We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great cottage beautiful area”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bluebell Cottage

Bluebell Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bluebell Cottage
The view across the Great Tew Estate Back Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Bluebell Cottage
The view across the Great Tew Estate
Back Garden
Fruit Trees!
Living Room
Dining Table
Living Room
Front Bedroom
Front Bedroom
Kitchen
Bathroom with Shower
Leadlight Windows
Bluebell Cottage
Back Bedroom
Single Bedroom
View from Bluebell Cottage
The famous Falkland Arms pub
Village shop and cafe
Front Bedroom
Osteria Pizzeria Antipasti
Sweet Peas village cafe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Great Tew, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mbaherne
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“great cottage beautiful area”
Reviewed August 21, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

thecottage had every thing you would need and very comfortable in a lovely area we had a great time will come back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the area
Liked least: need a local map
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
So pleased you had such a lovely time! Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibla201...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant in every way”
Reviewed July 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A great cottage in a beautiful setting. The cottage was very well fitted out- it had everything you could think of- and more.
The pub down the road was great- the walks in the area were plentiful- and the outlook was stunning-we were lucky with the weather too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Bluebell Cottage and also the lovely village of Great Tew. Thank you very much for your review and please come again! Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibla201...
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Week”
Reviewed June 10, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage is brilliantly situated with lovely views out at the front and a friendly, country pub 50m down the lane. The cottage is well appointed and decorated stylishly with plenty of crockery/cutlery/glasses etc. There is even a travel cot and high chair -as well as plenty of seating/cushions and other furniture. And there is no skimping on such items as dishwasher tablets/washing up liquid/loo paper/towels etc. We also made use of the BBQ. There is easy and plentiful parking. Karen, the owner was very responsive when we emailed questions; getting back straight away and being very helpful.
Obviously the biggest attraction is the thatched roofs and Cotswold stone in and around the village. Living in a thatch cottage for a week was novel - particularly when it rains with a sheet of water pouring from the roof (we only had a couple of hours rain during the whole week.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: We liked everything.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2016
Thanks again for such a comprehensive and kind review of your stay at Bluebell Cottage. We try to provide everything that most of our guests would want and are always interested in any suggestions as to how we may improve! Glad the thatched cottage experience lived up to expectations! Many thanks, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorna S
1 review
“Very tranquil ,a perfect honeymoon retreat.”
Reviewed January 14, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The attention to detail was fantastic,wine and flowers on arrival, milk in the fridge, and a phone call to boot to ensure we were happy.Special memory's in a special place.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Thank you so much Lorna! We didn't realise it was your honeymoon! So pleased that you had such a lovely time and happy memories! Please come again!

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karin S
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect English cottage in perfect English village”
Reviewed November 18, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The owners were extremely helpful, and we appreciated the extra touches of flowers and wine on arrival. We loved the cosy lounge and log fire, and the pretty village and welcoming pub with lovely food. Would certainly be very happy to go there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed our very special place! Please come again!

Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeecee197...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage. Beautiful location”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Stayed in bluebell cottage for a long weekend. It has everything you need. Beautiful views, peaceful location and a really nice pub just down the road. The cottage is clean and tidy with a modern feel. The area is very pretty and took several walks round. Would recommend it for couples or families. There is a large green outside with plenty of space to play as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2016
Thank you for your kind words and so pleased that you had a great time and managed to make the most of the beautiful village and Cotswold countryside! Please come again! Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallivers...
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Quintessentially english!”
Reviewed July 11, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our favourite spot on our 9 week trip to the UK & Europe!
Great Tew is breathtakingly beautiful & the cottage fits into its landscape perfectly. It is comfortable, homely & well equipped but most importantly for us it was super quiet & we slept like logs during our stay!
We loved the Falkland Arms, it was a little too handy!!! :-) The food & ales there were superb & it was relaxing to sit with the locals & chill out after a hard days sightseeing!
As others have mentioned Great Tew is in a brilliant location for exploring the Cotswolds. We loved visiting Blenheim Palace, another highlight of our extensive trip.
Thank you Karen!

Tina & Dave,
New Zealand

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thanks so much for your lovely comments and so pleased that you had such a lovely time in our favourite place! Please come again! Karen & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing