We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton, Not the Slums”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here while a family friend was a patient at Ruby Memorial Hospital. The hotel is dated, and there were rips in the wallpaper in my room. But the room was exactly what I expected for the price I paid, and there were no bugs. I had a room right off the front parking lot. I had friends that got a room around on the back side, close to a wooded area. Unfortunately, we are having a bad season of stink bugs, and their room had quite a few. Even though the front desk clerk did his best to get them to another room, they decided not to stay. I am thankful I had a bug free room. And the night clerk was pleasant to all of us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krikevtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel. We are currently experiencing a high amount of stink bugs in the Morgantown area. We have modified our cleaning to help keep them from our property, but being well lighted draws there attraction like no-other. Since your visit, we have sprayed the wooded area with a light pesticide to help lower the numbers, but we are hopeful that with the winter season fast approaching they should be eliminated quickly. Thank you once again for the review, and we sincerely appreciate the comment. We look forward to accomodating you again when your travels bring you to the Morgantown area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We're football fanatics and dread going up and back to Morgantown in the same game day. So we decided to try the Econo Lodge Coliseum to make it easier. The location is about perfect...close to the exit, easy to get in and out of and very close to the football stadium (and even closer to the Coliseum as the name indicates...you can walk there!) During game weekends it's a two-night minimum but you'll pay less for these two nights than you would one night somewhere else! First of all, forget anything you might remember about this motel not being nice. It's been completely updated, with attractive furnishings, comfortable linens and beds and everything else you might want. Our room had a microwave and a small fridge which was an added treat. The rooms are large and roomy. The shower is hot and powerful! Breakfast was adequate. The coffee was hot and strong. They served orange juice, waffles, English muffins, pastries and some other little things. And don't forget if you want something more substantial, go to the Shoney's across the parking lot! The staff couldn't be nicer or more attentive to our needs. The dear woman who checked us out today has been with the motel for 16 years and was a real delight. The man who checked us in was likewise friendly and knowledgeable and warmly welcomed us to the place. I was hesitant to write this review, fearing my secret little getaway will be revealed, but that's the risk I'll run. This place was perfect for our needs and we will be back...every football weekend for sure. So see you there!

Room Tip: This is two-story hotel without an elevator. All rooms exit to the outside and an internal corridor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneDeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. I will be sure to share this information with the staff. We really appreciate the comments, and look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Ended up stopping here at the midway point coming back from KY on the way to VA/DC. Had stopped at the Best Western, but they didn't allow pets. So ended up up the hill to this Econo Lodge, which did accept pets :-) Glad it worked out.

Larry Ford, the night desk person was very friendly. He said he used to play for WVU. Was a very nice guy and checked us in quickly. Told us what to expect in the morning re the bfast and the hours. Were happy it went until 10, as didn't check in until around 1 a.m.

Thought this was a hidden gem. Not a bad place to stay. The room had lots of space. Decent sized small refr. 1 King bed was decent. Convenient location to the highway. Shoneys was next door. The tub didn't quite drain as well as it should. I meant to mention that to the front desk, but forgot.

Morning staff were very friendly and nice as well. Cleaning staff were nice and friendly as well.
Bfast was no frills. Some packets of donuts, muffins, some cereal. Not a huge space for eating. Was more or less on the side of the lobby. Ended up skipping bfast to get a little more sleep. Room was nice and dark with curtains that blocked the light.

Liked that it was so close to WVU. If I ever come back this way again, would stay here.

Room Tip: Stayed in room #116 with 1 King bed. Was on the end. Was quiet and dark for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oquick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your stay. I am very happy to hear that Larry took good care of you. Being a former Mountaineer, he can be pretty intimidating and some of our guests are a little taken back by him, I will be sure to inform him of your comments. I am very glad to hear that we are able to provide you with an exellent experience while in the Morgantown area. We look forward to accommodating you during your next trip to Morgantown and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Decided at the last minute to go to a WVU football game.and were scrambling to find a place to stay and stumbled across the Econo Lodge. Great price for a last minute reservation. It did have a 2 night required stay but even at that the price was still cheaper than other hotel's 1 night stay. Hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. A short walk to the Coliseum where shuttle buses travel back and forth to the game. Hotel did need some updates but overall a nice stay. They say location is everything and this place seem to be a short drive to everything you could possible need. My next trip to a game I know where I will be staying.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Mister M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronnie S, General Manager at Econo Lodge Coliseum, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to inform us about your stay. We appreciate the guest feedback. I will be sure to share the information with the entire staff. We look forward to accomodating you during your next trip to the Morgantown area. Thanks Again!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We needed a place for our family of 6 to sleep late at night, to break up a long 9 hour drive. We were greeting by friendly staff and within minutes were checked into a comfortable room. In the morning, a decent breakfast was served- cereals, granola bars, bagels, muffins, waffles, pastries, juice and milk. The staff was very helpful and aimed to please. The attendant even asked if there was anything else she can get for us. Overall it was a very pleasant experience and a great value!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This place was amazing! The rooms were very clean. The staff was very helpful ( probably the friendliest I have encountered EVER in my traveling experiences...they even offered to print out directions for me since my GPS wasnt working!) and the rate was very reasonable. Shoneys next door was a plus as well, and they gave me a discount for having stayed at Econo Lodge. Thank you for the wonderful experience. Ill definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainmama620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

After we checked in, the phone rang and it was the fellow from the front desk calling to ask us if everything was OK. When was the last time that happened? The morning people were all just as pleasant and friendly ( so was the fellow who was there when we arrived, having just pulled a double. How often does that happen?) They're just off of the 79 on the route of march. Nice places to eat near by. Give them a shot. By the way the guy that was working the night shift had guns that would make Hulk Hogan run for the high grass. You don't have to worry about rowdies at night!

Room Tip: JUst call ahead and reserve a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffandBarb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morgantown hotels
3.6 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel
#7 of 24 in Morgantown
125 reviews
1.2 mi away
Euro-Suites Hotel
Euro-Suites Hotel
#10 of 24 in Morgantown
315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
Best Western Mountaineer Inn
#17 of 24 in Morgantown
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#18 of 24 in Morgantown
56 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Morgan
Clarion Hotel Morgan
#13 of 24 in Morgantown
245 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Morgantown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Coliseum

Address: 3506 Monongahela Blvd, Morgantown, WV 26505-3022
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Morgantown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Morgantown
Price Range: $60 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Coliseum 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to WVU Coliseum, Ruby Memorial Hospital and conveniently located on the Evansdale Campus of West Virginia University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Coliseum Hotel Morgantown
Econo Lodge Morgantown
Morgantown Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing