We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for receptions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Branch Inn Moorefield
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moorefield
West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great for receptions”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just had a reception at the South Branch Inn and we found the staff to be accommodating and friendly. Their conference room is a nice place to hold such a function. The setting is so nice being in a beautiful valley. We are lucky to have such a facility as this in Moorefield.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We host many receptions, meetings and conferences through out the year and have many photos posted on our Facebook page. I hope we can help you again in the future. Kelly Williams - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
11
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you're cruising around this area of WV, this is probably 'the place' to stay. I've stayed here a couple times before, so I felt comfortable coming back. They're right on the doorstep of the new expressway, so it's easier to get to than before. It's not quite like the 'last place on earth' it used to be.

We happened to hit during the little-league baseball championship in the town; my wife and I knew what was coming, and it arrived. And they were sold out, with few alternatives, so you'll stay put anyway.

Obviously this was one of the peak seasons and the staff was pushing to keep up the quality. We got breakfast early, generally tried to stay out of the way of the hordes of 10-year-olds and families that had invaded. I can't fault them for that.

What got them 'one notch down' from an otherwise 'very good' was basically housekeeping, I was a little alarmed when I found both soap remaining in the tub and also the shampoo from the previous guest. That and the overwhelming odor of some kind of cleaning product or odor freshner almost to the headache level. I don't think the room had been used in a while except during peak periods. Things were clean enough, and the desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. I was there on business so the price wasn't a killer, but yeah, they pretty much have whatever traffic there is in the town and can price accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms by the back doors are noisier - door slamming and steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for leaving feedback. I am sorry you were here during our peak season which runs most of the summer. We do have a lot of large groups such as teams, family reunions, and other functions such as conferences, occurring in our area that tend to keep our hotel busy. I am not sure what happened with the soap situation but can assure you that is not the norm and do apologize for it. All of our rooms are rotated when we rent them and we stay sold out most summer months. As far as our rates, we closely follow what the government guidelines are for our area of the state as far as "per diems" go. I hope you will give us another change in the future and would love to host your next visit to our area. I do appreciate the comments. Kelly Williams - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Although the rooms were decent, clean and they did have a continental breakfast. The room, for that area was overpriced in my opinion. The pillows were covered in plastic. Kept me awake all night. The water had a slight sulphur smell, but was very soft.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wvtraveler1968, General Manager at South Branch Inn Moorefield, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I appreciate your taking the time to leave us feedback, we appreciate all comments. I am sorry you were not happy with our prices, we do try to set our prices based on what the government has set as a reasonable price for our area, a "per diem" rate. As far as our water, it all is treated with a water softening system as it enters the hotel to ensure that we don't have any issues. I hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to Moorefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

After attending a retirement/birthday party of a friend in Baker WV I was recommended South Branch Inn. I made reservations and found the place quite adequate. The receptionists were friendly and helpful and I was given the king size bed and jacuzzi which both we good. The Ponderosa restaurant was right next door but decided to go to another restaurant. extended check outs are provided and found it quite adequate.Would return if I have to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonVoyager_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, South Carolina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The lovely photo on the website of this Inn is a fable. Yes, the structure exists, but in person it seems grubby. The construction here was shoddy and corners were very obviously cut. It's built on a concrete slab, but a nicer place would have more padding under the carpet. This, after a while, became a physically painful place to walk around. The walls are apparently paper thin, as I overheard a conversation in the next room that seemed to be delivered in normal speaking tones.

The continental breakfast was a joke, with cold boxes of cereal the highlight. There is no "business center" available, as one would expect from the website, so have your own laptop with you or you're out of touch.

If your vehicle is on fire in Moorefield, this might be a good place to come in out of the rain while waiting for the auto club. If that is not your circumstance, keep driving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Have stayed here several nights this year. Great Place to stay. Super Clean Rooms. Very Friendly Staff.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

When I called I was told the room would be one price, $92, but upon checkout I was charged $106, which is absurd for that motel!! maybe rates went up and the girl I talked to made a simple mistake...but the lady behind the counter (she was training someone so I assume she was a manager or at least one of the more experienced clerks) was completely rude...asked me who I had spoken with...like they are super friendly and introduce themselves...and on top of that I had actually called 2x...once to find the price and the next to book the room (in which the same price was stated) At the very least that price should have been honored for that stay or I would have even been happy with a discount promised at my NEXT stay, which now will never happen Completely rude service, horrible breakfast (Walmart donuts & danishes) The room is so outdated!! No long length mirror, iron, or coffee maker which is standard these days...especially when you are paying 106.00 a night for a place without a pool!! Oh and the signs about 8pm to 8am quite time thing...what is with that??

WILL NOT BE STAYING AGAIN!! It might be the biggest motel...but it isn't the only one. There is one more in town and several over in Petersburg which is only 20 minutes away. Hopefully one of the bigger chains will come closer now with the new road in Moorefield (Corridor H I believe they call it)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teedge21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moorefield
22.8 mi away
Keyser Inn
Keyser Inn
#2 of 2 in Keyser
47 reviews
22.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Keyser
12.5 mi away
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
Lost River Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Lost River
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Lost Forest Bed & Breakfast
10.5 mi away
Park Motel
Park Motel
#2 of 2 in Petersburg
11 reviews
20.4 mi away
North Fork Mountain Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Branch Inn Moorefield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Branch Inn Moorefield

Property: South Branch Inn Moorefield
Address: 1500 US Highway 220 N, Moorefield, WV 26836-8604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Moorefield
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moorefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Branch Inn Moorefield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The South Branch Inn-Moorefield is located in Historic Moorefield West Virginia, next to the civil war Battle of Moorefield. We have 100 rooms, including suites with Jacuzzis. Our conference facilities are perfect for meetings or receptions. All rooms come with a free continental breakfast and free internet. We have an exercise facility on site as well as a guest laundry for when you are traveling with a ball team! All rooms are given one free movie pass per night to the local movie theater so that you can see the new block buster release movies. We are open 24 hours a day. In 2011, the hotel was newly renovated with new carpet, wallpaper, paint, bedspreads, curtains, etc. We have hosted many events with local, state and federal agencies as well as important dignitaries. We have a great AAA and health department rating! We are nestled in the South Branch Valley Mountains. We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your South Branch Inn Moorefield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Branch Inn Moorefield Hotel Moorefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing