest area for the best rate!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Econo Lodge. I am thrilled to hear your experience was a positive experience. Thank you for entrusting us with your care. At your service!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    24
    13
    24
See reviews for
25
21
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

After driving all day we stopped at this hotel. The front desk staff were very friendly and efficient. It is an old motel and you should not expect a lot. The room was adequate. It was clean. The beds were comfortable and clean. The bathroom was clean. Lots of towels but no hair dryer. Breakfast was fine, toast, waffles, cereal and of course coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Econo Lodge. I am thrilled to hear your experience was a positive experience. Thank you for entrusting us with your care. At your service!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed here in 05/14 on a business trip. Room, amenities & staff were great, but the lingering smell from years of cigarette smoking was horrible. Perhaps a new coat of paint would help?
I have been finding this @ several motels lately that advertise non smoking rooms but the smell remains, as possibly carpets, walls, bedding etc. have not been cleaned after they became non smoking. I don't care if people smoke or not, but don't advertise the room as non smoking until the smell has been eradicated.

Room Tip: Ask if non smoking rooms have been thoroughly cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moab, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

rented several rooms all staff were very friendly and helpful. rooms were clean and beds were comfortable.i would recommend this hotel to all.front desk girl was very good with children. she turned on cartoons for them while they were having breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luvnthebeach71, Director of Sales at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experience at the Econo Lodge. I am thrilled to hear your experience was a positive experience. Thank you for entrusting us with your care. At your service!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stopped in Morganville on New Year's Eve. When we asked the young man at the deck if he had a room for us, he said they were all filled up...We believed him at first (due to the fact that it was New Year, but he laughed and said that that of course there was a room for us...we appreciate a little humor. We were pleasantly surprised that we did not have to pay extra on account of New Years eve. The room was spacious and clean and we were very happy. The young man on the front desk was a very interesting person and no doubt will go have a great future.

Room Tip: We took what was offered...but he offered to show us the room before we signed in..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

When first stepping into my room, I was overwhelmd with a very bad odor (smelt like somthin dead). Had to go get another room, which also stunk but not as bad. Went to the bathroom, had randim hairs on the comode seat. The carpets had spots of who knows what on em.I wouldnt take my shoes of the whole time. The bed didnt even have fitted sheets on them.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daniellexoxo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morgantown hotels

Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This was a quick stop type of stay. The bed was comfortable enough. My socks did end up very black on the bottom though from the carpet and I only walked back and forth to the bathroom twice in my sock feet. I did not feel 100% safe, i could see light between the door and the wall. I used both locks on the door and kept a light on.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Royal5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#19 of 25 in Morgantown
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
1.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#16 of 25 in Morgantown
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 25 in Morgantown
120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#14 of 25 in Morgantown
396 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#17 of 25 in Morgantown
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 15 Commerce Dr, Morgantown, WV 26501-3875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing