We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE this B&B!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matewan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Historic Matewan House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Matewan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We've have stayed at this B&B 2 times and will be there again this Aug. Everyone's so nice and helpful. And the breakfast is WONDERFUL!!!!!! I recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bethb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 41 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2007

The Matewan house is a very historic house. Don't expect the Hilton (which is not a bad thing) - but expect true Mountaineer hospitality, a comfortable place to stay, good food, and a lot of history. It's a small town of 500 persons. The roads are exceptional for motorcycle riding, and there are not a lot of cars. Fishing, riding, touring coal towns, hiking, motorcycles, and ATV trail riding are all things you can do to keep busy. There are town and county events - take advantage of them. Before you go, read "Thunder in the Mountains" by Lon Savage to get an appreciating of the history, culture and present mentality of the local peoples. The hosts are very personable, and will make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank drumNorthernVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2007

We went riding the Hatfield-McCoy trails June 2007, and Pat at the B&B makes a great breakfast. The southern hospitality was awesome. I would highly recommend!

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank specelec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Belmont, NC
11
Reviewed May 2, 2006

We rode the Hatfield and McCoy Trails for three days in April. Fabulous riding! I have to say, Matewan is a great little town. Unfortunately, we did not get to stay at the Matewan Bed and Breakfast, we stayed at the Boar's Nest, just down the road. However, Mr. and Mrs. Garland, proprietors, were some of the kindess, sweetest, down-home friendly people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. They were in charge of the Boar's Nest and made sure that we had everything we needed. They sure make a MEAN Southern breakfast buffet - except, the grits were missin'. For the hardest trail riders there are, there's no better way to start off your riding day, then by stopping in at the Matewan Bed & Breakfast first. We were invited to stay for dinner and take a dip in the hot tub, watch the wide screen TV, etc. Mrs. Garland even hugged my neck when we left. Felt like we were at home. We're from a small town in North Carolina, but it was like coming home to Atlanta after leaving Matewan. The townspeople were so kind and friendly and willing to help any stranger any way they could. Had to write to say that it was one of the best experiences my husband and I have had in our ATV riding travels. We'll definately come back and hope to stay at the Bed and Breakfast next time. Best of luck for future success.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Epping, New Hampshire
19
Reviewed November 11, 2004

Three friends and I decided to ride the Hatfield Mcoy trail system at Matewan West Virginia on our all terrain four wheelers. We trailered them up to a crew cab pickup and set out for an adventure in the Appalatian mountains. Our expectations of the experience were set very high as we were driveing 16 hours from New Hampshire to West Virginia. When we arrived we found the riding itself to be spectacular, chalenging beyond our expectations and well organized into novice intermediate and expert trails. What we had not expected was that the time off the trails would rival the riding as the best part of the trip. The town itself was ATV friendly, (meaning we enjoyed the novelty of riding our offroad machines on the street), extremely scenic, with the mountains, coal mines, railroad and flood walls, and extremely historically interesting, home of the Hatfield Mcoy feud and the Matewan Massacre. But none of that is the best of Matewan, WV. The best is absolutly the Historic Matewan House Bed and Breakfast. Upon our arrival we were greeted by name by our hosts Pat and Sharron Garland. The ammenities included hot tub inside and out, Giant projection screen TV in the beutifull hardwood and fieldstone livingroom, and even a pressure washer for our muddy ATVs. However the most unique and outstanding thing we found was the warmest of southern hospitality. Every day we were there began with a lavish brekfast buffet prepared by Pat in his chefs hat and suspenders. Every time we came in off the trails we were instructed to just leave our caked and muddy things by the washer and Sharron happily washed and folded them for us (Try and get my wife to do that!) Evenings were spent happily watching up to date movies on the giant screen or my favorite thing wich was to just play cards with and listen to Pat talk about his interesting career, local history, and what it means to be, as he proudly identifies himself, a hillbilly. When we left we were sincerely told "Now you have friends in West Virginia." We are already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Matewan House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Matewan House Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corner of Mate and Ferrell Streets, Matewan, WV 25678
Location: United States > West Virginia > Matewan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Matewan
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing