We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean, locally owned hotel with a friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Branch Inn Moorefield
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moorefield
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for a family trip and found it to be the best place to stay in the South Branch area. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. It may not have the most up-to-date decor, but the rooms are very clean and comfortable. I have stayed in many chain hotels over the years, and this place had them beat as far the cleanliness of the rooms. Moreover, it has many of the amenities one would find in a chain motel such as a continental breakfast, a workout room, and internet access.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about local discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vera71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! I will let the housekeepers know; they always enjoy compliments from guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 69 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

Here for a business trip. No major chains nearby. Best hotel in the area by far by somewhat dated in most respects....from the old tv's, to the carpet to the punch key style locks on the door which make express check outs an after thought.

The best feature is it is close to O'neils...one of the few places to catch a great meal. And the Exxon gas stationwhere they have a monopoly on liquor sales.

Watch the speed limits..this is the only town I have been in where they have a 15 MPH speed limit on Main Street....and they actively ticket ya!

Nice place...this is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are much cooler due to the AC...but the rooms are a little more tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us. Our hotel was remodeled in 2012, with a historical colonial style and color. All of our TV's are flat screen's, so I don't understand the "old style TV" comment? We are always looking for ways to improve, so we appreciate your taking the time to leave feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Really the only place yo stay in Moorefield. Free continental breakfast but you might be better off eating somewhere else.

Thin walls made it easy to hear everythi g going om i side. Snorers and thise nea%by beware.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Moorefield. We always appreciate feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

i was in Moorefield for a job interview and would have to say the people working at the South Branch Inn were great. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean!!! We arrived pretty late and had to leave early. We were checked in and out quickly and without any hassles. Having never been to Moorefield before I would definately recommend staying there to anyone. I want to say thank you to the staff!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JTS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind words. Were are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you return to Moorefield soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I guess this place caters to the guys building the highway because it sure does not seem to care about anybody else. There were still dirty linens in my room. I had spoiled milk with the 'free' breakfast. There is no business center and the staff will not print any documents for you. And just like the hotel with the same name in Romney, you can hear almost every sound coming from the neighboring rooms. They make you sign a bunch of documents and have signs all over the walls in your room. I have stayed here many times and they keep saying the rooms are updated, but they seem to keep updating them to some horrible period in history when decorating with all purple and green was a good idea.

Room Tip: The Evans Motel in Moorefield is probably not any worse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sabulodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We did have a business center located in our hotel, but we had a guest crash our computer. We are in the process of ordering a new one. We do try to work with guests to print off documents as the need arises. I am not sure what happened but I will look into it. The breakfast milk, we did have our supplier deliver an order of milk that didn't taste right. As soon as we found out, we contacted our supplier and they corrected it the next day. I am sorry you do not like our colors. We are decorated in more of a traditional/historic fashion (like the historic colonial homes in the area), versus going for the new trendy looks of brown, yellow and orange. Our colors are burgundy, forest green and navy's. We are working on naming our rooms after different historical attractions and events in our area. For example, we have several rooms named after civil war areas in our county and we are working on our George Washington room and his impact on our county's history. Our decorations and colors compliment the historic history of our area. I hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in Moorefield or Romney. Thank you for taking the time to leave comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you're stopping in Moorefield, this is really the only place to stay. Seems to cater more to truck drivers and utility workers than businessmen. There were a few families. Rooms are average and comfy. Great deal for $77. They obviously own the bowling alley, cinema and restaurant next door since they give discounts and free passes to all three. Breakfast was disappointing. Bagels in a baggy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for leaving a review for the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I noticed a comment on the breakfast. We have bagels, English muffins, Danish, oatmeal, cereal, juice, milk, yogurt, coffee, tea, apples and oranges. We have to follow our local health code which requires all food to be in enclosed containers or bags. Bagels, Danish and English muffins are not allowed to be sitting out where a guest could actually touch them during the selection process. I hope this helps explain. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Hardy County Chamber of Commerce held the 4th Annual Dinner Meeting at the South Branch Inn on Wednesday, March 16th, originally planned for March 6th, but rescheduled because of a late winter storm. The South Branch Inn was generous, accommodating and flexible from the time we made the reservation until the very end of the event. The meeting/dining room and all of the furnishings could not have been more perfect. The staff was swift, thoughtful and helpful at all times.

The setting is spectacular, with beautiful mountain and valley views from every window. The parking lot is ample and convenient. The Inn is lovely, clean and spacious. We had 160 guests and there was plenty of space in the lobby area for our reception and the same goes for the dining and meeting room.

I would highly recommend the South Branch Inn. It is the only venue in the county that could accommodate our numbers and we couldn't ask for a more hospitable, friendly, pleasant, convenient or excellent setting.

Room Tip: This was a local meeting and we did not use the guest rooms for an overnight stay. Also, we did not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for the review. We host many conferences, meetings and receptions and appreciate all comments. Hope to see you next year. - Kelly Williams - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moorefield
22.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
10.5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
12 reviews
20.5 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
South Branch Inn Romney
12.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Branch Inn Moorefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Branch Inn Moorefield

Address: 1500 US Highway 220 N, Moorefield, WV 26836-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Moorefield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moorefield
Price Range: $114 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Branch Inn Moorefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Branch Inn-Moorefield is located in Historic Moorefield West Virginia, next to the civil war Battle of Moorefield. We have 100 rooms, including suites with Jacuzzis. Our conference facilities are perfect for meetings or receptions. All rooms come with a free continental breakfast and free internet. We have an exercise facility on site as well as a guest laundry for when you are traveling with a ball team! All rooms are given one free movie pass per night to the local movie theater so that you can see the new block buster release movies. We are open 24 hours a day. In 2011, the hotel was newly renovated with new carpet, wallpaper, paint, bedspreads, curtains, etc. We have hosted many events with local, state and federal agencies as well as important dignitaries. We have a great AAA and health department rating! We are nestled in the South Branch Valley Mountains. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your South Branch Inn Moorefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Branch Inn Moorefield Hotel Moorefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing