We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The mountain top view was breathtaking and the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
View from the deck Mighty Wind Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Mountaintop chalet with majestic views
View from the deck
Mighty Wind Lodge
Sunset 10-18-13
Custom Stone BBQ pit w/ spectacular views
Autumn 10-18-13
Fall sky 10-18-13
Front entrance
Mama bear and 3 cubs
Indoor stone fireplace & outdoor stone fire pit
View from side deck
Main living area and kitchen
Bedroom with two queens and couch
Fully equipped kitchen
Great room
Firepit on beautiful custom stone patio
Living room and indoor woodburning fireplace
Master suite
Master suite with private bath and balcony
Master bath with jacuzzi tub
The red bear keeping watch over the cabin
Bedroom with queen bed
Living area of separate apartment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Mathias, West Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sherry763
Thurmont, Maryland
1 review
“The mountain top view was breathtaking and the house was well equipped and lovely”
Reviewed October 22, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The house was ideally located to get away from the city but not be too far from DC. The immediate vicinity of the house was great for walks and the house was well located for hiking at Lost River State Park, Dolly Sods and Spruce Knob. The house was well provisioned and spacious with great mountain views. We hope to go back next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice & quiet place on the mountain top!”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a very nice quiet place on top of a mountain. Booked this for my sons, daughter in laws, grandaugher, my Mother, husband & I for a long weekend together. Plenty of room for all of us. Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of water pressure in the showers The house is very clean and well maintained inside and out. Wonderful view. We took advantage of the large fire pit. Roasted hot dogs, made smores and star gazed the evening away with my family. Very relaxing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside fire pit
Liked least: Upstairs shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palur
Brandon, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent views of the mountain ranges”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A phenomenal location, with serene atmosphere. Far from the madding crowd! Words cannot justify the beauty of the place. House was well stocked, and very convenient. The rattle snake trophy gave me sleepless nights though!
Our family had a great time overall. Waking up to beautiful views was very relaxing.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, Decor, Location
Liked least: Loved it all!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edward S
Marlton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is a great place to enjoy the beauty of nature with all the comforts of home.”
Reviewed September 1, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two fantastic weeks in this spacious, 4-BR, 3-bath home surrounded by the grandeur of the Appalachians. We took numerous trips to area attractions, including Lost River State Park, Blackwater Falls, Seneca Rocks, and Spruce Knob. We hiked, climbed, kayaked, and ziplined. And then we returned to this place, featuring a well-supplied kitchen, satellite TV, a BBQ grill, stone fire pit, a washer/dryer, and comfortable beds. There was more than enough room for the eight of us. We spent a lot of time on the deck, looking out on the mountains and looking up at the most awe-inspiring night sky we have ever seen. It was one of our favorite vacations ever. The owners, Linda and Rob, were very friendly and accommodating and responsive to all of our needs. I've spent more money per night on moldy, 8x10 hotel rooms with a view of a brick wall in NYC than we spent here. For value, view, comfort, and solitude, the Mighty Wind Lodge can't be beat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the deck.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aki1982
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the world!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a fairly large group 16 adults plus 2 kids, the place is awesome, well stocked and very comfortable. Extremely private, we drove from NY to Mathias, spent a lot of time on the road, but the place was worth all the effort.

Linda was very friendly, we had a lot of questions and she was very patient in taking out all the time to help us with our queries.

We look forward to booking it again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing