We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Just Say No" to Econolodge Morgantown!!!! Save Yourself Grief”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed May 20, 2008

Where to begin?! The desk staff personnel were surly, unfriendly and inhospitable. Despite making reservations months in advance for first floor rooms for elderly travelers in our party, we were assigned two second floor rooms. The hotel smelled musty, despite housekeeping staff spraying "Fabreeze" type air freshener constantly. Most of the second floor smelled like an ash tray---even the nonsmoking rooms and hallways. The shower head in one room was defective, seemingly quite old and although maintenance staff responded to our request to see if the flow could be improved, they did not/could not improve the "trickling" flow from the shower head. The continental breakfast area is woefully small, about 6 X 6 feet with one 24 inch round table and 4 chairs, to accommodate guests in the hotel's 78 rooms. Only 2 people could access the coffee/breakfast area at one time as it is small and crammed into a corner of the L-shaped lobby.The coffee was good despite the packets of powdered creamer. The "breakfast" consisted of toast and so-so danish. Perhaps they're hoping guests will skip breakfast entirely so that they can skimp even more. The management seems to be putting as little effort as possible into maintaining the facility and encouraging repeat customers. They won't have to worry about that with my family! If you want nice, reasonably priced accommodations in Morgantown, go with the Best Western Mountaineer Inn. We've always been VERY happy at that hotel. I should also add that I am not a "hotel snob" who only stays at four-star hotels and I'm simply "looking down" at this discount chain. Past visits to Morgantown have found the Econolodge Coliseum to be a much better experience that the Econolodge Morgantown and it's in a much more convenient location if you want to be close to WVU. Happy travels!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandidTravelerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 84 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2007

Since we didn’t have access to our AAA book, we grabbed a travel coupon book and checked into this fairly nice looking Econo Lodge. We tend to gravitate towards two star locations and prices, and this fit the bill. Most everything was fine. The room was clean, the furnace/AC worked quietly and was without noxious smells. The bathroom floor was a little grungy, though, and the continental breakfast was anything but super – no fruit, cereal, and most of the bread was gone by 8 AM. There are a number of fast food restaurants within walking distance. Fridge and microwave in rooms. Overall, this was basic lodging at a basic price, and we’d return.

Stayed: October 2007
1  Thank kr51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

Based on other reviews, we chose this hotel for an inexpensive night's stay on our way north. Yes, it's a bit tired overall but it's clean and the bed was comfy. Our King / non-smoking room was large and also had a mini fridge. Apparently about half have fridges and more are being added annually. No Internet and breakfast was very basic. There are no tables so all food items are take away. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Hogtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

I stayed overnight here for a Thursday night football game. Rates are always a little higher for games, but still was less expensive than some of the hotels. I have to say I was actually quite suprised at the quality of the room for the money. There was absolutely nothing fancy about the hotel at all - but I did not pay for fancy. It was clean, the beds were comfortable and the staff was very nice - that is everything that I wanted.

It is not a 5-star hotel, but I would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank deemartin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

The door leading into the motel corridor where are room was...was busted! It had been busted for awhile, the tape holding it together had been there for some time. They do have security cameras but I figure since they can't spring a few bucks to fix the door chances were the cameras were not functional. The corridor reeked of decades of cigarette smoke...and we were in the non-smoking section! Stained walls and carpet...how much is a can of paint to throw on the walls? The room itself was mildewy and the old, worn out, dented, scratched furniture made me feel as though I had stepped back in time. Not pleasant when the wallpaper is older than you are either. The air condtioner kept shutting on and off throughout the nite which disrupted my sleep. The shower just dribbled and there was no ventilation at all in the bathroom. There were stains on floors, walls and doors...and everywhere else I looked. This place made me feel unclean. I would have been better off sleeping in my car for the nite.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lettketch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed May 26, 2005

When I come "home" to Morgantown from Florida to visit relatives, I always stay here. It's nothing fancy, but has always been clean (which is my #1 priority) and tidy; the staff are super nice and accommodating with whatever you need. During the Christmas holidays one year (since the truckers were not traveling the highways (the motel sits on a hill overlooking I-79) and the WVU students had all gone home) we had the entire place pretty much to ourselves on Christmas Eve -- what a quiet time that was .. it was great! Don't remember the last time I "heard" that kind of silence -- it was really wonderful. All in all, I'd say you certainly get your money's worth here -- if you want elegance, then you'll have to move uptown and pay more.

  • Stayed: December 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank olga_karpova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#20 of 24 in Morgantown
139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#9 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Morgantown
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 15 Commerce Dr, Morgantown, WV 26501-3875
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $48 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing