We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fantastic for introducing children to fly fishing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Springs Resort
Save
You added Elk Springs Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
Ft Lauderdalele, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic for introducing children to fly fishing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went over for the day from Snowshoe for grandfather/grandchildren fishing outing. The buildings are about 2 years old, the property is very well maintained. Best part is the fishing set up for the little ones. They have stocked ponds which have fresh spring water flowing through them alongside the river. Instead of having twin 6 year olds being turned off by fishing in the river with little chance of catching anything (not to mention the prices other places in the area charge for river fishing), their introduction was basically guaranteed excitement and fun, and only paying for the fish caught. Will definitely return since we want them to enjoy fishing & making it a lifelong activity.

Wonderful staff. Well stocked fly shop, restaurant was nice and the restrooms were spotless.

Room Tip: Took a look in the lodge & will definitely be staying there on future trips to WV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at Elk Springs Resort for 2 nights. Mostly I was flyfishing, but I took time to enjoy the scenery too. Great place, clean rooms, lots of extras, and good food at the restaurant.

My room was in the "Hippie Rooms", a $100/night room with 2 beds, refrigerator, coffee maker, washer/dryer, in-room bath, a.c., and much more. Very nice.

The people were all very friendly and accommodating, including the fishing guides. I didn't hire a guide, but they offered advice and showed me around the fly shop and grounds. Fun time.

Room Tip: My room didn't have a ceiling fan, but most did, so I had to run the air conditioner all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokiesFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upperville, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I brought my girlfriend to Elk Springs Resort to see if i could get her excited about fly fishing and with the help of our enthusiastic guide RJ and the surreal mountain setting it was a perfect success. Not only did we slay fish, but my girlfriend and i really got to unwind and enjoy each others company in the gorgeous, rustic, and accommodating environment that Elk Springs Resort catered for us. Again, I could not give enough praise to the guide service staff. Not only did RJ give my girlfriend Caitlin a solid foundation for which she could build confidence and truly enjoy herself, but he provided me with a comprehensive lesson on the local hatches and techniques used that will be a priceless asset on my many returns to the area.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in the lodge, but it looks notable. All the cabins have clean comfortable beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fletcher000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

River was muddy , they tried to blame it on logging but we went upstream and saw no logging anywhere . They tried to call them wild fish LOL we watched them stock the night before we fished. ac units hanging outside windows , Drunk waitress , flyshop closes when they want to. Not a place im going back to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Bottom, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here while on a ATV riding trip with my son and his friends who have a camp just down the river. I've visited this lodge a couple times in the past when in the area. So when I wanted a nice place with hot water and WiFi on this trip, figured I would give it a try. Well worth the drive back in the woods to find it. Warm spacious rooms in the main lodge, satellite TV, internet, pool table, kitchen, and much more. Restaurant and bar on property. As far as the fishing, couldn't tell ya, was a great place to make base camp for a few days of riding in the hills. Will probably stay here if skiing too, if you don't mind the didn't a short drive off the mountain. Very affordable and clean. Would have given 5 stars but don't want it to be booked up next time I call....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenr34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Hill, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the lodge which was quite breathtaking. Our room was large with a sitting area. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tab and washer and dryer. We were very comfortable and frankly hated to leave when our time there was over. The restaurant served up the most delicious rainbow trout ever.

Room Tip: The Safari Room is beautiful. Perfect for a couples retreat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thelmaharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Elk Springs Resort for two nights with my husband, young son and parents. My husband and father were the fly fishermen. My husband had never been fly fishing before and is now hooked! He and my father went out all day with one of the guides, Dave, and had a great time. They caught several trout.

We stayed in a cabin, very clean and newly built. We also ate our meals at the restaurant, Ellie May's Old Mill Restaurant. They have an optional meal plan available for $35 per person for breakfast, lunch and dinner. This is a great value in my opinion. There is also a top notch fly shop upstairs from the restaurant. The staff there are very friendly and accomodating as well.

I'm originally from WV but have been living in GA for 10+ years and miss the mountains and changing of the leaves. The property is beautiful! We plan on making this an annual family trip! They also have stocked ponds where you can fish for trout and keep them. They charge $3 and/or $5 per pound for the trout.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Annabelle4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterville
0.0 mi away
The Resort at Glade Springs
0.0 mi away
Canaan Valley Resort
0.0 mi away
Stonewall Resort
Stonewall Resort
#1 of 1 in Roanoke
4.0 of 5 stars 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harman's Luxury Log Cabins
0.0 mi away
The Greenbrier
The Greenbrier
#1 of 1 in White Sulphur Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 2,235 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
Lakeview Golf Resort and Spa
#11 of 24 in Morgantown
3.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Springs Resort

Property: Elk Springs Resort
Address: #14 A Dry Branch Resort, Monterville, WV 26282
Phone Number:
Location: United States > West Virginia > Monterville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monterville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy 22 acres of fly fishing fishing and relaxation on Nationally acclaimed Elk River, You can choose from luxurious island cabins, themed spacious lodge rooms or mini cabins with a modern shower house.. Enjoy our full service restaurant with your favorite legal beverage and shop in our fully stocked Fly Shop. The largest in the mid-atlantic states. We are centrally located among West Virginia's top ski resorts and popular year round attractions. Guided fly fishing trips with the most experienced guides in the state of West Virginia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Springs Hotel Monterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing